We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Arbour Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Arbour Guest House
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 88: English reviews
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Really rude staff, for no apparent reason. Felt so unwelcome. Location is fine but generally shabby room and decor. Good size though. Oban is very nice, as are the nearby islands. Just don't stay here despite it being one of the cheaper options.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Arbour Guest House overnight whilst on our way over to Mull to pick up a friend. It had been pre-booked for us by our friend who hadn't read the reviews before booking. I read some reviews a few days before we were due to check in, obviously we were quite worried but as it was just one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karon G
Sally C, Front Office Manager at Arbour Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Another nice review! I can scarcely believe it! Thank you very much. We really do appreciate it when guests take the time to write a review saying nice things. 😊 Best regards Arbour Guest House

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Myself and My Dad was visiting friends in Oban and this so called bed and breakfast was booked on behalf of us which was no blame on them as they werent to know until you actually watched in the place how disgraceful it was. The place smelt as soon as we walked in the door to check in and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dagenhamdave1969
Sally C, Guest Relations Manager at Arbour Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Sir, You certainly have been very imaginative in your description considering you didn't stay with us. Your friends booked the room and asked for a budget room suitable for someone traveling with a dog. We only have some rooms which we keep for guests traveling with dogs because they have wooden floors and can be washed. As it turned...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

I am uncertain as to why it has so many terrible reviews. People do not do their research before booking here. I stayed w my husband and his elderly parents. We got them a room on the ground floor to minimize stair climbing, and it was perfect for them. Bathrooms on each floor, shower on the 2nd fl. Two beds...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank EleveNYC
Sally C, Front Office Manager at Arbour Guest House, responded to this review

Dear guest. Thank you for writing a sane and balanced review. We really do appreciate when guests take the time to give us a good review. It's so much more common to go on trip advisor for a good old rant ! Thank you. We are glad you appreciated our efforts. Best regards Arbour Guest House.

Reviewed 10 August 2016

Theses are victoriana villas very comfortable,think the place is in the process of being updated.we found it a lot better than we expected and doesn't deserve the negative remarks on the other reviews. The room was comfy quite expensive furniture our own shower but had to share a toilet which the door was really noise, the rooms could do with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui B
Arbour G, Manager at Arbour Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to say something nice about your stay with us. We really appreciate it. Thank you. Arbour Guest house.

Isle of Barra, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2016

I stayed here with my family for 3 nights, was told on arrival our card had not been charged and we were due to pay the full amount only to find out later that our card had been charged and they had taken 2 payments from us. .rooms are tiny,big crack in the wall, telly not working, had to ask...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catherine b
Sally C, Front Office Manager at Arbour Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sorry you didn't think we offer value for money. Arbour Guest House is one of the cheapest places to stay in Oban. Our guests pay on arrival and since you have not requested a refund from us, I assume your allegation that you paid twice is incorrect. Best regards Arbour guest house.

Reviewed 28 July 2016

This was an extremely excellent experience. If you enjoy gothic novels or pulp stories where a young couple is violently murdered, this should make you pleasantly nostalgic. The most wonderful features to be found were the gigantic crack running up the side of one wall and the mysterious stains behind the headboard. The mould in the bathroom and window provided...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nastia C
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Arrived late in Oban. Daughter made booking date error also. Phone calls and messages all day not answered to confirm or rectify booking.Eventually a woman came to the door and my daughter thinking she was doing the right thing payed for a double for herself and a single for me,her dad. She is 27yrs old but an inexperienced traveler. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank linda h
Arbour G, Owner at Arbour Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Sir, your story is wildly inaccurate and imaginative. Your daughter booked for 22nd August and arrived on 22nd July, a month early. Although you arrived at 11pm at night, when our reception closes at 7pm, we were still up and answered the door when your daughter rang the bell. She was quite aggressive in demanding to know why we...

Reviewed 13 July 2016

On arrival I knew from the outside this guest house was nothing like it showed on internet it smelled it was dirty and decor was very old .my room was not suitable I was offered an upgrade with ensuite which I asked to view I was then taken next door up 2 winding flights of stairs to an attic room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
Arbour G, Owner at Arbour Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, it is actually very clear on line that Arbour is mostly budget rooms, although we do have some standard rooms as well. Arbour is not a Hotel, it is a family home which offers Guest Accommodation. We do notice that guests very rarely read what they have booked online, and arrive with their own misconceptions and expectations. In...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 3 July 2016

This is the first time in years that we have stayed at a place without first checking trip advisor. Big mistake! Over priced, toilet didn't work, shower didn't drain, noisy and very cramped. Price didn't include breakfast. Staff were friendly enough and location is convenient for town centre.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thailandcouple

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.3 km away
Glengorm Guest House
Glengorm Guest House
#89 of 99 in Oban
32 reviews
0.3 km away
Corran House
Corran House
#17 of 99 in Oban
310 reviews
0.2 km away
Cameron Guesthouse
Cameron Guesthouse
#53 of 99 in Oban
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Glenview Guest House
Glenview Guest House
#78 of 99 in Oban
50 reviews
1.0 km away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#83 of 99 in Oban
216 reviews
0.7 km away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#88 of 99 in Oban
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Arbour Guest House is a Victorian Town House very close to the Town Centre of Oban. Open all year round. Ensuite rooms, Standard rooms and Budget rooms are available. Online prices are for room only. Breakfast is available to book for an additional charge. Free wifi for guests. Parking is public car parking and free overnight. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Arbour Guest House

Address: Dunollie Road, Oban PA34 5PH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range: $64 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arbour Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Arbour Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbour Guest House Hotel Oban
Arbour Guest House Oban, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Arbour Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms we had was up 2 flights of stairs not for the faint hearted”
 of 5 bubbles 217jacquib, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“DO not stay here”
 of 5 bubbles 906catherineb, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Pray, consult a priest.”
 of 5 bubbles 778nastiac, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Simply avoid the place.”
 of 5 bubbles 161lindah, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't go it is overpriced and needs updating”
 of 5 bubbles carolgN2315QX, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay