We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Aberdeen Altens Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,076 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,034: English reviews
Birmingham
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Travelled to Aberdeen to visit my son and daughter in law and meet our first Grand child Maddie! As we also had my parents in the car, we opted to stay at the Altens which is very near my son. The outside of this hotel is concrete and not very inspiring, but the car park is very large, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smiler1956
KrisManship, General Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear smiler1956, Thank you so much for the detailed review following your recent stay at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel. I'm pleased to hear you had a comfortable stay and found your room spacious and light. Sorry to hear your parents had a slight trouble with the hot water, I will pass this onto my maintenance team to investigate. I have...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were part of a party of six at the Altens for a weekend break, and we had a very enjoyable and relaxing weekend. The bedrooms are not massive but are well furnished and equipped with a table and two comfortable chairs to sit on, it is amazing how many hotels have double rooms with only one chair?? The bedrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MARIA B
KrisManship, General Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MARIA B, Thank you so much for the 5 star review, I am so pleased to hear your stay at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel was an enjoyable experience. I really appreciate you highlighting the "fantastic service" the team provide, they will be delighted when they see your feedback. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near...

Portlethen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was at a function at the hotel the other night and although the food was very good, staff were helpful, hotel itself looks very nice - to charge £7.50 for a glass of wine is just extortionate. This can really spoil a night out. And surely if they charged less people would buy more? I don't think this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sheena F
KrisManship, General Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sheena F, Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent visit to the hotel. I am very pleased to hear you found the hotel to be nice, the food very good and the staff helpful. Of course we are aware of the oil downturn, if you read through other reviews you will see the majority of reviewers expressing...

scotland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Understated, staff keep in the background busily working away, all requests adhered to without question, everything works perfectly like a well oiled machine, but definitely a five star one! Booked a two night stay through Itison with a three course dinner on first night, amazing value for £119. Dinner was amazing, there were a few mistakes during meal which were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greekqueen
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We revisited this hotel after 32 years since celebrating our wedding there. It has changed slightly, obviously decor etc. And the once 'outdoor pool' is now a lovely indoor spa. The staff were very friendly, the room was lovely. We had dinner in the restaurant and the meal and service was all very good. A very pleasant experience!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JANMC1_10
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from an excellent weekend break at this hotel. We had booked through myhotelbreak.com and got what we thought was a "too good to be true" deal which more than lived up to our expectations. Everything from the food to the leisure facilities far exceeded anything we had hoped for. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James R
KrisManship, General Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James R, Thank you very much for taking the time to share this fantastic review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to see that you had an excellent weekend break and the hotel exceeded your expectations. I will share your kind comments with the team and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked early and got a good deal via Expedia. Hotel looks tired and old from the outside but as soon as you walk into reception it transforms itself. Leisure facilities were clean and well looked after, remember to take your room towel or £1 to get one. The room was clean, only complaint was that it was very warm and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
KrisManship, General Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dave B, Thank you for sharing a review following your recent stay at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel. I'm so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and found the hotel to be good value. Sorry to hear your room was warm, the heating in each room is individually controlled by a dial either next to the bedroom door or by...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Brilliant hotel which we cannot fault even with a fire alarm at dinner time. Food, staff and hotel itself a credit to all involved. Prices fair and food delicious. Comfy and clean bed and room with all you would expect at a higher price. Great value and would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline F
KrisManship, General Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jacqueline F, Thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review, we really appreciate you taking the time to share it on Tripdvisor. I am so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and it is great to hear you will stay again, we look forward to it! Kind Regards Kris Manship General Manager

Buckie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights in January. A decent large hotel, with very good selection of breakfasts, also the hotel had a very helpful reception service. Its a bit away from the town centre, but handy for access to the south of Aberdeen.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hutch300466
KrisManship, General Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hutch300466, Thank you for taking the time to share a review following your recent stay with us at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel. I'm please to hear you enjoyed your stay and I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Kris Manship General Manager

Eastbourne
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good priced hotel for the area Friendly and efficient check in Comfortable room but the usual niceties of tea and coffee in the room were substandard Bed looked huge at first site but was not as comfortable as it appeared as it had a join down the middle. So disappointing. Not a huge bed at all but two pushed together...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
KrisManship, General Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mike C, Thank you for taking the time share a review. I'm pleased to hear you had a friendly check in and a comfortable room but I was obviously very disappointed to hear we failed to live up to our usually high standards on this occasion and I would like to offer my personal apologises. Some of our King...

589 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (49)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (446)
Viewed
Amenities (81)
Viewed
Executive King Room (56)
Viewed
Pool (45)
Viewed
Dining (112)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
5.2 km away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
4.6 km away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
703 reviews
4.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 64 in Aberdeen
1,821 reviews
4.2 km away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
4.2 km away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#12 of 64 in Aberdeen
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Aberdeen Altens Hotel

Address: Souter Head Road, Aberdeen AB12 3LF, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Aberdeen Altens)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Price Range: $60 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Aberdeen Altens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Aberdeen Altens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Aberdeen Altens Hotel Aberdeen
Thistle Hotel Aberdeen
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#2 Best Value Hotel in Aberdeen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#8 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#11 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Aberdeen Altens Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Aberdeen Altens Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All three rooms we had were great.”
 of 5 bubbles mariabB1396VF, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“This is not a rating on staying here, just on a function night”
 of 5 bubbles SheenaF863, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room nearer to reception otherwise you feel that you are walking for miles don corridors”
 of 5 bubbles Y4327OWmikec, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you get the chance choose an apartment”
  • Microwave in Room!
 of 5 bubbles alanfF9694JS, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“On side away from main road”
 of 5 bubbles ForresMike, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5