We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Macdonald Norwood Hall Hotel

Garthdee Road, Aberdeen AB15 9FX Scotland
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (420)
Room & Suite (76)
Dining (72)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#8 of 57 hotels in Aberdeen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Norwood Hall Hotel was built in 1881 on the site of the 15th Century Pitfodels Castle. This truly magnificent Victorian mansion exudes character and charm, with roaring log fires, sweeping staircases and magnificent interior design. Set in seven acres of secluded gardens and woodlands this four star hotel is the ideal venue to host your wedding,family gathering, business meeting and team away day. Norwood Hall has 73 en-suite bedrooms including junior suites, four poster rooms and superb original house rooms, which include all the luxury and modern facilities of a 4 star hotel, whilst still retaining the history and ambience of days gone by.The new conference centre boasts seven superb conference rooms with state-of-the-art audio visual equipment which, along with the traditional Norwood hospitality and customer service, is guaranteed to make your conference a successful event.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Classic
Languages Spoken
English
948Reviews8Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 518
  • 233
  • 88
  • 58
  • 51
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Alison C wrote a review 15 Feb
Ayr, United Kingdom27 contributions7 helpful votes
I have not stayed here for a long time but it is still fabulous - the reception staff and in the restaurant were also lovely - special shout out to Carla who was particularly helpful and friendly, it makes such a difference when you are travelling alone to have someone take time to talk.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Nicholas W wrote a review Jan 2024
5 contributions1 helpful vote
long walk down a rabbit warren to a dimly lit hall, threadbare carpet, untended room service tired paint and plumbing. Sink doesn’t drain. 1 of two radiators worked. Minimal shower amenities. Noisy banging hallway doors from other rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Maybe triple digit main building rooms are ok, avoid the double digit rooms.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gm NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Norwood Hall Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Nicholas W, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Providing a comfortable and enjoyable experience for all our guests is our top priority, and we regret that we fell short of meeting your expectations on this occasion. Additionally, I would apologize for the inconvenience caused by the noise disturbances from neighboring rooms.Due to the location and room type booked this was in the annex. Hopefully you will reconsider giving us a chance and try our newly refurbished rooms which are in a higher tier. Best wishes, Andrei
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Susan C wrote a review Jan 2024
Aberdeen4 contributions3 helpful votes
We had lunch on Christmas Day at the Norwood. The food was delicious, the waiting staff were all very friendly and efficient and we had a lovely afternoon. We'll definitely be back to eat there soon, such a lovely venue which we need to support
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Enjoy the ambiance if this fantastic location.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rory wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Exceptional stay! Impeccable service, luxurious rooms, and delightful dining. Staff went above and beyond. A truly memorable and comfortable retreat. A perfect getaway with the family. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ruth S wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
The Norwood Hall Christmas lunch Host the Roast experience was a cold experience and was simply not good enough. The salmon/soup starter was fine, but the main course was simply cold. All the veg dishes were put on the table, followed in due course by cold plates, and finally the meat was delivered to be carved at the table. No one had anything hot for their main course! One of the two tables did not receive their roast potatoes. The pre-requested GF non meat main course was mythical, despite emails and a pre-event visit to confirm this request. Staff knew nothing about it. The guest was finally given a plate of vegetable wellington - obviously not a GF alternative. They ended up eating only some cold potatoes. The GF dessert was simply fruit salad, produced only when reminded that the tart dessert would not be appropriate. The cheese board was tasty, but again no GF biscuits were provided. The £100 cost for this experience was not reflected in the service or food served. Hot food is a basic requirement and not an optional extra. Failing to provide pre-requested dietary food is quite disgraceful. Going out for lunch on Christmas Day was supposed to be a treat, but Norwood Hall brought no joy on this occasion.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gm NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Norwood Hall Hotel
Responded 14 Jan 2024
Dear Ruth S, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your experience. We have privately answered your emai. Best wishes, Norwood team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
shomika k wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
The service was impeccable during the party night I attended. The hotel has a luxurious old-world feel to it. The staff went above and beyond to ensure a memorable experience. The food was delicious. Truly a gem, I can't wait to return for a stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gm NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Norwood Hall Hotel
Responded 14 Jan 2024
Dear sh0mikak, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay and glad to see that you noticed our hard working team,they truly deserve to be praised. Until next time, best wishes Norwood team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jayapriya Jayakumar wrote a review Dec 2023
5 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
Such a beautiful hotel, the interior and ambience is so cosy and Victorian. The rooms were comfortable and tidy. The staff were great and friendly. The food was delicious. Would definitely recommend the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gm NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Norwood Hall Hotel
Responded 14 Jan 2024
Dear jayapriyajayakumar, Thank you for your kind and generous review. Hope to welcome you back soon ! Best wishes, Norwood team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Eileen N wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution4 helpful votes
Stayed 2 nights over Christmas. Food in the Tapestry Restaurant was good, rooms good also, staff pleasant and helpful. What let are stay down was the Carvery Christmas Lunch. It was like a cattle market with as many people crammed into the room as possible. The food was awful, cold and definitely not worth the price. Some of the staff attending at the carvery were inexperienced and lacked communication skills. This was not the experience we were expecting. We were very disappointed, especially my 92 year old mother.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gm NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Norwood Hall Hotel
Responded 28 Dec 2023
Dear OnAir571426, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding the Christmas Carvery. Happy to read that you have enjoyed the stay overall and please accept my sincere apologies for the issues in the Carvery. We had had many requests to book the Carvery and due to the fact that we did not want to let people down or on a waiting list over Christmas we have increased the normal capacity we would take. People were informed that they had tables available for certain time slots and the staff done all they could to keep everyone within their allocated time but unfortunately on this occasion it was not possible. I am really sorry that we have let you down on this occasion on hopefully will have the chance to restore your faith in our lovely property. Best wishes, Andrei
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alexandra S wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Not a great experience for our Host the Roast Christmas Day meal! Despite multiple attempts to confirm dietary requirements (pescatarian and gluten free) and confirm the alternative option via emails months in advance and also with the person booking it coming to the hotel in-person in December, on the day it was a shambles for my mum and in other ways for everyone else. I alerted the waiting staff again to her requirements on arrival to the room and was met with blank stares. She was able to get a gluten free bread roll before the starter, but that was basically it. She was able to eat the salmon starter fine, but when I reminded staff who put all the (cold!) plates down at the table for the meat main course that the food options for her should have been a Mediterranean veg or salmon wellington, the staff tried to again serve her the starter she had just had… (seriously?) After I refused that, they came back with another grain-filled ‘wellington’ option covered in a tomato sauce which she couldn’t eat. So basically she had some potatoes for her main and that was it. Again for dessert I asked them to make sure the option was gluten free and veggie… they tried to serve her the standard clementine non-gluten-free tarte and then came back with the chef’s option of a bowl of fruit salad… not even anything fancy, like something from a kids menu. For the cheese course, we had pretty much given up on there being any suitable options to the oatcakes served, so she had plain cheese. Not exactly a 4-star meal worth £96per person. For the rest of our table, we were shocked on the serving of the main to have been given freezing cold plates to put the food on. Especially when we are carving for about 12 people per table. Various parts of the main were also in short supply or late: one table didn’t get any roast potatoes until 20 mins after they had carved and most people had finished; there was one ramekin of cranberry sauce for the 26 people; our table had a second round of hot veggies and gravy served after we had basically finished as well?? The cheese course was served without any knives to slice them up - Just really basic things that you expect to be standard good service were lacking. Have been there in the past for a Christmas meal and had much better service for the price.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t expect staff to cater to your dietary requirements
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gm NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Norwood Hall Hotel
Responded 28 Dec 2023
Dear AlexandrasF6438DT, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding the Host the Roast meal on Christmay Day. Apologies that your mom's meal was not up to par on Christmas Day. We have had her dietary requirements ,however I think there was some miscomunnication as there was never a Salmon Wellington dish in any of the Host the Roast,Carvery or Tapestry Restaurant. The Host the Roast had a Vegetable Wellington option and a pescatarian option which was Salmon which were both available if requested. We have tried our best to cater for gluten free ,dairy free options and I am truly sorry that you did not find this acceptable. I am disappointed to read that you are saying that potatoes were not received when we have honoured a 2nd serving of potatoes ,pigs in blankets and vegetables on request. Best wishes, Norwood team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kirsty L wrote a review Dec 2023
Baildon, United Kingdom80 contributions24 helpful votes
Beautiful hotel and the breakfasts were fresh and tasty. My room was lovely and spacious too. Unfortunately there was an issue with the water supply I my room on my second evening (none coming through). It was solved in a few hours but then reoccurred next morning, I was given another room to shower in (at the opposite side of the hotel) but it created disruption and inconvenience. When I checked out a couple of coffees were struck from my bill to acknowledge the inconvenience- I’m not sure this was reflective of the situation, as I’m not an impolite, shouty person I wasn’t compensated appropriately. For such an established brand I thought this terribly disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gm NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Norwood Hall Hotel
Responded 23 Dec 2023
Dear kirsty1406, Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your recent stay. Please accept my apologies for the issues with the water.The boiler fault was rectified by an engineer but was followed by a mains supply issue so Scottish Water had to be called. I am sorry you found this dissappointing, the staff have tried their best to minimise the inconvenience this has caused on your stay. Best wishes, Andrei
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Aberdeen area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$128 - AU$208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
norwood hall aberdeen, hotel norwood hall
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandAberdeenshireAberdeen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
73
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MACDONALD NORWOOD HALL HOTEL (AU$128): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Aberdeen, Scotland) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Macdonald Norwood Hall Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Macdonald Norwood Hall Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Locked Door Escape Games (3.3 km), Breakout Games (4.1 km), and Aberdeen Science Centre (5.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Macdonald Norwood Hall Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Macdonald Norwood Hall Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Macdonald Norwood Hall Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Macdonald Norwood Hall Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Blether, Monsoona Healthy Indian Cuisine, and 8848 Restaurant.
Are any cleaning services offered at Macdonald Norwood Hall Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Macdonald Norwood Hall Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Macdonald Norwood Hall Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Machar's Cathedral (6.4 km), The Tolbooth Museum (4.7 km), and Provost Skene's House (4.7 km).
Does Macdonald Norwood Hall Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Macdonald Norwood Hall Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.