We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, Aberdeen

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1023)
Room & Suite (142)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Month of Love
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#32 of 57 hotels in Aberdeen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Inspired by the royal residence of Balmoral Castle, a few miles upstream, this 4 Star 19th Century mansion house offering 120 en suite rooms is situated 3 miles outside the city centre of Aberdeen, in 30 acres of countryside. Ideal for shopping, theatres, scenic walks and Balmoral Castle. Meetings suite for up to 500 guests, Blairs Restaurant, Soapies Lounge Bar, pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, tennis courts, fully equipped gym, aerobics studio, state of the art beauty salons and 24hr room service.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Month of Love
1668Reviews49Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 811
  • 434
  • 195
  • 112
  • 116
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Sally D wrote a review 12 Feb
Virginia City, Nevada5 contributions
We can not express the gratitude, love and thanks we have for every staff member at this hotel. This was our second stop on a 2 week 8 city vacation. We were those dumb Americans that caused an accident as we were turning into this hotel. After the rental car company told us to pay attention and stay on your side of the road! Long story short husband had a senior moment and made a right turn (our left) in front of a car that was going faster than the marked speed. Both vehicles were totaled, we were hit on my side. Our youngest and myself were taken to the hospital as I was having trouble breathing, daughter landed on her camera and seriously bruised her tailbone. Luckily there was a doctor a couple cars behind us. The police, fire and ambulance were on scene within minutes. Apparently, the blind curve causes a lot of accidents at this particular spot. All that is a story for another time. Also, within a few minutes the Manager of the hotel and a couple staff members were there to help bring luggage, oldest daughter and husband to the hotel, checked us in, got them settled and had whiskeys ready for husband and daughter. When we were done at the hospital, another story, the hotel called for a cab to bring us back and had a triple whiskey for me plus helped get dinner for the daughter and myself since we were so late. Free Health care, another story. What ever you do never let anyone at a hospital know that you are aware of pain medicines. If you ask then you don't get it as you are considered someone looking for drugs. Spent the rest of the trip with 6 ribs out, not diagnosed by the doctor at the hospital and aspirin only for the rest of the trip. Found out the ribs were out when we got home and I was able to see my Chiropractor. Good Times. We were there during vacation season so getting another car that would fit 4 people, our luggage was literally impossible. The hotel let us stay 2 extra night and 1 full day until the rental car company, Enterprise, was able to find a car. Keith was the man of the day. After the husband went to get the car and drive around for a few hours to get use to the opposite roadway driving. The Manager came to tell me that husband was a wreck and pacing the halls until we got back from the hospital. I am sorry that I can not remember everyone's name that helped us and worked at the hotel while we were there. Everyone was kind, helpful, informative and had their won stories while working there. The grounds are spectacular, the rooms were comfortable and clean. The building is well maintained, with lots of history and stories. If I could give more stars I would. We recommend this beautiful place to everyone wanting to tour Scotland. We will definitely be returning, with a driver of course.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Grimmer, Guest Services / Front Office at Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, Aberdeen
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you so much for getting in touch, we are delighted to hear you are all safe and well, we all got a scare when we found out up here at the hotel. It was our pleasure to do what we can, at a difficult time for you all. Come back and see us again soon Many Thanks Team Ardoe
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Susan M wrote a review Jan 2024
6 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Hotel's Favourite
Still an excellent little gem just outside of Aberdeen Easy check in Twin room was huge with big towels / complimentary water, tea, coffee etc. Spa was lovely Food was really nice and served quickly Breakfast is buffet but plenty selection The mark of 4 is purely down to small snags in room. Toilet roll holder coming off wall and dusty. Stains on walls (looked liked water marks) doors chipped and marked. Bed is super comfy. Excellent pillows.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Grimmer, Guest Services / Front Office at Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, Aberdeen
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for coming back to see us, great to read you enjoyed everything again, and for the feedback regarding the minor issues, these are being rectified with some internal touch up. See you again soon Many Thanks Team Ardoe
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Smokey270 wrote a review Jan 2024
Arbroath, United Kingdom192 contributions98 helpful votes
We have stayed at the Ardoe house before and left some feedback. We were hoping it would have improved but sadly no. Firstly the room was OK bed clean and bathroom also was fine. We went to the spa area and have to say again the changing rooms are terrible seems more broken lockers and the place needs gutted and refurbished. Pool was ok certainly not a spa ! We didn’t eat in restaurant but did go for a drink in the bar Please give your bar staff that we’re on duty 28th Jan some customer service skills it’s supposed to be a country house hotel and as such should have experienced staff, the lounge area has plates and glasses left for the hour we sat for drinks maybe not enough staff ? We had a linked bedroom and could hear the guy next door coming and going and coughing and also trying the link door. Breakfast could only be described as chaotic no fruit at all the hot food had hardly anything ready no eggs , sausages looked half cooked bacon swimming in oil Only 1 coffee machine for a heap of guests really ! Doubt we will return again sadly needs a shake up.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Plenty parking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Grimmer, Guest Services / Front Office at Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, Aberdeen
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for your return stay with us, sorry to read that you felt that there was issues during your stay, we have noted these and will be making adjustments to some areas that you have mentioned. Many Thanks Team Ardoe
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sealcraig23 wrote a review Jan 2024
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
Lovely hotel. Spa staff were fantastic- especially Cameron. Steam room has certainly been greatly improved- although changing rooms need updating. Our Room was lovely with large bed and shower and plenty on the hospitality tray for us. Drinks and food were good. Service was good. Quick and easy check in and check out.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Grimmer, Guest Services / Front Office at Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, Aberdeen
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for your reviewing our spa, great to see you like our improvements, there is a few more on the way, so come back again soon and see. Many Thanks Team Ardoe
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Peter wrote a review Jan 2024
Aberdeen, United Kingdom1 contribution
Myself and my wife had a great time, nice drinks at the bar Infront of the open fire. The meal we had at night was excellent. Breakfast was great and the room was nice oh and it had an excellent shower. Staff were all friendly. We had a great time and will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Grimmer, Guest Services / Front Office at Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, Aberdeen
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for the lovely feedback about your stay with us, delighted you enjoyed your stay and got to sit next to one of our open fires. Look forward to seeing you back at Ardoe soon Many Thanks Team Ardoe
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Vicki wrote a review Jan 2024
Armadale, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
First impressions good, main building nice and good selection of drinks and food. Pool area, old and tired.In need of clean and working lockers. No towels were available either meaning having to run back to room. No robes or slippers in room as advised and room 1 filthy, body fluids on the headboard as well as marks on carpet, walls. Room 2 🤮 worse than the initial, carpet looked like workmen had trampled all over it. Stains on the sofa and brown marks on the throw placed over the sofa to hide marks. Room3 was checked before we accepted it. Cleaner than other 2 but still not what would be expected at such a grand hotel. Seriously need to invest in deep clean of all rooms
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Check room as soon as you get in and complain.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Grimmer, Guest Services / Front Office at Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, Aberdeen
Responded 15 Jan 2024
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we do apologies for these issues . I can say our rooms and carpets are deep cleaned on an regular basis, and these marks on the sofa and carpet are unfortunately historical. Many Thanks Team Ardoe
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Duke20152017 wrote a review Jan 2024
Inverness, United Kingdom5 contributions6 helpful votes
I turned up with my family well what a disaster. No rooms ready, rude receptionists, no towels for Spa or Rooms apparantly, filthy dishes left all over bar, staff with absolutely no customer service skills at all. I ended up getting a refund and leaving. What a disorganised mess. This place is not what you think it is, stay clear. You have been warned. Just thought I'd mention I hardly ever complain unless it's deemed unacceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Grimmer, Guest Services / Front Office at Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, Aberdeen
Responded 15 Jan 2024
Thank you for your review with us, we are aware in end of December we were out of spa towels due to orders and delivery over the festive period and we do apologies about this, however plenty towels within our bedrooms. I am not aware of the other situation within the hotel, but if you would like to contact us, please do let us know. Many Thanks Team Ardoe
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Antoinette C wrote a review Jan 2024
3 contributions
Well that was an interesting stay! Seriously I have never stayed in a hotel and there been a real fire, but it happened last evening. In the room next door to us. All evacuated safely and the fire initially put out by a heroic member of staff even though it was very real flames shooting out and lots of smoke. No-one hurt apart from him having a cough. Fire service here in minutes and the Fire evacuation process was spot on. We were all able to shelter in the spa area it being a separate building. Somehow the staff managed to feed and water us all quickly and efficiently when we were allowed to re-enter. The pressure must have been huge but their smiles stayed on. We were relocated to another room, of equal excellent standard, and are very impressed. Will stay again but hope for a less eventful visit next time!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Grimmer, Guest Services / Front Office at Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, Aberdeen
Responded 16 Jan 2024
Thank you so much for the review, and your comments our very much appreciated. We were very lucky that it was controlled with the quick action of the fire brigade and staff combined. Delighted to hear you still enjoyed your stay and please do come back again soon to see us Many Thanks Team Ardoe
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
FarAway756084 wrote a review Jan 2024
4 contributions
Lovely overnight visit from start to finish! Room was immaculate and cosy, along with a huge bed which was great. Food in Blairs was also fantastic, we both had steaks and they were cooked to perfection. Hotel team were so kind, and helpful which was amazing. Only fault would be the water, when showering the water would only be absolutely scalding hot even on the cold setting, same for the sink which was the case on the day we arrived and then the next day when we checked out. Apart from this Ardoe was lovely and I hope to be back soon and for it to be the same as we've now considered it as a potential for our wedding venue! Thank you again
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Grimmer, Guest Services / Front Office at Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, Aberdeen
Responded 15 Jan 2024
Thank you for your review, lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we did have a n issue with our boiler system, however this is has been rectified. Please do let us know if you would like some wedding information, we'd be delighted Look forward to seeing you again soon. Many Thanks
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Iain M wrote a review Jan 2024
94 contributions118 helpful votes
Instead of giving eachother Christmas presents we neither needed nor wanted my wife and I gave ourselves a short break at Ardoe House instead. Good move! The hotel has exceeded my expectations. Our room is large, warm and spotlessly clean. The housekeeping is top notch. Breakfasts are great with a large selection of hot and cold dishes . The grounds are fantastic for our big dog to run about in but as always it is the staff who make or break a hotel. Everyone here is really friendly and make a big fuss of the dog: that's a big plus in my book! A very interesting building with lots of atmosphere. We would love to be able to return sometime soon.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Grimmer, Guest Services / Front Office at Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, Aberdeen
Responded 15 Jan 2024
Thank you for your great review, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, what a great idea instead of gifts. We do love dogs at Ardoe, we have been nominated in most pet friendly hotel! See you all again soon Many Thanks Team Ardoe
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Aberdeen area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$141 - AU$217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mercure ardoe house hotel aberdeen, mercure ardoe house hotel and spa, mercure ardoe hotel aberdeen, accor ardoe hotel aberdeen, mercure aberdeen, ardoe hotel house, ardoe house hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandAberdeenshireAberdeen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
120
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ARDOE HOUSE HOTEL AND SPA, ABERDEEN (AU$141): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Scotland) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, Aberdeen
Which popular attractions are close to Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, Aberdeen?
Nearby attractions include The Locked Door Escape Games (5.2 km), Breakout Games (6.0 km), and Aberdeen Science Centre (7.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, Aberdeen?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, Aberdeen?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, Aberdeen?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, Aberdeen?
Conveniently located restaurants include Blether, Monsoona Healthy Indian Cuisine, and 8848 Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, Aberdeen?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, Aberdeen?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, Aberdeen?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, Aberdeen offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, Aberdeen?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Tolbooth Museum (6.7 km), Provost Skene's House (6.6 km), and Mercat Cross (6.8 km).
Does Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, Aberdeen have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.