We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel

Show Prices
#16 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

874 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 825: English reviews
Scotland
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank k1sra
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2016

everything was just great staff excellent room king suite brill tons of room nice touch with the wine and gift hamper food was great well cooked and presented congrats to the chefs Would I stay again BIG YES they have got everything spot on ,well worth every penny

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian R Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at The Mercure Caledonian Aberdeen. I am delighted your found your stay outstanding from your room to dining in on restaurant. Myself and my team look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best Regards Jane Bourque General Manager

Reviewed 26 April 2016

Celebrated here on Boxing day from my mum's 75th birthday. Lovely location overlooking the Union Terrace Gardens and Christmas Market. Lovely Afternoon Tea with plenty of sandwiches and cakes. Added bonus of mulled wine for the non drivers.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pauline M
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pauline M Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent experience at afternoon tea at The Mercure Caledonian Aberdeen. I am delighted to hear everything was to your liking and with our cakes and scones changing seasonally and all fresh baked in house I look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best Regards Jane...

Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016

I had a business meeting in the centre of Aberdeen so chose this hotel as it was a short walk to the office. It is also close to the train station has very good bus links nearby, and Union Street is only round the corner. It was very comfortable and the staff were attentive and couldn't have been more helpful....

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Caroline B Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at The Mercure Caledonian Aberdeen. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. If you are staying on a regular basis our Le-Club offers excellent benefits for our guests and is easy to sign up....

Seville, Spain
Reviewed 25 April 2016

It has been a bad experience. Standard room wasn't a four star hotal room at all. Futniture was old and bad maintained. With regard to the bathroom, it was terrible: mold, plastic floor, flish didn't work,... Parking free was unaccesible given that it was mostly used by staff so there wasn't park places for clients. Reception team seemed upset to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank De la Fuente J
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear De la Fuente J Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at The Mercure Caledonian Aberdeen. It is very disappointing to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Our standard rooms are due for refurbishment in July so I am confident we can resolve this for your next visit. With regards to...

Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location. The rooms are basic but clean. The staff do their job. The price is very reasonable. The place is good value for money and is everything a hotel should be, but just that. There is nothing there that gives it soul or makes it an exceptional place. I would return for casual visits...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kyle M
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kyle M Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at The Mercure Caledonian Aberdeen. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Our standard rooms are due for refurbishment in July and I am sure most our guests would agree our deluxe rooms and suites offer a little luxury at great value however...

Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed for a night and met up with family for a celebratory dinner. We were upgraded to a suite which was fantastic. Very clean , spacious and bed was comfortable. We found all staff to be polite and helpful. This was especially the case with the duty manager in the evening . She was extremely helpful with our one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cazzer6
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cazzer6 Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at The Mercure Caledonian Aberdeen. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and glad I had the pleasure of meeting you during your special occasion. I am sure we will be seeing you again soon. Best Regards Jane Bourque General Manager

Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed for a week for a business trip. Decor was nice, the hotel seemed well furnished. Make sure you don't get a front facing room as there is absolutely no sound proofing and you will be able to hear every random conversation/ noise outside your room at night. Be sure to give at least 30-45 minutes for breakfast as the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Imran P
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Imran P Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at The Mercure Caledonian Aberdeen. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I am sure you will agree with the improvements we have made on breakfast including a traditional Scottish Buffett breakfast buffet while still keeping our popular items from the kitchen...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2016

I'd stay here again at the drop of a hat. I've never stayed in such a nice single room. The staff provided a top quality service from the moment I checked-in to the moment I returned to collect my bag after checking-out. Lovely Eggs Benedict for breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pandarose4477
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pandarose4477 Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at The Mercure Caledonian Aberdeen. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best Regards Jane Bourque General Manager

Bryne, Norway
Reviewed 22 April 2016

Arrived tuesday, left sunday. Good location by Union street. WiFI good and stable. Reliable baggage store at departure. Stayed in single room. small room with carpets. OK bed. nice bathroom. But the floors are that crooked that I had the same feeling when sleeping in tent downhill. Didn't sleep well at all. Should be possible to level the beds, when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank estokkah
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Estokkah Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at The Mercure Caledonian Aberdeen. It is regretful you did not have a pleasant breakfast experience. I would always encourage guests to let us know of any dissatisfaction as soon as possible so we can resolve the matter there and then. I am happy...

317 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (48)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (139)
Viewed
Executive Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)
Viewed
Twin Room (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.4 km away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 63 in Aberdeen
1,809 reviews
6.2 km away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#12 of 63 in Aberdeen
925 reviews
0.7 km away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 63 in Aberdeen
703 reviews
2.0 km away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#14 of 63 in Aberdeen
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, is perfectly placed for exploring handsome, vibrant Aberdeen, known to the world as the Granite City. Located in the centre of Aberdeen, overlooking Union Terrace Gardens and five-minute walk from the railway station, The Caledonian Hotel is a grand example of the city's distinctive Victorian architecture. It's close to many local attractions, and an excellent base for touring the Highlands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel

Address: 10-14 Union Terrace, Aberdeen AB10 1WE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Price Range: $87 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caledonian, Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
The Hotel Aberdeen
Caledonian Thistle
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
9 months ago
2 days ago
Chicago, Illinois, USA

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“4th floor is quiet”
 of 5 bubbles wooly0000, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Those with a view over Union Terrace Gardens, 4th floor preferably.”
 of 5 bubbles 513scott, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Apparently the upgraded rooms with views of the gardens are nice.”
 of 5 bubbles Escotland, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a room ar the book and it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles kaysy123, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Far away from a cleaning locker.”
 of 5 bubbles Hutch300466, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5