We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

City Hotel

getaroom.comUSD 153*
View Deal
#6 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 171*
USD 153*
Great Deal
USD 171*
USD 161*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
City Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,967 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,922: English reviews
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2015

We stayed here Tuesday as part of our C.I.E. tour. Tea and coffee were available in the lobby upon arrival. We could grab a cup at our leisure since it was self serve. The decor was dated but that's understandable given the area has been economically depressed. Our room was clean, spacious, and had a nice view of the river....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole H
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nicole H Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during your tour with CIE, we trust the rest of your travels were as successful. Yours sincerely Conor Friel Guest Relations Manager

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 23 July 2015

We stayed two nights at this hotel while in Londonderry. The hotel is in dire need of an upgrade. The furniture was cracked and peeling. Bathroom was alright but could have been cleaner. There was a wedding each night of our stay. Our room was about three floors above the venue which made it very loud with the band and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathy K
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kathy K Thank you for your review, we apologise if any noise intrusion affected your stay, we try to ensure this does not happen through management of room allocation as you state, we do hope it will not dissuade you from making a return visit so that you may experience our true high levels of service. Yours sincerely Conor...

Ireland
Reviewed 22 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed over last Friday night for our aniversary, great room, fabulous meal, breakfast and 'craic' at the bar. Band in the bar was very good and the pool steam room and jacuzzi are excellent. Will definitely be staying over again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hotel_Sampler
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hotel_Sampler Thank you for your review, we appreciate the lovely review and the biggest compliment of all - a returning customer, we thank you for your continued business and support, especially from such a prolific traveller and top reviewer. Yours sincerely Conor Friel Guest Relations Manager

Seaforth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed 22 July 2015

Reception was busy as they had a large number of international cricketers staying with them but the soon got to us, check in was painless and very efficient, they had our bags sent up to our room, chatted about the town and sights and offered to book a table for us too. the room was first class, clean, well laid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tony M Thank you for your review, we especially like the title of your review, we are proud to be of service and hope you make a return visit soon. Yours sincerely Conor Friel Guest Relations Manager

Derry, Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

Sunday 5th.July 2015. I attended the wedding there of Bridgeen O Connell and Joseph Rey and their children,Aiveen and Aiden on Sunday the 5th.of July. This was one of the most professional from start to finish Days I have ever experienced. All the staff,the settings,food,customer care and overall function catering I have ever experienced in an Hotel in The City...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian M Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to post of your experience with us, a lovely day was had by all, thank you for posting. Yours sincerely Conor Friel Guest Relations Manager

antrim
Reviewed 19 July 2015

Well worth the money, the staff were very friendly, meal was unbelievable soo tasty and loads of choice, room was stylish and clean. We were both really surprised at the standard overall throughout the hotel. Def recommend this deal def be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gordy s
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gordy s Thank you for your review, and your kind words, we look forward to serving you in the future. Yours sincerely Conor Friel Guest Relations Manager

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2015

After years away from my home town myself and a friend decided to go to Derry for a few days and stay at the City Hotel Breakfast and Dinner included with our package. The bed was very good for anyone with back problems or Ruematoid Arthritis like myself it gave good support so much so that I had a full...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IrishLady75
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear IrishLady75 Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your return to the city and your stay with us. We do have a full room service menu on offer up until 11pm each day which caters for all tastes. We hope you make many return visits in the future and consider staying with us again. Yours sincerely...

Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2015

Hotel and staff were really nice. Food excellent and service was spot on. Car park was hand. Although hotel was busy there was no sense of being noisy or having to wait for service or reception. All in all a good trip and I will be back for my next business trip.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank C2741DIlauraa
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear C2741DIlauraa Thank you for your review, and for choosing to stay with us on your business trip, please contact us to request a quiet room for your next trip so that we may achieve full marks for your next review, thank you for taking the time to post. Yours sincerely Conor Friel Guest Relations Manager

Ipoh, Malaysia
Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

The room given to us was very large, which was great as I had room to lay out my suitcase without it being in the way. The room was a bit dim but nothing terrible. There was no AC, but a fan was provided which brought the room to a comfortable temperature. The staff at the front desk are very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hannahacfoster
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hannahacfoster Thank you for your review, and for staying with us, I thank you for your comments which I will discuss further with our Kitchen and restaurant team. Yours sincerely Conor Friel Guest Relations Manager

BELFAST
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Spent two nights in thlis Hotek and were really looking forward to our stay as we had heard very positive comments about it from family and friends On arrival we were greeted and checked in efficiently and pleasantly by the receptionist on duty.We were allocated room 401 which proved to be a disappointment as it was a dark.room with one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DIEVERA
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DIEVERA Thank you for your review, unfortunately as a city centre hotel not all of our rooms can be river facing, please request this at your next time of booking and we will endeavour to meet any requests. Our alcohol policy is a way of encouraging a responsible drinking culture within the hotel so that intake may be monitored...

741 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (443)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (96)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
View from Room (41)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (196)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (269)
Viewed
Amenities (54)
Viewed
Junior Suite (26)
Viewed
Pool (20)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Single Family Room (85)
Viewed
Superior Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.4 km away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.5 km away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
505 reviews
2.2 km away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 12 in Derry
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
1.8 km away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
2.8 km away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 12 in Derry
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 

Additional Information about City Hotel

Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Price Range: $134 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from City Hotel staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
3 months ago
County Tyrone, United Kingdom

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from City Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring face cloths, this hotel does not supply them.”
carolpW4452HC, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for peace bridge view”
LLCanadianGirl, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“River View”
123jonl, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Room 301 for size and space”
Misskia10, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Floor 7 is rather special”
Leamaguire, 15 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
getaroom.com
USD 153* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 171
CancelonUSD 161
PricelineUSD 171
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates