We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Clayton Hotel Belfast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Clayton Hotel Belfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

590 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 563: English reviews
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Took my to staff for christmas party 3rd december. Very disappointing. Loads of staff to serve dinner but no organising. After insisting everyone preordered there food ,waiters just ran from table to table. Sorbet was practically threw on table, beef dinner was served to our table 10 mins before we had to call waiters to serve rest of table,as they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulab17
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed at this hotel when it was a Holiday Inn. On my first 2 visits, had no problems. Was actually even given a complimentary upgrade to a suite as I was a Priority Club Elite Member (back in the day). Rooms were clean and comfortable. There was also a screen showing flight departures from Belfast City Airport which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve Y
belfast
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a child free weekend last month and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We will definitely be back. Super breakfast and efficient staff who smile! Prompt check in and check out. Spotless hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Somecatch
Neil G, Front Office Manager at Clayton Hotel Belfast, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Belfast. I am pleased that we were able to offer you all the facilities to make your stay a comfortable one. We hope that we have the pleasure to welcome you back to Clayton Belfast soon. Best Regards, Neil.

Sheffield
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for two nights and I was so impressed by the whole place. The staff were helpful, friendly and seemed genuinely happy to be at work! The rooms were lovely and spacious, with excellent bathrooms. The bar area is comfortable and the bar staff happy to help - making up a 'mocktail' for a teenager with us. Perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MsMoll
Neil G, Front Office Manager at Clayton Hotel Belfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of our hotel. It looks like we've ticked all the boxes for you in order for you to have a memorable stay. Hopefully we will have the pleasure again soon. Kindest Regards, Neil.

Amesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

People who've been to Belfast before may remember that this used to be the Holiday Inn which has now moved a 5 minute walk away. The hotel is bright and modern and the checkin was efficient although the number of details such as passport number seemed a bit excessive. My room was a nice size although the wooden shutters instead...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John_The_Miner
Neil G, Front Office Manager at Clayton Hotel Belfast, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to have you with us recently. I am delighted to read that everything was just as you’d want it to be. It was our pleasure to be able to look after you. I truly do look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again when you next visit Belfast. Kindest Regards...

Burlington, Vermont
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Really comfortable, modern and efficient hotel. The room was really large and well appointed. When I showed up I had accidentally booked 1 less night than I needed during a very busy weekend; the staff worked really hard to make sure that I got the extra night. They were amazingly helpful the whole time. Breakfast was part of my package...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pablo B
Neil G, Front Office Manager at Clayton Hotel Belfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a top rated review for Clayton Belfast. It is always a pleasure to have our guests share their experiences with rest of the world. A very warm welcome awaits you on your next stay. Kind regards, Neil.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here a few times over the past twelve years and we've always had a good experience. Staff have always been warm and friendly. Food had been good. We like how close it is to the city centre and that it has a pool which is fee to use as guests which can keep kids...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
Neil G, Front Office Manager at Clayton Hotel Belfast, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Belfast. I am pleased that we were able to offer you all the facilities to make you and your family's stay a more enjoyable. We hope that we have the pleasure to welcome you back to Clayton Belfast soon. Best Regards, Neil.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Out for Christmas dinner quarter bowl of cold soup and a kids portion of turkey dinner will need to good elsewhere after to get something more to eat.music is to loud having to shout to talk to people beside and opposite me.staff very pleasant and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Warrenmacc
Neil G, Front Office Manager at Clayton Hotel Belfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent visit to our hotel and delighted you received a warm welcome from our Team. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with the dinner offering. Our Executive Chef is reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience....

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was the 2nd year we have held our Xmas party within the hotel. Great night had all round. From the start to end experience was great. Kept in contact throughout the planning. Friendly staff very helpful and met everyone's needs throughout the night. The DJ supplied by the package was excellent and played a wide rang of music! Highly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
Neil G, Front Office Manager at Clayton Hotel Belfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. We were very pleased to read you had an enjoyable visit for your Christmas Party. We look forward to welcoming you back on many more occasions for the future. Kindest Regards, Damian.

Reviewed 1 week ago

My first stay here. Lovely hotel very central. Few minutes from city hall. The Christmas market is at the city hall and worth a visit . We ate in the restaurant . We were served by Paul C . He recommended a dish that was superb. He gave such a warm welcome and excellent service . He made our restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariaby65
Neil G, Front Office Manager at Clayton Hotel Belfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. We were pleased that you enjoyed the hotel bar and hospitality you experienced from Paul. Thanks again for providing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Kindest Regards, Neil.

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#22 of 43 in Belfast
2,370 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Clayton Hotel Belfast. This four star hotel is perfectly located within the Linen Quarter of Belfast city centre, ideal for visiting the Titanic Exhibition, a night out at the Cathedral Quarter or shopping at Victoria Square. Enjoy a four star dining experience in the restaurant at Clayton Hotel Belfast. Alternatively, relax and unwind with a bar snack in the lounge. The restaurant includes floor to ceiling windows so you can relax and watch the world go by in the heart of Belfast's Linen Quarter. Clayton Hotel Belfast offers great accommodation to all guests whether your stay is for business or leisure. With 170 rooms to offer, ranging from Standard Rooms to Executive Rooms and 2 Suites, it's the perfect location for your trip to Belfast. Clayton Hotel Belfast's spacious Leisure Centre Club Vitae is ideal for unwinding after a long day or working up a sweat in the fully equipped gymnasium. As well as a 15 meter pool, the wet area also boasts a sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. The dance studio offers a range of classes which Clayton Hotel Belfast offers to residents and members. The spa offers a range of treatment's that can rejuvenate and pamper you during your stay. Feel rejuvenated and treat yourself to one or more of a wide range of treatments. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Belfast

Address: 22 Ormeau Avenue, Belfast BT2 8HS, Northern Ireland (Formerly Holiday Inn Belfast)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Price Range: $132 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Clayton Hotel Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Belfast Hotel Belfast
Belfast Holiday Inn
Clayton Hotel Belfast Northern Ireland
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clayton Hotel Belfast staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Northern Ireland
over a year ago
over a year ago
Addlestone
3 months ago

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Clayton Hotel Belfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“hotel has a computer, so no problem if you forgot your laptop. they won't charge for usage”
 of 5 bubbles 983stevey, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Some of the rooms face into a central area and so are very dark - if you want a view (and some light!) you'll need to ask.”
 of 5 bubbles MsMoll, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were 6th floor over a courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles Toro24, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Streets can be noisy Saturday night”
 of 5 bubbles F9768HJpaulh, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Look at another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 128andyg, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay