We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road
See the most recent reviews
Showing 56: English reviews
uk
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

This place is very clean, more like a show home so well set out, and very modern. nice size and we were on the back so very quite. Bed is comfy, place is warm shower is amazing. Tiny tv in bedroom but nice size on in the lounge

 Report
Helpful?
Thank uksayhello
JennieGM, General Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review of your recent stay with us here at SACO Cardiff. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit. Kindest regards Lezley

western australia
Reviewed 16 November 2014

This year I stayed in apartment 13 which is a two bedroom 2 bathroom apartment. Once again, I couldn't fault it. It was quiet, clean and had everything you could wish for. We stayed 10 nights, so the washing machine/drier was very handy and being able to do a bit of cooking is also welcome. This visit I hired a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ella107
JennieGM, General Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Thank you Sara for your lovely comments. I am so pleased you and your mum had a lovely stay in the apartments, and a lovely holiday in Cardiff. I look forward to welcoming you both back to Saco again next year. Kind Regards to you both. Lez

Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Reviewed 8 October 2014

These are very nice and very spacious (especially for the UK) apartments in an excellent part of town, close to the city center. They are tastefully decorated and cozy. The heaters work well and allow for good climate control. My only complaint is that the level of weekly servicing is quite poor. The maids don't replace the soap or toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clayton T
JennieGM, General Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I was disappointed to read your comments that upon arrival the cleanliness was not up to the standard we normally provide and it is a shame this was not brought to my attention as I believe I could have worked with you to resolve your issues for...

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed in the SACO apartments this weekend whilst visiting family. The apartments were excellent. Very clean and had everything we needed. Welcome lack was a nice touch with coffee, tea, hot chocolate, sugar, milk and two bottles of water. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
JennieGM, General Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Apartments, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Caernarfon
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed in one of these apartments for a 2 night weekend break. Having read other reviews I had requested to be located towards the back of the building to avoid road noise. Our ground floor apartment was located down the side alley and not through the main building but it felt secure and it was well lit and even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cofiwlad
JennieGM, General Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, I was sorry to read you had a couple of issues, however was pleased to read that Lezley sorted them out quickly and effectively for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to SACO in the near future.

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Great location, close to Pontcanna, the park, and the city centre. The apartments are well looked after - ours was impeccably clean and tastefully decorated. However, the heating didn't seem to work particularly well and those big, high ceilinged and bay windowed Victorian rooms don't do a good job of retaining what little output those storage heaters generated. When it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael I
JennieGM, General Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of SACO Cardiff, I was sorry to read you had some issues with the heating whilst staying with us, we can provide additional heaters should guests request them. I am sorry you experienced some noise disturbance due to the road, we do have apartments at the back of the building and would always endeavour to...

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I came here with my boyfriend, another couple and a friend (5 of us).. Firstly we was a group of 8 in total, but 2 hours before our arrival we received an email saying that there was a problem and that they couldn't confirm our stay? Therefore 3 of our friend had to book into a hotel (didn't even get...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Emily Jayne R
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2013

After booking this apartment and paying an inflated price we arrived in Cardiff after a very long drive. We were supposed to check in any time after 4pm but we didnt arrive until 7pm. As soon as we walked into the property it was clear that the place had not been cleaned after the previous guests had left - it...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MaXteK
JennieGM, General Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of SACO Cardiff, I am disappointed to read your review, I appreciate there were some issues checking in and unfortunately the Apartment had been missed with Housekeeping. As soon as you reported it, Lezley the Apartments Manager came to clean the Apartment with a cleaner from the cleaning company and both cleaned it to...

Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2013

this is my third stay in SACO Cardiff - my apartments keep getting better & very touched by the personal service in what could be quite a soulless experience. Spotlessly clean - even a written apology to me from the caretaker regarding a stain in the carpet which I struggled to find. Everything is very spacious, fresh, modern & uncluttered....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
JennieGM, General Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with SACO Cardiff and hope to welcome you back to SACO in the near future.

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Lovely apartment on the beautiful Cathedral road in the heart of Cardiff. We stayed here in April and it met our needs though with a few enhancements this place has the potential to be excellent. It is minimal in terms of admin people/reception, though the apartment and premises is clean and tidy with everything you would expect in a modern...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oliver L
JennieGM, General Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your stay in SACO Cardiff, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I appreciate some of the front facing bedrooms do get some traffic noise, however we do try and respond to guest requests wherever possible and if someone requests a quieter apartment, we will endeavour to...

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 km away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
1.7 km away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 75 in Cardiff
2,011 reviews
2.6 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
3.6 km away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.6 km away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#10 of 75 in Cardiff
2,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This stunning restoration of magnificent Victorian town houses provides one and two bedroom apartments overlooking Sophia Gardens and Glamorgan County Cricket Ground. The apartments have been interior designed in a contemporary style featuring a large living/dining area (some with sofa beds), fully equipped kitchen, master bedroom with king size beds and separate bathroom. Two bedroom apartments also have king size beds and additional en-suite shower rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road

Address: Saco House 76 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Price Range: $140 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saco Hotel Cardiff
SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rear apartments, gate access - no good for take away deliveries”
 of 5 bubbles 202carlk, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the ground floor if you want a quiet stay.”
 of 5 bubbles MichaelI746, 19 Apr 2014 | Read review
“make sure you check out the appartment and the itinary, also if you dont see a washer/dryer ASK where it is, we found ours on the day we left in a cupboard outside the appartment”
 of 5 bubbles MaXteK, 28 Aug 2013 | Read review
“I havent had a bad apartment yet - even those with the living spaces facing the road have located their bedrooms to the quiet, leafy rear.”
 of 5 bubbles 662MaggieM, 16 Aug 2013 | Read review
“If you don't have earplugs or you have a child or second person sleeping perhaps avoid the rooms facing the street”
 of 5 bubbles OliverL244, 5 Aug 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay