We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Park Plaza Cardiff

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (695)
360
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (374)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#14 of 65 hotels in Cardiff
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated in the city centre a short stroll from St David's Dewi Sant and the historic shopping arcades, Park Plaza Cardiff epitomises first-class comfort with spacious and contemporary accommodation, ambient lighting and intricate artwork designed specifically for the hotel. Our award-winning Laguna Kitchen & Bar features modern English and Welsh dishes that focus on fresh, locally sourced produce. The on-site Laguna Health & Spa offers state-of-the-art facilities, including an indoor pool, a steam room, a spa bath and an 80-station gym. The New Theatre is located next to our hotel, and you can find many of Cardiff's best attractions within walking distance. Explore Cardiff Castle and Cardiff University less than a half mile away. You can also relax or play a game of rugby at Bute Park or visit Principality Stadium to watch the pros play.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Green
Languages Spoken
English, French
3053Reviews51Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,634
  • 932
  • 278
  • 117
  • 92
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
jonescara62 wrote a review Feb 2024
Llanelli, United Kingdom4 contributions
Lovely and efficient welcome. I was waiting for my sister to arrive and the receptionist got me a coffee by the fire. The decor everywhere was very good including the bedroom. The spa is basic but the massages and relaxation room were good. Everything was very clean. Dinner was very good and our waiter was working hard despite looking unwell. Great cocktails in the bar and as it was friday there was a DJ. He was lots of fun playing music to suit those of us who were 20 something in the 1980s. He went around taking request aswell. It was lovely to sit in a nice bar with mature people only and great music where we could still chat. Hope they keep Tony on weekly. Excellent breakfast the lady cooking the eggs was so nice and its 12 am check out!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Nicola W wrote a review Apr 2022
51 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
We were gifted one night stay by a family member for my birthday. While in Cardiff we had a few plans and the location of this hotel is amazing. So much nearby that ultimately you couldn't be unhappy. There are bars and restaurants just over the road but despite this the noise was contained. Upon entering the hotel we needed to leave bags as we arrived earlier than check in time, this wasn't an issue. Upon return and entering our room a balloon, birthday card and birthday cake was left for our arrival. Such a lovely touch. The facilities were great. The bed was comfy. Personally the pillows were a little soft for me but that's a minor gripe. The only thing I can find fault with is how noisy the door shut and that there was a door stopper behind the door which was where the toilet was located but this meant I stubbed my toe on it twice. The toilet was just tucked behind the door so if was in the way slightly. We didn't use the spa facilities but I can imagine it was amazing. The breakfast we did have and all products were fab quality. Coffee was delivered to the table and not as warm as I would have liked but again that's just me being fussy. Reception found me a box to take the cake home, they were just so accommodating. A real amazing stay. Thankyou
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeremy Da Fonseca, Guest Services / Front Office at Park Plaza Cardiff
Responded 3 May 2022
Dear H9119ECnicolaw Thank you for choosing Park Plaza Hotel Cardiff as the perfect place to celebrate a wonderful occasion. We are grateful that our efforts to make your day very special were successful . Your kind comments have been shared with our amazing reception staff; we are glad they were as accommodating as possible. We value all of our guests opinions, and your comments have been taken on board to ensure our service and facilities are refreshed constantly. Thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
H P wrote a review Jan 2024
26 contributions3 helpful votes
The rooms are quite dated and the spa was quite small so filled up quickly. The jacuzzi was very chlorinated. Very well equipped gym and centrally located hotel. However, I don't think the hotel was excellent value for money. The staff seemed kind.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie Millard, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that your stay fell short of expectations. We appreciate your feedback regarding the chlorine levels in the Jacuzzi, please be assured this is regularly monitored by the team, however, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed our gym facilities. Thank you for your comments about our kind staff, this will be shared with the teams. Please bear in mind the prices of the rooms fluctuate depending on the demand in the city. We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit in the future for an experience to exceed your expectations!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Chander_62 wrote a review Jan 2024
Cardiff, United Kingdom415 contributions154 helpful votes
The hotel is quite centrally located and the main shopping area is within walking distance. The room was large and well-equipped. In the superior room we had a small table with only one arm chair which was rather bulky and the other one was just an ordinary chair. We dined at the restaurant that served the Sunday menu which had great choices and was reasonably priced. The staff was excellent and accommodating both for the dinner and the breakfast buffet. The pool and the spa area with a jacuzzi and steam room which were adequate. Would recommend this place as the stay and dining experience was very pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Shopping area within a few minutes walk
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie Millard, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Park Plaza Cardiff. We very much appreciate you taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor, be assured we will share this feedback with our teams. Thank you for your kind comments about your Sunday Lunch in our Laguna Kitchen & Bar, our roast dinner has always received raving reviews and we are pleased that you feel the same. We are glad you also enjoyed the facilities available in our Laguna Health Spa we hope you have a chance to book a relaxing treatment with us on your next visit. Look out for our luxury getaway package or one of our spa packages now being advertised.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sasa J wrote a review Jan 2024
Cardiff, United Kingdom32 contributions9 helpful votes
Great stay last night. Smooth check in with friendly desk staff, lovely corner junior suite, large, comfortable and with a good shower! Relaxed atmosphere, which is pleasant for a city centre hotel, we enjoyed a bar meal and some cocktails at the laguna kitchen and bar, bar staff were busy (it was a Saturday night) but were a friendly, happy bunch.......we enjoyed a great evening. Our room was very comfortable for a good nights sleep, and breakfast was everything we could want before our early departure. Thank you Park Plaza, see you next time.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie Millard, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff
Responded 23 Jan 2024
Dear sasa1186460, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Park Plaza Cardiff and for affording your experience a splendid 5 bubbles. We very much appreciate you taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor, be assured we will share this feedback with our teams. We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back for yet another great experience, look out for our ‘Luxury Getaway' Package that also includes either Afternoon Tea or Dinner at our Laguna Kitchen & Bar. An ideal gift for any celebration or just an excuse to enjoy another great experience at Park Plaza Cardiff.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ashleycope wrote a review Jan 2024
Leeds, United Kingdom54 contributions39 helpful votes
Very poor experience allocated a disabled room ,when questioned they advised me it’s was because I checked in early,but was never given the option. Air conditioning was not working in room and the room was freezing on arrival. The bar and restaurant was relocated to another area for the day no reason given and not explained either prior to arrival or at check in? Just felt the staff didn’t care and just going through the motions.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie Millard, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff
Responded 12 Jan 2024
Dear Ashleycope, We are sorry you feel so disappointed by your stay. Please be assured the hotel does not discriminate against any sort of disabilities and our accessible rooms have the same standards of facilities as our other superior rooms. We were pleased to be able to provide you with a room earlier than the advertised check-in time, but we appreciate everybody’s preferences are different. We apologies if this was detrimental to your experience, however, we are surprised by your comments as you have confirmed with our reception team you were happy to stay in this room providing the heating was working. As we are going into colder weather, the building and by extension some rooms will feel colder upon entry. I noted that the heating was functioning and did warm up the room to the level required. For further information, the restaurant was relocated for a couple of days for a soft refurbishment. Signs were on display in the lobby entrance, lift and restaurant entrance with the location of the alternative restaurant area also indicated. I am sorry if this was not shared with you verbally as well. I am sorry you felt our staff did not care or were not approachable enough for you to mention any of your disappointment during your stay. We hope this does not deter you from trying us again and experiencing our true, warm, hospitality. Best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
laura d wrote a review Jan 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Disappointing Having stayed several times at this hotel I was shocked and disappointed by the this stay. The hotel itself is attracting an clean but let down by some of the staff. The reception team were dismissive and unfriendly, the promo code for the car park didn’t work on leaving. When I asked for assistance they basically said it was not their responsibility to help as it was an NCP matter. Resulting in a £56 pound parking fee. The room was clean, my sons sofa bed was so uncomfortable, you could feel the springs through the material of the mattress. Breakfast was poor with the food cold and tasting like it had been sat too long. Tables weren’t cleared with dirty tables left and no clean areas ready to sit. Didn’t appear to be enough breakfast staff as they were falling out amongst themselves and looked extremely fed up. On leaving a poor couple had their stay ruined before they had even booked in, they were refused entrance as they were cash payers and unable to pay my card. This may be protocol but the staff were insensitive and unhelpful, an embarrassing situation for them. Poor customer service throughout the stay which proved to be over priced and disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie Millard, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff
Responded 15 Jan 2024
Dear Laura d, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us, as we consistently look at our guest’s feedback to improve our services. We are very sorry to read of your disappointment through this channel, especially as you confirmed with our reception team on departure that you enjoyed your stay. We understand your upset towards the problems you experienced with the pay machine of the NCP car park, but unfortunately, we have no authority over their business. We have merely been granted a discount code to share with our valued guests. We are sorry if you did not feel you could share your disappointments with us during your stay, nor your perception of a disagreement between staff, which as of today, and following investigation, we are unable to concur with. The Hotel has put in place robust financial procedures to prevent fraud and protect our staff. Those procedures include, like most hotels in Cardiff, a no-cash payment policy for check-ins, as advertised on all booking systems. We do not mean for any upset to be caused but our procedures must remain consistent and fair to all our guests. Rest assured we will look at all your valid points of improvement without delay and we hope to see you again soon, as we would love the opportunity to show you the excellent standards of service you are used to. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Hayley T wrote a review Jan 2024
Swansea, United Kingdom10 contributions4 helpful votes
My son and I checked in 04/01/24 - 06/01/24 and our experience so far has been exceptional. Nothing is too much work for the staff and the facilities and room is wonderful with a stunning pool. Cameron in the bar couldn't do enough for my son so we're really looking forward to the rest of our break away. Diolch x
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: It's central, clean, relaxing and the staff are wonderful.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie Millard, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff
Responded 9 Jan 2024
Thank you so much for awarding your stay at the Park Plaza Hotel Cardiff a 5 Bubbles rating on Trip Advisor. We are even more thankful to know you both had an amazing time using our facilities and interacting with our team members throughout the hotel. We have shared your comments with Cameron and the rest of the team, and they are thrilled to have been a part of what made this holiday so special for you. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon for another fun-filled stay at the Park Plaza Cardiff. Diolch o galon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Muggleb05 wrote a review Dec 2023
3 contributions
Disappointed with our stay. Room hadn't been hoovered properly. Hair clips and biscuits on the carpet. Bath had black mould along seals. Curtains had stains. Desk was worn with lots of chips. Breakfast was an awful experience. Milk in cereal urn had turned. Took 20 mins for our tea and coffee to appear, when it did the milk was off again. The milk was replaced, still off. We were not the only complaining. Got fed up waiting for fresh milk and left. Dirty dishes from other tables were being purposely piled on the table behind us. Toaster took forever. Pool was nice but the jacuzzi was broken that day.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie Millard, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff
Responded 9 Jan 2024
Dear Muggleb05 Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are of course very sorry to have disappointed you on this occasion, and even more disappointed in ourselves to have fallen so short of our high standards. Rest assured your feedback has been shared with the relevant departments and immediate improvements have been taken to get back to Excellence. We hope to welcome you back again in the future to showcase our true hospitality. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stanley466 wrote a review Dec 2023
Cape Town Central, South Africa818 contributions116 helpful votes
Good location hotel in central Cardiff, it's right next to the main shopping district. We stayed two nights, watching the test match rugby at the Millennium Stadium, which is a reasonable walk away. Rooms were neat, if not underwhelming. Breakfast was decent. Friendly staff. Terrific warm swimming pool area, and good gym facilities. Recommended for the good location on a short stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: The hotel is right next to the beautiful Cardiff Park, that is large and free to the public to...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie Millard, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff
Responded 3 Jan 2024
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and share your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we do take note of your constructive comments regarding the rooms. We always welcome feedback as we look to improve our offerings. Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back on a leisure or work trip. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cardiff area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$167 - AU$264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
park plaza cardiff hotel cardiff, cardiff park plaza
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouth WalesCardiff
NUMBER OF ROOMS
129
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PARK PLAZA CARDIFF (AU$167): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Wales) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Park Plaza Cardiff
Which popular attractions are close to Park Plaza Cardiff?
Nearby attractions include Escape Rooms Cardiff (0.5 km), Escape Reality Cardiff (0.3 km), and Exitus Escape Rooms (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Park Plaza Cardiff?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Park Plaza Cardiff?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Park Plaza Cardiff?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Park Plaza Cardiff?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Park Plaza Cardiff?
Conveniently located restaurants include Corner Coffee, Bigmoose Coffee Company, and Pasture Cardiff.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Park Plaza Cardiff?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Is Park Plaza Cardiff located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Cardiff.
Are any cleaning services offered at Park Plaza Cardiff?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Park Plaza Cardiff offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Park Plaza Cardiff?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.