We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

ML Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
ML Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 125: English reviews
Start your review of ML Lodge
 Click to rate
Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Check in is across the road and up some steep steps at the Sandringham hotel. Not great when you have any luggage. Then back across the road and up some steps, some more steps and then some more steps. Run down but clean and functional and cheap.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkandEmmaR
Simon6567, Owner at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We do state that there are stairs with no lift. I do realise that this can be troublesome or annoying to some but sadly we have no solution available other than try to make people aware before booking. Kind regards, Chris

Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in room 10 quadruple room with friends for a night out and shopping!! Perfect location next to everything you could want to do!! Spacious room very comfy beds. Only fault was the shower as it was cold and not powerful enough to wash your hair of needed. Very noisy large windows facing a main road! Staff very friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent feedback. I am very happy that you have enjoyed your stay. I will get the shower looked at on your advice. Hopefully we shall get to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Chris

Center Moriches, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This has got to be the worst hotel in England I've ever been too, stairs going up stairs was too small, no working elevator, the heater in the room broke, the lights were going on and off, there was knocking on the walls. All in all a bad experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dillon X
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay. We do have steep stairs with no elevator and this is stated on all websites. The heater in the room does work but will switch off for a while once the required temperature is met. If you had turned it up then it would have come back on. I...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here before after watching Wales play in the Principality and when you have had a long day you just want a nice shower and a place to sleep its perfect. The location itself is second to none and so close to everything you need in Cardiff. You may ask why 5 star well i say give these guys a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John D
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you John for your very kind feedback. It is much appreciated. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again when next in Cardiff. Kind regards, Chris

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

this was one of the worst hotels i've ever been too. they gave us A room at the topfloor while we had massive suitcases. the stairs was soo small it took us over 30 minutes to get the suitcases up 9 stairs. the room floor was crooked and also the beds were very hard and the sheets were dirty. the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zeynep d
Simon6567, General Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. This building does have steep stairs and this is well advertised. I fully understand that it would be very hard with massive suitcases. I do not agree that the floor is crooked. Sheets are professionally laundered but I will remind the staff to still check them for marks when they come out of the fresh...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2017

This has got to be one of the worst hotels I have stayed at First of all was charged £10 for a key. Then went to my room Which was up 3 flights of stairs and not lift as I went there found the carpet was fried and dangerous ties from the ceiling were hanging from the off outside my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hollandmartyn
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Martin for your feedback. I am sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay. The charge for a room key is a deposit which is returned to you when you check out. Other hotels pre-authorise cards as deposits so I do not see a problem with what we do. The lack of a lift is mentioned on all...

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here at the beginning of January 2017. This is very well located, right in the middle of the city centre. This is both good and bad, great for walking out to the pubs and night life. Bad for the access as you need to park in the multi story round the corner and walk. The room was basic, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davidmp8
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks David for your very fair review. We are in the process of painting the rooms. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Chris

Llanelli, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016

This hotel has a city central location, though you'd miss it if you weren't specifically looking for it. It's entrance is one aluminium door with a sign above leading to one of the most shabby interiors I've ever encountered. There is no reception, you check in at the hotel across the road. The paintwork is peeling and dirty, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mamievan
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We shall be painting walls and changing carpets in the New Year. I am glad that you have found the room to be clean and satisfactory. There seems to be some confusion on the room rate which you can check with Booking.com Both rooms were £70 each and then one was cancelled with no penalty...

Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

This is a very basic room, up three steep flights of stairs. Basic needs are catered for but this is not somewhere to stay if you're looking for a romantic getaway or a treat. It's fine for a night out with easy access to town centre, preferably alcohol induced so you don't notice the finer details

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dds1990
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you have generally enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Chris

Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

The ml lodge is terrible. It's run down, dirty , and had no running hot water in sink or shower.i will never stay here again and recommend that no one does.the room was small and just had a bed and small dresser.carpet was threadbare.my wife and I had just 1 cup between the 2 of us.theres no reception.you have to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidReynish
Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay. Each room has a water heater for the hot water and the one in your room became faulty. We gave you a substantial discount for this. It has since been repaired. We have only just taken over the business and we are working on improving it. Kind regards, Chris

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.0 km away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#26 of 76 in Cardiff
891 reviews
0.1 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#17 of 76 in Cardiff
1,163 reviews
0.7 km away
Wynford Hotel
Wynford Hotel
#42 of 76 in Cardiff
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#21 of 76 in Cardiff
799 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.4 km away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about ML Lodge

Address: 108 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DX, Wales (Formerly Millennium Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: $57 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ML Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your ML Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hotel Cardiff
ML Lodge Cardiff, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from ML Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is no lift. Room 9 is very high with no staff on site to help with luggage. Room 9's TV does not have channel 4 or 5.”
270TimC, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“go somewhere else”
lizPu1966, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Get a room at the back if you can”
ji-s-li83, 18 Jun 2016 | Read review
“no suitable for disabled”
C3314TJemmag, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Basic, good deals, single room at back nice and quiet,”
darrenwhite577, 15 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5