We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Parkgate Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (579)
Room & Suite (41)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#7 of 65 hotels in Cardiff
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Welcome to Cardiff’s finest new luxury hotel.​ Echoing all the elegance and glamour of its historic setting, this chic new spot to meet, eat and relax is part of​ the exclusive Celtic Collection.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool with view
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Radio
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Business
Languages Spoken
English
855Reviews6Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 511
  • 131
  • 111
  • 52
  • 51
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Roel W wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
I was banned from this hotel the same week the restaurant manager was leaving. I've been to this hotel many times, and always felt the manager disliked me. Than after a year the ban was lifted. I than booked a room there in August 2023. Stay the night just to find out a week later I was banned again. A lot of allegations were made against me, but the one that concerned me the most was being accused of sexual harassment. I'm now in the process of suing hotel for deformation of character. At no point was I ask if the allegations made against me were truth, and nothing was ever investigated. I believe the hotel manager have a problem with black people staying at the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
MAW W wrote a review Feb 2024
4 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
Yet another failure to spend an eagerly awaited stay in this highly recommended quality hotel in Cardiff to enable a hospital visit. You couldn’t make up the latest reason for failing to negotiate a simple public transport trip from Carmarthen to Cardiff, how difficult could it possibly be? Anyway, if it isn’t regular routine train strikes it is the discovery of a tragic fatality somewhere on the train line!! Enough of my woes, this is a review of the Parkgate Hotel in which we have yet to spend a night. But if the exceptional front desk help from the duty manager Alex is anything to go by then we are sure our eventual visit will have been worth it.. We’ll done Alex and thank you from Alison and Martyn.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Alison & Martyn, Thank you for your 5* review. We are thrilled to learn of Alex's helpful and accommodating service. Alex is an asset to the hotel and will be rewarded for his attentive service. We do look forward to welcoming you to the Parkgate Hotel soon. Kindest regards, Ryan Guest services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
janeegan2022 wrote a review Feb 2024
Porthcawl, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
Such a shame as really looking forward to the 'Lavish Lunch & Lounge' experience booked to share with a friend. The 'experience' was quite obviously oversubscribed, with only 6 heated beds in the spa area, one would assume 6 guests would be the max, oh no, there were 10 and we were asked by another guest to move as we'd had long enough on our beds. The facilities were clean and tidy, however the changing rooms were TINY!! Just two stools with two hair dryers and two straighteners for 8 ladies all getting changed at the same time to share!! Coupled with just two showers and a cramped space. The stress just built. Upon leaving we weren't asked for feedback, I wonder why? The lunch in The Sorting Room was a redeeming factor! The staff were efficient and friendly and the menu choice were great. Our meals were tasty and we both enjoyed! We did give feedback to the waiting staff on the spa experience and were told that they'd heard similar from other guests!! So, if you plan to go for a 'spa experience' I would recommend that you ask when booking how many guests are booked, anything more than 6, I'd think again!!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sara H wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Hotel was beautiful great location and very speedy check in with room available early. Only disappointment was the spa very expensive for what it is 90 minute use of the pool cost £40 per hotel guest! In other hotels of the same quality this would be included in your stay very my disappointed with the facilities.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Sarah, Thank you for sharing your feedback. Specially glad to hear that you had an early check in and enjoyed our prime location.   The Hydrotherapy infinity pool is part of the overall Thermal Suite experience offered to guests in a relaxing environment with heated volcanic zones and massaging water showers, together with our sauna and steam room, and hot stone beds. We recently been awarded 6 bubble's. For this reason there is an additional cost to use this area however I sure you will agree it is a beautiful location to relax and unwind whilst taking in the views across Cardiff. However, its a reduced rate for residents compared to £55 per person for non residents. We hope to warmly welcome you again to The Parkgate hotel in the future and if we can be of any assistance in the meantime, please do get in touch. Kindest regards, Ryan Guest services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kelsey2008 wrote a review Feb 2024
Newport, United Kingdom13 contributions
From the moment I booked I knew it wasn’t going to be a good experience. I was gifted £175 in vouchers for my birthday for the Parkgate and realised you can’t book online, you have to call. I was then told I “had to use the voucher in one transaction” which was fine, however the Spa and the hotel must be done as two separate bookings (was told they don’t deal with eachother?). As I had a £75 voucher and a £100 voucher, I agreed to pay the £6 towards the room with the £100 voucher (as it was £106) and use the £75 voucher for the spa booking. When booking the spa I was told it would be £60 for 2, which was a bit expensive for a simple 90 minutes in the pool but nevertheless. I made the point that it would leave me with £15 left on the voucher, so was there something I could use it for or add to my booking, to which I was told “no, we don’t have anything.” So £15 completely wasted (silly really, as I had to pay £6 extra for the room with the first half of my voucher. A completely flawed system !!) A very small room, no luggage rack so had to sit on the floor with my case to unpack, and breakfast felt like a Spanish all inclusive with it being buffet style and the classic self serve rotating toast machine. Breakfast items were overcooked, and a few other guests at the buffet queue made the same comments about it being a disappointing set up for the “high end” expectations. Dawn at the spa was lovely and so so friendly, brought 2 glasses of Prosecco as I said it was my birthday!! But as comments mentioned here, too many people were in the spa and only 6 beds, so we spent the 90 minutes sat at the side of the pool with our robes and towels just propped on some nearby shelving. Decor of the hotel is beautiful, but it’s more style over substance I feel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: No hotel parking but 5 minute walk from Cardiff Central train station.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Kelsey, Thank you for your detailed review of your stay highlighting both your positive experiences and areas for improvement. I assure you that we use all feedback to work with the teams to improve the service we offer and allow us to work on our continuity of service. Unfortunately, there isn't an option to select monetary vouchers online. Due to the complexity of using the vouchers towards any services in the collection, it is easier to talk through with our main reservations team. Sorry to hear on your occasion it wasn't straight forward. Our thermal suite is a unique facility offering a infinity pool with views across Cardiff Castle, Cardiff arms park and a limited space to unwind, relax, to use our heated beds, you can enjoy a glass of fizz in the thermal suite, relax in our steam room and sauna. For all these reasons we charge for the facility. I will however, pass on your valued feedback with the spa manager. It was lovely to hear Dawn surprise you with a celebratory complimentary drink for your birthday in the spa. Your feedback regarding the food quality in the The Sorting room restaurant has been forwarded to the Food and Beverage Management and I can assure you that we use this feedback to work with the team to improve the service we offer and work on our continuity of service. While welcoming you back will not erase your previous experience, I can only hope that it will allow for the opportunity to create a wonderful new experience should you allow us to host you again at the hotel. We hope to warmly welcome you again to The Parkgate hotel in the future and if we can be of any assistance in the meantime, please do get in touch. Kindest regards, Ryan Guest services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Daniel R wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Bit disappointed to be honest. Used the app to check in. And found out I had a disabled room (I'm not disabled). Room very small. Apart from the disabled bathroom. Then found out the price I paid was £60 more than there advertising today for the same room. I could of stayed at a premier Inn for the same room.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Daniel, Thank you for sharing your feedback. Our accessible rooms are classed as deluxe king rooms and are slightly bigger than the normal deluxe king rooms. All our rooms except suites have walk in showers. We do have a number of different room types which are priced accordingly, and offer a unique design based on each guests individual preference. No two rooms are quite the same, and each is styled around its own features in-keeping with the hotel’s historic architecture. Prices vary depending on when you booked and how you booked. I can see you booked dinner bed and breakfast not just the room. I do hope that you will return to the Parkgate hotel again in the future for an experience to exceed your expectations. If we can be of any assistance in the meantime, please do get in touch. Kindest regards, Ryan Guest services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
edwinaliu wrote a review Feb 2024
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Our stay was truly fantastic! The room exceeded expectations, offering comfort and style. The spa facilities were fabulous, providing a perfect way to unwind. The breakfast offered fantastic amount of choice, and the convenient location close to town made exploring easy. Thanks for a wonderful stay!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Edwina, Thank you for your kind review. So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and felt we exceeded your expectations and took time to enjoy our 6 bubble spa. We hope to warmly welcome you again to The Parkgate hotel in the future and if we can be of any assistance in the meantime, please do get in touch. Kindest regards, Ryan Guest services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rebecca M wrote a review Feb 2024
Llanelli, United Kingdom3 contributions5 helpful votes
Visited the restaurant mid week with family. The restaurant had a lovely atmosphere and lovely options on the menu- we were spoilt for choice! I had the scotch egg for starter and beef wellington for main- standard of food was exceptional. Mass was our server and couldn’t do enough for us, he was very friendly and great with my 2 year old daughter, he definitely made our visit. Will definitely be visiting again
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Beccy, We are absolutely delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience at our Two AA Rosette restaurant the Sorting restaurant. We will share your kind compliments with the whole team - they will be pleased to know that you truly enjoyed your visit and they contributed to make it more special. Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your detailed feedback, it is a pleasure for us to read such fantastic words. We hope to warmly welcome you again to The Parkgate hotel in the future and if we can be of any assistance in the meantime, please do get in touch. Kindest regards, Ryan Guest services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michael T wrote a review Feb 2024
Thornbury, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
My first time staying at this hotel, and first impressions were amazing from front of house check-in (seamless), to the luxurious (Deluxe King) room's cleanliness and appointment. The Sorting Room bar was buzzing when we were having drinks, prices are very reasonable for hotels in Cardiff City Centre. The breakfast menu is extensive and great quality, and the overall cost for my stay was very reasonable for the room I had. I'll definitely want to stay there again in the near future. Great hotel and staff Parkgate management, keep up your standards
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Michael, We cannot thank you enough for taking the time to write such a detailed review, about your wonderful Parkgate experience! We truly value customer feedback and I was delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations and you had such a memorable stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments and we are thrilled to know you returned home with some happy memories of your time with us. I will have much pleasure in sharing your review with colleagues across the hotel who do go the extra mile to ensure everything is just perfect for our guests. We hope to warmly welcome you again to The Parkgate hotel in the future and if we can be of any assistance in the meantime, please do get in touch. Kindest regards, Ryan Guest services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dennis B wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions
First impressions count and it certainly did, in a good way, when entering the hotel and to be welcomed by Ryan in reception, he was genuinely warm and friendly which made you feel welcome. The hotel was spotlessly clean throughout. A nice touch by the hotel was a box of Macarons and a card in our room wishing us a happy anniversary. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of food as was the lunchtime menu. All staff we spoke to were always courteous and obliging. Location is excellent and even though Westgate street is quite busy there was never any traffic noise in the hotel. Our only regret is we only had 1 night stay. Would certainly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: No onsite parking checkout previous revues on safe parking in the city
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Dennis, We were delighted to welcome you to The Parkgate Hotel to share a special Anniversary! Thank you for taking the time to write a guest review, we truly appreciate feedback as it is the only way we can ensure our offering continues to meet the needs of our valued guests. I am thrilled you had a good stay, and were looked after by our attentive team, who take the greatest pride in delivering exacting levels of exemplary service. It was a pleasure to meet you both. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Parkgate Hotel again very soon, where another warm Welsh welcome awaits! If I can be of any assistance in the meantime, please do get in touch. Kindest regards, Ryan Guest services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cardiff area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$203 - AU$358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouth WalesCardiff
NUMBER OF ROOMS
169
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE PARKGATE HOTEL (AU$203): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Cardiff, Wales) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Parkgate Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Parkgate Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Rooms Cardiff (0.2 km), Escape Reality Cardiff (0.3 km), and The Bootlegger (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Parkgate Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Parkgate Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Parkgate Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Parkgate Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Parkgate Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ciliegino Restaurant, Corner Coffee, and Fresh the Baguette Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Parkgate Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre, locker rooms available in the fitness centre, and a pool with a view during their stay.
Is The Parkgate Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Cardiff.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Parkgate Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Parkgate Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Parkgate Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Insole Court (3.5 km), St Lythans Burial Chamber (6.7 km), and Mansion House (1.0 km).