We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ibis Cardiff

Show Prices
#23 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
GreenLeadersBronze level
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ibis Cardiff
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ibis Cardiff
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,023: English reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2015

My husband and I stayed here on our way to North Wales. Wasn't impressed with the room, small TV and the air conditioning stopped working during the night. The receptionist was happy to help us and guide us to places where we could get food, as we had arrived late in night and the hotel kitchen was closed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iqra1
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating these matters accordingly. Kind Regards, Marc Lock

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2015

Fantastic hotel for train spotting, worst place for a quite night - sleeping inside nearby Cardiff Central station could be better!! I made an unfortunate choice of staying with Ibis Cardiff in May 2015. To be very clear this is not the place for sleeping after a tired day’s work. This is perfect place for ‘rain spotting’ sitting with in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Binukumar P
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review

I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectations. I would like to discuss this with you in person. Please could you contact me at marc.lock@accor.com Kind regards Marc Lock

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 9 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Ibis Cardiff Centre (Churchill Rd) for 1 night during a recent trip to Wales. The room was clean, modern and comfortable, though pretty basic. We had a room away from the train lines that was quiet enough to allow us to get a great night's sleep. The hotel is in a great location, close to Cardiff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ShaneAndRobbie
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards Marc Lock

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2015

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dileshk2015
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2015

We booked 2 rooms for 2 nights (One Direction concert :/ ) The rooms are very basic, sleep only 2 so ideal for business really & the wifi was superb. The hotel is located right opposite the Motorpoint Arena. The shower room is a little bizarre at first glance, like stepping into Dr Who's tardis however you didn't need a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julie77467
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable. Marc Lock

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2015

Went to Cardiff with a few mates back in May for a night out. First of all, I can't be sure but my friend said he booked 2 twin rooms and when we arrived we were given 2 doubles! And they were full on that day so had no rooms to change us to. The rooms cost £127 per night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam D
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly. Kind regards Marc Lock

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile

Very basic room. Breakfast was ok. Sleep not good due to group of people shouting in reception at 4 am. Woke up my family and family in room next door. Did mention to reception in morning and their answer was that should have called reception! If there had been anyone there, should they not have controlled the situation to stop...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen V
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly. As communicated in other dialogue, please do feel free to contact me directly at the hotel if you would like to discuss this further Kind regards Marc Lock

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2015

I must confess that I wasn't expecting much from this hotel but ended up being pleasantly surprised. The room was basic but clean. Comfy bed, nice and soft. Facilities included tea/coffee, TV, plenty of power sockets that stay on after you leave the room, handy to charge up camera whilst you have breakfast etc. Shower was small but powerful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taz900
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully! Kind regards Marc Lock

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2015

the hotel is ideally located, near the city centre and very quiet. staff were personable, could not ask for anymore. tea and coffee facilities in room, also had walk in shower which is easily accessible. beds comfortable and no noise from room next door which is a bonus, definitely recommended due to excellent location and price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelha3
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind Regards Marc Lock

Reviewed 30 May 2015 via mobile

This hotel was central clean and comfortable. It is right on the railway line but that is not a problem as long as you keep Windows closed. This is fine in the cold weather but will be difficult when it is warm as hotel has no air con. I had one hot day during my stay and had to choose...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona A
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to ibis Cardiff. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the noise from the railway, which we are attempting to address. Kind regards Marc Lock

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.6 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#21 of 76 in Cardiff
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 76 in Cardiff
553 reviews
0.5 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#17 of 76 in Cardiff
1,163 reviews
0.5 km away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#26 of 76 in Cardiff
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With free WI-FI throughout, a 24 hour reception, the Ibis Cardiff hotel boasts an ideal location in the centre of the capital of Wales. Only 500 m from the railway station and 20 km from the airport, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from Cardiff Castle, the shops of Saint Mary Street and the Millennium Stadium. In order to get the best car park rates, please make sure that you come to the reception first (there is a lay-by area where you can leave your car), so that you can do the check in and leave your bags. We will then explain you how to get to the car park we recommend, at £5 for 24 hours, and it's just 3 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Cardiff

Address: Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2HA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: $74 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Cardiff 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Ibis
Ibis Cardiff Wales
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Cardiff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Cardiff staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Cardiff staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't go if you have a car or like comfort”
OliverChild, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for a front room not by the train track”
HelenC81, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room that doesn't overlook the railway.”
lainie1Manchester, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 5 on ground floor wasn't good but don't know if this is the standard of all the rooms. Was a little shabby.”
paulcS3240SB, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I prefer front of building, you can see the hustle and buzzle....”
vivienweston, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5