We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

524 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
See the most recent reviews
Showing 523: English reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Hotel very clean, staff very accomodating. Very central to shops, right opposite The live lounge which is a very good pub, club with cheap drinks. Will definitely be staying at this hotel in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emmarodz
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Reviewed 17 October 2016

good hotel. Good location at the town Centre which is the main shopping street of Cardiff. Clean n tidy hotel and room. Good bed and clean bathroom. Friendly and helpful staff. Only small drawback is that I was staying one night, Friday night, given a room facing the pub, so it was bit noisy until 2am in the morning

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina F
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Hotel is really central! Unfortunately both windows had no handles. This was also the case in our friends room next door. As the hotel is near bars this meant we had no sleep. Once the music had finished we had pigeons and the kitchen belows extractor fan. Hence no sleep. Night staff left us waiting ages and didn't return. To...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeeBow
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on your feedback to...

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Probably the best travelodge I've ever stayed in. The rooms and bathrooms have just been refurbished. Exceptional standard in this price range. The music venue opposite is very loud but the rooms have two sets of double glazed Windows. With them shut you hear NOTHING. Open them and you can sing along with the band!

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank B9007KLrichardp
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2016

A small simple hotel but has qualities. The location is right if you like to go shopping and also enjoy the nightlife. The rooms is clean, apart from the toilet pressure and toiler sheet needs looking at, but the bed is excellent. Overall 8 out of 10, and would go again.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016

I stayed there two nights in September. The good things; A great central location Friendly and helpful staff Good sized rooms Cheap stay The bad things: The entrance doorway off Queen Street is open during the day and leaves and litter were blown inside by gusts and it wasn't a good first impression. Cardiff has peverse licensing laws that allows...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. We are pleased to learn that you are happy with the service you received, although we would like to apologise for the noise issues you experienced during your stay. Please rest assured we will pass on your feedback to the Hotel, so it may be looked into further. Thank you...

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016

The location was excellent. If two people are sharing and have requested a bed made up, beware! The small bed is terrible - the springs can be felt and makes sleep difficult. A mattress topper would enhance the experience and I cannot understand why these are not supplied.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valwheretogonext
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street, responded to this review

May we thank you for submitting your review of our Cardiff Central Queen Street Travelodge. We are so sorry to learn that you found our beds to be uncomfortable, please rest assured your comments have been noted and passed to the hotel team. We aim to provide a great stay for all of our guests and we would like to...

Portadown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Stayed here for two nights. Perfect location, a few steps to the centre of everything. Travelodge was very clean , friendly staff on arrival. The room was spacious, double bed and a single so good for three people sharing. Tea/coffee facilities which was lovely after our journey. Bathroom a good enough size and the shower was great and especially because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YvonneC007
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Clean and tidy room staff all pleasant. It is opposite a nightclub but we were at the back of the hotel so didn't hear noise from there. Would suggest that travelodge put signs up to remind guest to considerate to other guests as I was woken up twice by other guests be very noisy.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank elizabethpR9017IP
CHENNAI
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Hotel is located in the heart of the city.Rooms were compact,well maintained and clean. It is good place for shopping and other entertainment . It is well connected.It is a good place to stay for people whose children are studying in Cardiff University.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank muralikc
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your helpful review of our Cardiff Central Queen Street Travelodge. We're so pleased to learn your stay was enhanced by the location of the hotel and your room was clean and fresh. We will be sure to pass your valuable feedback to the hotel team and we do hope you stay with us in the future.

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 km away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#26 of 76 in Cardiff
889 reviews
0.3 km away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#13 of 76 in Cardiff
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.5 km away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#23 of 76 in Cardiff
1,110 reviews
0.5 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#17 of 76 in Cardiff
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street

Address: The Friary 36 Queen Street, Cardiff CF10 2RG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: $74 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street Hotel Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We did not hear any noise from the bar, it was somewhat quiet.”
jahnyw, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“4th floor facing the rear - away from the main street.”
999Mike_12, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you get a business room they tend to be quieter, but I think this does depend on who is staying there.”
35HeidiH, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get as far away from the Live Lounge as possible”
  • The neglected section of carpet
Julesbusiness, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not on the street side opposite the "Live Lounge"”
kfa1, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5