We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Royal Hotel Cardiff

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (389)
360
Panoramas (7)
Room & Suite (276)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#9 of 65 hotels in Cardiff
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
In the heart of Cardiff city centre, The Royal is the closest hotel to the Principality Stadium. Just 250m from Cardiff Central train station. All 60 bedrooms have full air conditioning, free WiFi, flat screen Freeview TV's and tea & coffee making facilities. Discounted parking is offered at the NCP car park 250m from the hotel on Westgate Street (opposite the stadium). We are adjacent to the main shopping area with more than 1000 stores and individual outlets. Cardiff Castle is 400m away. Free breakfast included when booking direct with hotel
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Happy hour
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Bulgarian, Czech and 4 more
1719Reviews16Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 695
  • 593
  • 286
  • 80
  • 65
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
RuthH527 wrote a review Feb 2024
Hereford, United Kingdom41 contributions55 helpful votes
Lovely big room and large bathroom. Comfy bed. Room had plenty of storage, a safe, iron and board and tea and coffee. It is quite a few storey's walk to the reception, however, there is a lift, you can utilise. Staff were helpful and friendly. Would stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jon Swingler, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Cardiff
Responded 5 days ago
Dear RuthH527 Dear 932vanessah Thank you for your great review and lovely comments following your stay with us. I was pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you were looked after by our great team of staff. Your comments about the room, the staff and our facilities will be shared with the team. Take care and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future. With kind wishes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Vanessa H wrote a review Nov 2023
7 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
Lovely hotel, everything it says it is. All the convenience and trappings of the usual chain hotels/rooms but done that little bit nicer, and for a competitive price. Breakfast was excellent, the room lovely and staff very friendly and helpful. Would def stay there any time visiting Cardiff. Discounted parking close by was a bonus as we needed the car this time but also close to the train station.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jon Swingler, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Cardiff
Responded 27 Nov 2023
Dear 932vanessah Thank you for your great review and lovely comments following your stay with us. I was pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you were looked after by our great team of staff. Your comments about the breakfast, the room, the staff and our facilities will be shared with the team. Take care and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future. With kind wishes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bill M wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Friendly and helpful staff Very nice and clean room .Central cardiff not far from train station.Plentiful buffet breakfast.Easy booking in and out.Enjoyed stay .Lifts to all floors.Spacious rooms and breakfast area .Enjoyed our stay for theatre visit
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jon Swingler, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Cardiff
Responded 1 week ago
Dear H8555DBbillm Thank you so much for your wonderful review and lovely comments following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that your had such an enjoyable visit and that you were looked after by our great team of staff. Your comments about the room, the staff and our facilities will be shared with the team. Take care and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. With kind wishes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Chris B wrote a review Feb 2024
4 contributions2 helpful votes
An absolute hidden gem - from the outside the hotel looks deceptively small, but once you get to the 2nd floor you appreciate just how large the hotel is. The reception staff were extremely efficient, and the rooms clean, tidy and (most importantly given its location in the city) sound-proofed. Bed was extremely comfortable, and the room was warm at all times. The only slight criticism (and it is very slight!) was the lack of vegan/vegetarian offerings for the cooked breakfast - while the staff were extremely proactive and knocked up a couple of vegetarian sausages for us, it would have been nice if there were other alternatives such as Quorn bacon and sausage available on request. However, we understand that this is not something that the hotel would need to cater for on a regular basis, and it did not detract from the great selection of food available at the breakfast servery. If you are looking for a great place to stay in the city centre then I heartily recommend this hotel; there is an NCP Car Park that is opened 24/7, and is full access controlled and monitored - the hotel provides a discount code which significantly reduces the cost of an overnight stay. All in all a great hotel, and a special thank you to the barman who was on on Saturday night who was happy to serve us despite the fact for most of the time my partner and I were the only ones in the bar!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jon Swingler, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Cardiff
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear christopherbZ1631HA Thank you for your glowing review and lovely comments following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable and great stay with us, and that you were looked after by our wonderful team of staff. Your comments about the breakfast, the room, the staff and our facilities will be shared with the team. Take care and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future. With kind wishes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Andrew H wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Had a long weekend as it was a rugby match, hospitality provided by staff was excellent, Eva made us most welcome with her charm as did all the staff, bar staff although under pressure because of demands coped well to serve their patrons. Room was excellent as was attention to detail by support room service staff, overall we as a family group will give it a 10.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jon Swingler, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Cardiff
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear andrewhD7659HJ Thank you for your wonderful and glowing review following your stay over the Wales v Scotland 6 Nations Rugby weekend. I am delighted to read that you and your family had such a memorable and enjoyable weekend, which, for all of the staff at the hotel, was a an incredibly busy yet very successful few days. Your kind comments and feedback have been shared with everyone. Take care, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. With best wishes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rachel S wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Cinema room would of liked usb plug next to bedside table loved surround sound and huge TV wernt fussed on chairs maybe sofa would been better nice and quiet it was like like we were only guests the breakfast was lovely I liked 3 diffrent toasters
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jon Swingler, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Cardiff
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear rachelsB6902ED Thank you for leaving your review and valuable feedback following your stay with us in January. I am pleased to read that your stay in one of our 2 unique Cinema rooms was enjoyable. Your comments are valued and have been shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. With best wishes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
QualityIsKing wrote a review Jan 2024
Rayleigh, United Kingdom45 contributions9 helpful votes
The location is perfect for central Cardiff. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The bed was lovely and comfortable and the room was super clean. Breakfast was also good. The only negatives were it’s noisy (as with any city centre location). I could hear base music from a neighbouring club up to midnight (but my colleagues room next door didn’t suffer this). My shower room in room 320 had a broken extractor fan and non-heated towel rail, causing an existing damp smell that also hung around the main bedroom. In short, if you get room 319, that’s perfect but if you get 320 you get average.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jon Swingler, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Cardiff
Responded 25 Jan 2024
Dear Koejack Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us. Your positive feedback about the staff and comments are valued. I was pleased to read that your room was super clean and that you enjoyed your breakfast. I was, however, surprised to read your comment about the bathroom extractor fan. The bathroom fans in all bedrooms are operated by a main fan on the roof, which is consistently running on low volume, and is connected to all other bedrooms, including 319. We have tested the towel rail following your comment and have found it to be in good working order. It was simply switched off. If you should choose to stay with us again, I’d hope that you’d feel that you can approach any member of our staff with any issues that may arise during your stay. Thank you once again for your feedback. With best wishes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
The Owl Reviews wrote a review Dec 2023
Edinburgh, United Kingdom121 contributions55 helpful votes
This is my 5th stay here, and each time is as lovely as the last. I go here every year for work and it's always a very comfortable stay in the heart of Cardiff. Staff are always very nice, place is always stunning and the beds, comfortable! 10/10 would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Room 601 is a nice room!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jon Swingler, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Cardiff
Responded 8 Dec 2023
Dear OwlHoots Thank you so much for your wonderful review and lovely comments following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that your 5th stay with us was yet again an enjoyable visit and that you were looked after by our great team of staff. Your comments about the room, the staff and our facilities will be shared with the team. Take care and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. With kind wishes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jen2601 wrote a review Dec 2023
Ammanford, United Kingdom38 contributions12 helpful votes
I booked this hotel as a surprise for my partner after looking for hotels near to the city centre. When I saw the cinema room online it looked perfect for my partner and it didn’t disappoint! Check in was simple, with polite and efficient staff. The room was perfect for us with films and a PS4 with games to play. Lovely en-suite. The only thing lacking was a window to give some air and natural light but a fan was provided so hardly a problem for one night. Cardiff was loud, bustling and chaotic but once in the hotel it felt a hundred miles away as the hotel is quiet, warm and calm. Breakfast was a buffet with staff buzzing around ensuring everything was replenished and were all very polite. We had a great stay and would absolutely come back again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jon Swingler, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Cardiff
Responded 8 Dec 2023
Dear Jen2601 Thank you so much for your wonderful review and lovely comments following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us in our unique Cinema room and that you were looked after by our great team of staff. Your comments about the breakfast, the room, the staff and our facilities will be shared with the team. Take care and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. With kind wishes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Richard M wrote a review Nov 2023
30 contributions29 helpful votes
Stayed here after attending a concert. This is the second time that we stayed here. Nice clean warm room with a big bed, with a good shower, all you need for a 1 night stay. Had breakfast this time which was very good. The staff that we came into contact with were all polite and helpful. The slight drawback are the stairs going from St Marys street to the reception, but its nothing major.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jon Swingler, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Cardiff
Responded 30 Nov 2023
Dear richardmB9596WG Thank you so much for your wonderful review and lovely comments following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you were looked after by our great team of staff. Your comments about the breakfast, the room, the staff and our facilities will be shared with the team. Take care and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. With kind wishes
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cardiff area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$127 - AU$195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal hotel cardiff
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouth WalesCardiff
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE ROYAL HOTEL CARDIFF (AU$127): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Wales) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Royal Hotel Cardiff
Which popular attractions are close to The Royal Hotel Cardiff?
Nearby attractions include Escape Rooms Cardiff (0.3 km), Escape Reality Cardiff (0.3 km), and The Bootlegger (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Royal Hotel Cardiff?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Royal Hotel Cardiff?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Royal Hotel Cardiff?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Royal Hotel Cardiff?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Royal Hotel Cardiff?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ciliegino Restaurant, Corner Coffee, and Fresh the Baguette Bar.
Is The Royal Hotel Cardiff located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Cardiff.
Does The Royal Hotel Cardiff offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Royal Hotel Cardiff?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Italian, Polish, Czech, Hungarian, and Bulgarian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Royal Hotel Cardiff?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Insole Court (3.6 km), St Lythans Burial Chamber (6.8 km), and Mansion House (1.0 km).
Does The Royal Hotel Cardiff have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.