We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Campanile Hotel Cardiff

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Campanile Hotel Cardiff
See the most recent reviews
Showing 240: English reviews
Plymouth
Reviewed 4 July 2016

We used this hotel as a base for visiting Cardiff. (The park and ride is nearby). The room was ok, we are used to staying in low cost hotels, but the bed was awful, no support whatsoever and we could feel every spring. We even tried putting a blanket under the bottom sheet but it didn't work so we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
Swansea
Reviewed 2 July 2016

We had trouble finding an affordable room in Cardiff for one night before our flight from the airport. We settled on the Campanile as at £55 (with no breakfast) it was the cheapest. Bit of a mistake and false economy. There was black mould on the grout between the tiles, the bath was half size and the bed had a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie B
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2016

I really shouldn't moan, you get what you paid for. They treated us well in fact I was taken ill on the Saturday and they did not charge us for the night. The bed was very uncomfortable and I got very little sleep. The room was clean and the sheets and towels were clean. The place is just tired, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandyb57b
GMCardiff, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review

Dear Sandyb57b, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review regarding your stay here at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. We are sorry that you did not have a comfortable nights sleep but we are happy to ready that the cleanliness of your room was as expected and that you were treated well by the staff. We hope...

Reviewed 9 June 2016

Never again, expensive dirty hotel, bathroom not cleaned, food/drinks very expensive, not well cooked, either deep fried or microwaved to death, breakfast at 9 pounds was awful, please find other accomodation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cullthered
GMCardiff, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review

Dear Cullthered, Thank you taking the time to leave your negative regarding the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. All feedback is important to us. However, after reading details of your stay we are surprised why you did not mention any of these issues to our management team. If the room was dirty and the bathroom not cleaned this could have been...

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2016

Great location to meet up for a 'clandestine' evening. It's out of the way, quiet and very well presented in the rooms. There are pubs and shops in walking distance and extremely easy access from the M4.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allan C
GMCardiff, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review

Dear Allan C, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay, here at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. I am happy that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We do hope you will come and stay again with us in the future and the whole team is already looking forward to welcoming you...

United States
Reviewed 25 May 2016

We enjoyed our stay. It's not fancy but it had everything I care about. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff helpful and friendly, the bed was in good condition and very comfortable, it had a great shower, the location was perfect for us. The WIFI worked perfectly. It even offered a great inexpensive, all you can eat made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arline E
GMCardiff, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review

Dear Arline E, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay, here at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. I am happy that you stay was comfortable and that you had a great stay. I will pass on your comments regarding the staff to the team. We do hope you will come and stay again...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 May 2016

We had the room for a fairly good price, but I definitely wouldn't stay here again - everything was pretty basic, the hotel is on an industrial estate so not the best setting to stay in, and the room and hotel looked generally run-down and tired. One of the lights in our room didn't work and when we investigated there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
GMCardiff, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review

Dear Alison H, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay, here at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. I am sorry that one of the lights was not working in your room. All rooms are checked by our maintenance department on a regular basis to ensure that they are maintained to the correct standard....

Brecon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2016

On arrival ar Reception I was greeted by a very pleasant member of staff. He explained where the room was. The building looked like a 1970s throwback to Butlins . ,We were told to go to room 22 but after struggling to get into the room, the very nice receptionist knocked on the door and said that the maintenance team...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abbs1
Eric B, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review

Dear Abbs1, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay here at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. We are happy to read that you were greeted by a pleasant member of staff; however we are sorry that there was a mix up with the room. We apologise for the room not being cleaned to the correct standard. We will...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Stayed here with a big group for Judgement Day and we found the facilities very accommodating. The rooms were very spacious and had all the facilities you can expect from a budget hotel. However the only negative points to note was that the hotel's reception closed at 11 and you had to be quiet. The other thing is that the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jonny B
Eric B, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review

Dear Jonny B, Thank you for review, regarding your recent stay here at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Our Noise Disturbance Policy has been put in place to ensure that all guests enjoy a comfortable stay and are not disturbed by guests returning during the night. The hotel is located approximately 5...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights whilst getting work done on my house and it was a lovely and pleasant stay, just what I needed after all the stress! The room was very clean and the décor was brilliant. Our room was cleaned by a short English women who was very friendly and efficient and left a little card...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank cmwales1
Eric B, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review

Dear cmwales1, Thank your for your review, regarding your recent stay here at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. We are very happy to read that your stay was lovely and pleasant. We will pass on your comments to Sally and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.4 km away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 75 in Cardiff
528 reviews
0.1 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
6.2 km away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
2.9 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
7.3 km away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#21 of 75 in Cardiff
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Campanile Hotel Cardiff

Address: Caxton Place | Pentwyn, Cardiff CF23 8HA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: $59 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Hotel Cardiff 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Campanile Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardiff Campanile Hotel
Campanile Cardiff
Campanile Hotel Cardiff Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Campanile Hotel Cardiff staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Campanile Hotel Cardiff staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room facing away from the car park. Noise from the dual carriageway is negligible, and the shutter excludes it well.”
 of 5 bubbles White-Knight-1969, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“At the back.”
 of 5 bubbles 442LisaC442, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Sleep upstairs with ear muffs”
 of 5 bubbles Abbs1, 7 May 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles jonnyb536, 2 May 2016 | Read review
“Unfortunately, our rooms were pre-booked for us, my advice would be to find more suitable / cleaner accommodation elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles rodders323, 13 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay