Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mercure Cardiff North Hotel

Traveller (96)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (14)

View prices for your travel dates

Get rewarded with One Key
AU$126
AU$122
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#21 of 65 hotels in Cardiff
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
This Cardiff hotel has amenities for business and leisure guests alike. A modern refuge near a historic city centre awaits. The hotel boasts modern fresh, comfortable guest rooms feature and guest enjoy complimentary access to the Leisure Suite, Free Wifi and car parking. Cardiff's historic city centre is only 6.4 kilometres from the hotel. Millennium Stadium and Wales Millennium Centre, and Cardiff Castle, Bay and International Arena are nearby, and the hotel is easily accessed from the motorway network. Light bar fare is served all day in the comfortable lounge area, and RBG Bar & Grill offers delicious evening meals. The complimentary Leisure Suite features a well-equipped fitness centre.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Car park
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
247Reviews3Q+A47Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 132
  • 48
  • 28
  • 24
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Silvie C wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom570 contributions121 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel has great big parking (the price includes in accommodation) and despite being next to the big road the rooms were super quiet.
I really
Enjoyed the modern simple interior of the rooms. The TV had loads of channels available to choose from and AC warm up the room quickly.
The breakfast wasn’t amazing, but did the job with English breakfast (therefore total of only 4*). When we informed the staff of missing bread they brought it quickly, but the juices were not very nice.
The staff was nice and friendly and the hotel was clean.
Definitely recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kyle_Accor, Operations Manager at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Responded 22 Feb 2020
Thank you for leaving us such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience here at the Mercure Cardiff North Hotel. Your positive comments will serve as an inspiration for us to consistently maintain the high standards which you have experienced during your stay. Once again, thank you very much for your valuable comments and feedback and we hope to welcome you back here in the future. Kind Regards, Kyle Griffiths Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KirstyJH3 wrote a review Sept 2020
Boston Spa, United Kingdom63 contributions37 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I came to Cardiff with my 20 month old son to visit my Grandma. The hotel and room looked to have been recently refurbished, & was very smart. The room is lovely, bed very comfortable, loved the reading lights by the side of the bed as well as the side lights. Ideal for me, as I couldn’t watch tv after the little one had gone to bed, as I would have woken him. Immaculate Travel cot provided. Plenty of facilities & furniture in the room, very well designed. Really big En suite with brilliant power shower. Best I’ve known in any hotel. Staff were very friendly and couldn’t do enough, WhatsApp anything you need to reception and they bring it up for you, which really helped bring on my own with a toddler. Breakfast was lovely, good quality meat (only downside is machine coffee was too sweet). A big thank you to Sanjay who helped us both days, bringing everything we needed, setting up highchairs & arranging alternative breakfasts for the little one and even washing the babies cutlery and plate I had taken down to breakfast for him to use. Good location, close to motorway and only a few miles into Cardiff or to Cardiff Bay. I will definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it to anyone I know going to stay in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kyle Griffiths, Revenue Management at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Responded 4 Sept 2020
Dear Kirsty, Thank you for your great review regarding your stay here at the Mercure Hotel Cardiff North. It looks like our hotel met with all your expectations, which is fantastic to read. I will pass your kind comments onto Sanjay. Once again thank you for your 5 star review! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind Regards, Kyle Griffiths Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Welshmantravelling wrote a review Feb 2020
3 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is in a good location just outside the city , it’s external appearance doesn’t look great but we had an upgraded room which was well designed , clean and welcoming , looked as if it had been recently refurbished and perfectly adequate for a 2 night stay.
We had breakfast included in our rate which we regretted as it was very poor indeed. Very limited choice - no a la carte available and the buffet was pitiful , poorly stocked, dreadful quality , with items not replenished unless requested . Eg no bread for toast , no croissants , no fruit , the list could go on . etc Staff were polite and pleasant but appeared to lack training the restaurant needed.
So we would return but would eat breakfast elsewhere
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kyle_Accor, Operations Manager at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Responded 25 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, and the room met with your expectations. I am however sorry to read that the breakfast was not up to your expectations. I have made sure to share your comments with our Head Chef so we can take appropriate measures. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Cardiff North in the near future. Kind Regards, Kyle Griffiths Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adrian Clark wrote a review Apr 2020
20 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have been staying at the Mercure as a key worker, since around the 25th March. The staff here are amazing and have worked super hard to look after us. The cleaners are friendly, front of house do all they can to help and the chefs, despite difficult circumstances,, have turned out substantial and healthy meals.

When they ran short of irons, due to unexpected demand from the number of guests with a penchant for ironing their working cloths, they went out and procured more. Laundry is turned around promptly and rooms are cleaned well. There are also super running routes nearby that follow the river. Quite delightful.

I am looking forward to an increase in the amount of fresh, green, seasonal vegetables to make sure all the NHS and frontline staff, have strengthened immune systems. I hope also that the hotel management will seek further guidance from appropriate authorities to allow the use of public rooms, with appropriate social distances. It is important, for the sake of people's mental and spiritual well-being, that a degree of community engagement be permitted, with some sensible precautions. Being cooped up in hotel rooms is not good for ones sanity.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Look for 302 to 318 for a view across greenery toward the city.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kyle_Accor, Operations Manager at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Responded 23 Apr 2020
Dear Adrian, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Cardiff North Hotel. We are delighted to read that you are having a pleasant stay here during these difficult times. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. I will pass your comments onto my team. Sincerely, Kyle Griffiths Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
crystal326 wrote a review Jan 2020
Bridgend, United Kingdom27 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at this lovely, friendly hotel on 11/1/2020, keep coming back.
Staff are very friendly and professional, nothing too much trouble, not too far from the city centre, food is very good, rooms are clean and spacious, but could be warmer the fan above the door keeps blowing cold air even though you turn it up on the thermostat by the door this is in winter so make sure you have your winter Woolies with you.
There is a ramp going to the ground floor from reception,all other levels accessible by lift, good Access for wheelchair users, though there is a small lip to get into the shower.
We once again had a lovely stay and hope to book again next year.
So do visit this hotel, rooms have been upgraded.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DorotaPriceMercure, General Manager at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Responded 30 Jan 2020
Dear Crystal326, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. I am glad you keep coming back to us. Next time we will pre-heat your room before your arrival. Apology for not being able to do it last time you have visited us Sincerely, Dorota
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deb200359 wrote a review Feb 2020
Nantwich, United Kingdom15 contributions11 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at this hotel on 5th February 2020 after spending the previous evening at the Mercure Hotel in Hatfield. On arrival (after a long journey from Hertfordshire to Cardiff) we checked in and then had to search for our room. Once we located it (after walking through extremely cold corridors) we entered our room to find it cold (not as cold as the corridor). The room presented as pleasant (as in the photo), however I was immediately disabused of this first impression when I found two discarded contact lens on the bedside table. Cannot possibly see why staff hadn't seen these and removed them.

We went to the bar, one of us ordered drinks, the other went to get a menu, none were on display. Asked one of the staff who gave me the menu. We sat down and were given a specials menu. My colleague joined me with drinks to inform me that she had been charged £27.50 for two large G&Ts. Thinking this was a mistake (as we ordered the same drinks at the Mercure in Hatfield the previous evening where we were charged £19.50) she challenged this only to be advised that was the price and if she wasn't happy about it she could complain to management.

I will say the food we ordered, (although it took some time to arrive) was very nice. That was the only positive I can provide in this review!. The breakfast was lukewarm and unappetising.

Fortunately our experience at the Mercure in Hatfiled was positive, so my advice is avoid this one like the plague unless you enjoyed getting ripped off!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kyle_Accor, Operations Manager at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Responded 23 Feb 2020
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Cardiff North Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please note that this problem was a true exception to our normal practices. Rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem. All our efforts are concentrated in preventing future occurrences. I will pass your comments onto our housekeeping team regarding the lenses as i can assure you this is not the standard for our hotel. With regards to the prices, our bar prices are currently being revised. We hope you can give us another opportunity in the future. Kind Regards, Kyle Griffiths Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JasminK261087 wrote a review Oct 2023
London, United Kingdom85 contributions32 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend (Friday - Sunday) including breakfast. It was reasonably priced for 2 of us, the breakfast buffet was good and extensive with cold meats, the various typical hot meats like sausage and bacon, eggs and pastry. Coffee and juices available too.
The hotel is a 10 minute drive from Cardiff city so it’s quiet enough but close enough if you want to head into the center.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The cleaning staff were really polite and professional and knocked during our stay and asked us if we needed cleaning or towels etc, rather than just trying to come in and clean the room.

We didn’t try the restaurant for dinner or room service as the hotel’s menu didn’t seem very extensive however we got 2 drinks from the hotel bar, paid about £20 for a red wine and vodka Red Bull which I thought was expensive and the wine wasn’t good quality either.

Slept amazing though, the mattress was a medium hard feel, the room was pitch black which I love and there wasn’t a lot of noise from the outside but more from the neighboring rooms (doors being slammed and people talking).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking available and free.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Responded 19 Oct 2023
Dear Jasmin, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and found it extensive, offering a variety of options. It's great to know that our location provided a quiet environment while still being close to the city centre. We appreciate your kind words about our friendly and helpful staff, especially the cleaning team who ensured your comfort during your stay. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the noise from neighbouring rooms and the quality of the wine at our bar. We will take your feedback into consideration to improve our offerings. Although our restaurant menu may not have been extensive enough for your preferences, we do offer a variety of dishes featuring specialities from the charcoal grill, such as steaks, burgers, and pizzas. We hope you will consider trying our restaurant during your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. Warm regards, Dorota Price, General Manager hb539-gm@accor.com, T.: +44 29 2058 9988
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dani-Jade K wrote a review Sept 2022
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom50 contributions38 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Reception area was spotless and staff were really friendly and helpful. Hotel is in a good location, it costs between £10-£12 for an Uber to the centre or there’s a bus stop outside. Carpets in all communal areas were badly stained and there were plates and rubbish left outside rooms that were there for a really long time. We had a light out in our bathroom and holes in our bedding. When the people above us used the toilet or shower the noise in our room was really loud! Room was also freezing but they had left a plug in radiator. Food in restaurant was delicious and staff were again, great. Overall, the hotel has a lot of promise if it is cleaned up a bit but I would stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Atanas Mladenov, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Responded 15 Mar 2023
Dear Dani-Jade, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Atanas Mladenov Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian D wrote a review Jan 2020
Bath, United Kingdom48 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Placed conveniently for the motorway, this hotel is a little way out of the city but is very fresh and the staff were great.free parking as a guest was also a bonus. Rooms were clean and fresh, large TV, and with a walk in shower. Bus stop into town is a short walk from hotel and in a good well served route. Day ticket is £4 which makes the distance from town not a costly option. I would recommend if attending a football game to check if this brings cost down further as we did see people going a bus from town to the city stadium get a discount on showing their match day tickets. Breakfast is a buffet although I would recommend early eating as the choice did deplete as it got towards end of service.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kyle_Accor, Operations Manager at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Responded 10 Jan 2020
Dear Ian, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Cardiff North Hotel. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. Thank you for your kind feedback, and we hope to see you again soon for another magnificent journey with us. Sincerely, Kyle Griffiths Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Baz348 wrote a review Apr 2020
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom43 contributions28 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Staying whilst working on CV-19. Due to this communal areas, bar, restaurant, are closed. However guests are being provided with a choice of breakfast items and evening meals (around 5 choices) which you collect from an area downstairs and return to your rooms. The food quality is good. As you can imagine its not the norm for a hotel but the staff are little gems. They are managing the circumstances with a happy smile, a cheery welcome or chat and never seem down.
Think I might be tempted to visit a 'normal' Cardiff after CV-19 and stay here.
Well done to all the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kyle_Accor, Operations Manager at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Responded 2 May 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay considering the difficult circumstances. We hope to see you again very soon in the near future. Sincerely, Kyle Griffiths Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
logan h asked a question June 2022
Can two 17 year olds stay here
Answer from JCWH7
Minehead, United Kingdom9 contributions5 helpful votes
Can a parent book a hotel room for a 17 year old UK? Booking an hotel room requires a contract to be formed between the hotel and the guest. In English law, a contract can be entered only by persons aged 18 years or older. Therefore, anyone under 18 may stay in a hotel room only if they are booked in by a parent or a corporate body such as employer or college
Show all answers
Vosy G asked a question May 2021
Liverpool, United Kingdom82 contributions7 helpful votes
Do they have vegan options in the restaurant? Thanks
Marius Adrian M wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Highly recommend!"
Read full review
Claire M wrote a tip Feb 2024
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check for a radiator in your room ! "
Read full review
Charles P wrote a tip Feb 2024
Sydney, Australia9 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is not included!!!!"
Read full review
Claire M wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Please consider other hotels "
Read full review
mimimacushla wrote a tip Feb 2024
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom82 contributions55 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not stay ere unless your on a diet 1.5 hours for food eventually gave up £3.50 for lime and soda then when I complained a not bothered attitude"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cardiff area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$112 - AU$185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
park inn by radisson cardiff north hotel cardiff, park inn cardiff, cardiff park inn, park inn hotel cardiff
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouth WalesCardiff
NUMBER OF ROOMS
132
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MERCURE CARDIFF NORTH HOTEL (AU$112): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Wales) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Cardiff North Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Cardiff North Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Ants Inya Pants (1.2 km), Howardian Local Nature Reserve (1.0 km), and Rumney Hill Gardens (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Cardiff North Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Quill & Quote, Spice Island, and The Cross Inn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure Cardiff North Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mercure Cardiff North Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure Cardiff North Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Insole Court (5.7 km), Mansion House (2.9 km), and Welsh National War Memorial - Cofeb Ryfel Genedlaethol Cymru (3.3 km).
Is Mercure Cardiff North Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.