We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The St. David's Hotel

Expedia.comUSD 150*
View Deal
#16 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The St. David\\
The St. David's Hotel
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,666 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The St. David's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,634: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2015

Having enjoyed several previous visits to this hotel we booked in on New Years eve. We paid the extra to have a bay side room, having so enjoyed eating breakfast in our room overlooking Cardiff bay, lovely ! At check in we noticed long queues and a distinct lack of staff, and a certain strain amongst the busy staff. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mrs-Devere W
Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

Recently stayed here as a birthday treat from my fiancé. Great location - close to bars/restaurants and the marina. Very warm welcome as we checked in, room was spacious, clean and welcoming, the view was amazing!!Spa was lovely, no complaints. As we got into bed we realised it actually was 2 single beds pushed together which was very disappoint as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chels2306
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cheals2306, Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed the location and spa. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the bed quality. I have acknowledged this and will address this with our team. I hope this does not deter from you returning in the near future. Kind regards Graeme Barclay

Reviewed 27 June 2015

Stayed overnight for my husbands 40th birthday treat in a master suite, beautiful room with lovely views of the bay, comfy bed and nice big bathroom Booked a full body massage whilst husband was in the gym which was divine, so relaxing staff were lovely (one of the best massages I have had ). Wine in room was lovely and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pe02
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pe02, Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed celebrating your husband’s birthday and for your kind comments including that you massage was divine. We look forward to your return very soon. Kind regards Graeme Barclay

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2015

I went here for my year 11 leavers prom on 24th June 2015 and I thought that the hotel looked lovely both inside and outside, also the Roahl Daul suite where the event was held gave a fantastic view across Cardiff Bay. The staff were incredibly polite and were on hand to refill our drinks throughout the night and were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatrinaMarieBaxter
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KatrinaMarieBaxter, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry for the quality of food was not to your liking. We acknowledge your comments to beverage pricing and our prices are regularly monitored against our competitors. Once again, thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Graeme Barclay

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2015

My wife and I were visiting friend in Neath, so wanting to stay somewhere with a pool and a Spa we thought we would try the St. David's again. At £260 for two nights in a Junior Suite with breakfast it is pretty good value, however, it really isn't really what I would call a 5 star hotel. I want...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jo D
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jo D, Thank you for your feedback. We are greatly happy you enjoyed the location and spa. I am surprised you were unhappy with the food this is normally of positive commentary. There have been changes made within the hotel structure and as a result we now respond to all reviews. Kind regards Graeme Barclay

Reviewed 24 June 2015 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed it and was fortunate enough to get the same junior suite (224) its position is lovely and you get a brilliant view of the bay, Molton Brown bath and shower products and complimentary wine. I'm not a fan of red wine so this was exchanged for white at no expense. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matt3947
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Matt3947, Thank you for your review and I am delighted once again you enjoyed your stay with us. It is encouraging to read our team looked after you so well throughout your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Graeme Barclay

Manchester
Reviewed 24 June 2015

Booked this hotel for a one night stay as we had tickets for a show and decided to treat ourselves to 5* luxury. What a huge disappointment awaited!!! Upon arrival there was a sign at the car park entrance saying the car park was FULL and to use the pay and display car park further away. We risked parking outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justusenglish
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Justusenglish, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry the decor of the hotel was not to your taste. Your feedback has been shared with the relevant department. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Kind regards Graeme Barclay

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2015

Beautiful hotel, lovely room... we were upgraded without charge to a sea view which was lovely and included aerial view of coots chasing one another and a swan and her cygnets processing around the small wetlands near the water's edge. We loved the free access to the exercuse pool in the spa and the large jacuzzi and other water pool...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jad632015
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jad632015, Thank you for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and had the chance to witness the wildlife we have near to the hotel within the wetlands. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Graeme Barclay

Reviewed 23 June 2015

Six of us came here for a spa day in June for a civilised hen do. It was a Saturday so pretty busy but there was still plenty of room to sit round the pool and get changed etc. I had two lovely treatments- a facial and back massage. Both excellent and really relaxing. The staff were helpful and friendly....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annabel P
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Annabel P, Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your spa day. Unfortunately we do not have a steam room. I hope this does not deter from you coming back. Kind regards Graeme Barclay

Burntwood, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2015

I stayed at the St David's Hotel & Spa for 1 night in early June with my girlfriend. So firstly to the location, Stunning! Situated at Mermaid's Quay, this is an ideal location to base yourselves when exploring Cardiff. Just outside of Cardiff city centre, It's quiet, full of great bars and restaurants as well as gorgeous views overlooking the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Michael C
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael C, Thank you for your feedback. We take on all reviews and listen to our guest’s responses and your feedback regarding staff appearing slightly robotic and impersonal have been shared with our the management team for training purposes and consequently will be rolled out as part of the next reception meeting. We continue to review and update our...

1,488 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1234)
Viewed
Room/Suite (210)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (195)
Viewed
View from Room (144)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (611)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (248)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Bedroom (48)
Viewed
Executive Master Suite (72)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
2.7 km away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,170 reviews
2.6 km away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 73 in Cardiff
2,992 reviews
1.8 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
1.1 km away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.9 km away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The St. David's Hotel is situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. Dynamic and contemporary in style, the hotel incorporates an impressive floor-to-ceiling, glass-backed atrium that provides a vision of space and natural light. All bedrooms have private balconies and waterfront views. Just five minutes from the centre of Cardiff, St David's Hotel is adjacent to Mermaid Quay with a wide range of entertainment including The Wales Millennium Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The St. David's Hotel

Address: Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales (Formerly The St. David's Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: $163 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. David's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The St. David's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel Cardiff
St Davids Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff St Davids Hotel
St Davids Cardiff
The St. David's Hotel Cardiff, Wales
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#21 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The St. David's Hotel staff and other travellers.
45 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (45)

Questions? Get answers from The St. David's Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with views across Cardiff Bay”
Pippylong1, 28 May 2017 | Read review
“To make the most of the weather ask for a view towards Penarth”
willtravel6062, 27 May 2017 | Read review
“*12 rooms have a view towards the city, *13 rooms more towards the sea”
Greyo, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“rooms of the atrium are quieter”
lyndam794, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Get a room with a balcony that over looks the bay.”
boingboingego, 16 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 150* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 150
PricelineUSD 158
Hotels.comUSD 150
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates