We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,341 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,298: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Made the mistake of visiting Cardiff on the night of the Rugby. Very few rooms available so had to settle for this Hotel. The photos online looked fine (not sure they were actually of this hotel) but once we entered our room, we were absolutely shocked. It was disgusting and we had to pay 175 pounds for the night. Rugby...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolyn t
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I’m sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. The rates do often change depending on demand periods which the Autumn...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Such a shame, this hotel is in a great location in the City Centre with great views. That is it for the positives. The hotel is very tired, and we were in a refurbished room on the ninth floor (910) The clientele of the hotel are dubious and noisy. We had one guy arrive at his room at 1am singing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. Im sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. I am also sadden to read that you found a newly refurbished...

Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I picked this particular hotel, as I was going to attend a concert at Motopoint Arena. When it comes to location, I could not have asked for a better hotel to have booked. It is a short walk from St. David's food court and also central to the city of Cardiff. Firstly, I will say that my stay wasn't without...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StrayEcho
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed elements of your stay with us. Once again I am sorry to read that the room was issued...

Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is located really central. Right next to the motor point arena so ideal for somewhere to stay if you are going to concerts. Very clean. Cheap to stay here if you book in advance and the breakfast is not over priced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank williamsbethan2
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m glad to read that you found staff friendly and the hotel to be...

Swansea County, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Every year for past 4 yrs we see a concert in the Motor point and then stay over night in the Big Sleep, as usual last night was no different 2/ 11/16,,staff very polite and very friendly, room basic but clean and tidy. Towels lovely and fluffy, clean white sheets on bed, good night sleep. See you next year .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clare D
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m glad to read that you found staff friendly and the hotel to be...

Swindon
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Yes this is a cheap & cheerful hotel. 1) staff are fabulous, really helpful & polite. 2) for the price, amazing value 3) fabulous location 4) cheap 24 hr parking in nearby NCP 5) plenty hot water for baths & shower 6) lovely comfy beds with spotlessly clean and lovely bedding. Didn't have breakfast as every other time I have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alibun
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m glad to read that you found staff friendly and the hotel to be...

Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

When we stay overnight in Cardiff we always choose to stay at this hotel. It's really good value for money and the staff are always polite and friendly and this stay was no different. When we checked in the receptionist told us to enjoy our gig and gave us directions to our room. On this occasion we didn't have breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kirsty M
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m glad to read that you found staff friendly and the hotel to be...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a night on business - THE WORST HOTEL IN THE WORLD! Very dirty room, human hair all over the room, sick on the floor, stained beds. I checked out and slept in my car! Hotel charged £68 and that was £68 too much!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Rhys M
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. The hotel would not knowingly sell any room to a guest...

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had to remove all international guests from a number of rooms booked as it was so filthy - dirty beds, mould in bathroom, disgustingly dirty curtains, pubic hair all over the bathroom. The rooms weren't cleaned - any of them!! At all!! Absolutely shocking and there was no acknowledgement by management. Please do not stay in this flea pit. I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank holibob69
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you your group were not happy at the hotel. If this is the group we believe it to be, we...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for one night on 26th November for the boxing at the Motopoint arena. Unfortunately this clashed with the autumn internationals so the prices all over Cardiff were grossly inflated and this was about the cheapest hotel we could find at £179 a night. Despite the slightly tired looking exterior we were pleasantly surprised by the funky reception/bar area....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JMR9698
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that your room was clean, fresh and spotless. I am pleased to...

529 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (470)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (128)
Viewed
Bathroom (52)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Other (226)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (51)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.2 km away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#25 of 75 in Cardiff
1,034 reviews
0.5 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#24 of 75 in Cardiff
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#19 of 75 in Cardiff
859 reviews
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#20 of 75 in Cardiff
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff managed by Compass Hospitality opened its doors in Cardiff in 1999 to a deluge of publicity and. The Big Sleep Hotel was credited as "The UK's first design hotel for budget travelers - Travelodge prices, but with more sex-appeal" by the UK's foremost hospitality publication The Travel Trade Gazette. Our hotel ideally located in Cardiff city centre opposite the Motorpoint Arena (formally Cardiff International Arena) and the new St David's shopping arcade. We are within walking distance of the Cafe Quarter, local tourist attractions and businesses. The hotel offers 81 bedrooms come with flat screen TV's, Broadband access, Wifi, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. We also have disabled access rooms available as well as the car parking is available on a first come first parked basis and is chargeable. We appeal to business, leisure and family travelers for those who don't want to spend a fortune but do need somewhere to stay that's different and delivers big value at small prices. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality

Address: Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: $63 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Big Sleep Cardiff
Big Hotel Sleep
Big Cardiff Hotel Sleep
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
Chiltern Hills UK
5 months ago
Narberth, United Kingdom
poppiecat
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose another hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles X1503EShelenb, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Best to book well in advance”
 of 5 bubbles williamsbethan2, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“for a twin room 507 is great, very spacious & good views.”
 of 5 bubbles alibun, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you must stay ask for a room with view over the arena”
 of 5 bubbles allisonwilliams573, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Hotel has an elevator, so it is easy if you have heavy luggage”
 of 5 bubbles LondonSoul4ever, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay