We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor:This business is temporarily closed until 7/03/24
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff

4-5 Mount Stuart Square, Cardiff CF10 5FQ Wales
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1453)
Dining (137)
Room & Suite (13)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

AU$155
AU$156
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 65 hotels in Cardiff
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2023 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
The Coal Exchange Hotel is a historic, luxury hotel situated 450 yards from Cardiff Bay. The Grade II* listed heritage building stands tall today as an integral piece of Cardiff’s history. Renowned for helping to shape the city into the cosmopolitan Welsh capital, the building is treasured by locals and a must-see for those visiting the city. While its walls were once filled with the ambition and passion from local trade negotiators, its role as a shipping industry hub was left in the past, and the building was left to deteriorate. Bringing a breath of fresh air to Cardiff Bay and assigning the building a lasting role in the city, the Coal Exchange was born, and we couldn’t be more thrilled with the results. Rooms at the Coal Exchange are stylish and contemporary with a touch of elegance and tradition. Our spacious rooms feature everything from large flat-screen TVs to whirlpool baths and free WiFi.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Czech and 1 more
1546Reviews15Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,114
  • 188
  • 127
  • 61
  • 56
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Corey M wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Flew in from Ireland, to visit this hotel to find out it’s closed down but still advertising it’s open. I had no correspondence from the hotel about this. They were still messaging about my stay the day before. I would advise anyone not to book until they sort there problems.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Wait until place is officially reopened
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from David Lecoq, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Responded 31 Dec 2023
Hello Corey, I am very sorry we weren’t able to accommodate you. There was a very unexpected situation at the hotel. We tried our very best to reach everybody staying at the hotel that night, unfortunately there were a few we just weren’t able to make contact with. The messages you received were automated, I’m really sorry about that. I can only imagine how frustrating this was for you, and I really am sorry for the inconvenience. We can only hope to welcome you at The Coal Exchange one day in the future. Best wishes, Shannon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rachael O wrote a review Dec 2023
Goodwick, United Kingdom11 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Stayed at the coal exchange before, so booked again for a 2 night Xmas shopping break! This stay was disappointing. The hotel itself is amazing, the buffet breakfast was great, we had a meal in the restaurant which was nice, but the room was disappointing. There was blood stain on the mattress protector, the bath panel was hanging loose with a nail exposed, there were tiles off the wall, and loose tiles. And the water in the sink and bath was very slow to drain away. When we reported this to reception, they did move us to another room, which was in better condition.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Perfect location for city centre, walking train or taxi.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shannon Mason, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Responded 22 Dec 2023
Hello Rachaelo, thank you for your review, we really appreciate it. I'm really sorry you had to change rooms during your stay, the issues you were faced with are not acceptable. I'm glad our brilliant reception team were able to resolve this for you very quickly, and I'm also pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience in our restaurant. We must work hard to improve our standards, thank you once again for taking the time to leave feedback and we do hope to see you again in the New Year! Best wishes, Shannon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michael E wrote a review Dec 2023
3 contributions2 helpful votes
In Cardiff Bay, not the city center but it is a most impressive hotel and we were so glad we ended up here. Historical, an architectural beauty and wonderful breakfasts and dinners. The staff is great, James gave us a tour of the hotel and we had luggage issues and they were a big help.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Lecoq, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Responded 30 Dec 2023
Dear O5574FJmichaele, Thank you ever so much for your lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, the staff here really do go the extra mile to make everyone feel welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Coal Exchange in the near future. Kind regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lindsay M wrote a review Dec 2023
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
We hosted our Christmas Party at the Coal Exchange in the ballroom. The team wedding and events team were so helpful when planning the party and the team on site on the day were very welcoming and accomodating. The food was well prepared and enjoyed by everyone. The venue itself is beautiful and a must see if you are looking to host an event/wedding. We had a fun DJ and enjoyed our event. I would highly recommend the Coal Exchange for your event.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Lecoq, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Responded 30 Dec 2023
Dear 801lindsaym, Thank you ever so much for your lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, the staff here really do go the extra mile to make everyone feel welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Coal Exchange in the near future. Kind regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Richard wrote a review Dec 2023
Swansea, United Kingdom1 contribution
The first room was water coming front the toilet pipe which smelled and the shower head was covered in grime . The second room woke up around 7.30 am to very loud music . Work men outside drilling from 8.30. To say myself and my partner are absolutely exhausted is an understatement.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shannon Mason, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Responded 15 Dec 2023
Hi Navigator45263803786, Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry about the shower head in your first room, that is for sure an oversight on our behalf and we have now got that taken care of. As soon as you brought this to our attention we made sure to move you to another room and ensure everything was up to standard. I believe my team dealt with this very efficiently, however I do still understand it's inconvenient to have to switch rooms during your stay. Regarding your comments about the noise from outside, this is beyond our control I'm afraid. Kind regards, Shannon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Clare M wrote a review Dec 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
We decided on an impromptu weekend away and were lucky to find this gem of a hotel which is ideally located in Csrdiff Bay. On entering you are greeted by the most friendliest of reception staff, they were very knowledgeable and gave us good advise on what to do in the area. The room we were allocated was roomy and decorated to a high standard with a very comfortable bed. The cleanliness of the room was evident as soon as you entered. Food and drinks served at the hotel are also very good and reasonably priced, Sunday lunch was exceptional. We will definitely stay there again and would not hesitate to recommend to others.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shannon Mason, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Responded 14 Dec 2023
Hello Clare, wow what a lovely review! Thank you so much! I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything we have to offer at The Coal Exchange. One of the unique features of our hotel is that every room is decorated completely different, I'm delighted to read that you loved yours so much! Thank you once again for all of your kind words, we can't wait to welcome you back soon! Best wishes, Shannon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Samantha F wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Loved my stay. Staff where very helpful and accommodating. Me and my husband both really enjoyed our stay as we where on our mini honeymoon. Would love to stay here again. Was just the little break away from reality that we needed
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shannon Mason, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Responded 14 Dec 2023
Hello Samantha, thank you ever so much for your lovely 5* review, we really appreciate it! I'm so pleased we were able to accomodate you and your husband for your minimoon. We realy enjoyed making it extra special for you and we hope to see you back at the hotel sometime soon. Best wishes, Shannon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mark B wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Great experience! Thanks especially to Shannon, who was brilliant to liaise with over the phone and upon arrival. Accommodated an early arrival very well and very pleased with the overall stay. Room was in great condition, as was the whole hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shannon Mason, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Responded 14 Dec 2023
Hi Mark, thank you so much for your lovely review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon! Best wishes, Shannon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
carla m wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
What a great experience, the gorgeous room. The staff went above and beyond, would highly recommend. We are already looking to book again. So close to Cardiff town centre which is great for nightlife I can’t recommend enough.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shannon Mason, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Responded 14 Dec 2023
Hello CarlamR2937LU, We really appreciate your lovely review in regards to your recent stay, thank you so much! I'm so pleased to read you enjoyed your time with us, and delighted to hear you are already planning your next visit. We can't wait to welcome you back at The Coal Exchange very soon. Best wishes, Shannon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Janice L wrote a review Dec 2023
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom2 contributions
+1
The first room was lovely but they upgraded us to the bridal suite for our 6 year of being together anniversary. The room was amazing. Staff were lovely couldn't do enough for you. Food was lovely lots of choice.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shannon Mason, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Responded 6 Dec 2023
Hello Janice, We're so grateful for your kind words, thank you very much! I'm so happy we were able to make your anniversary so special. We hope to welcome you back at The Coal Exchange again soon. Best wishes, Shannon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cardiff area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$162 - AU$345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouth WalesCardiff
NUMBER OF ROOMS
82
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE COAL EXCHANGE HOTEL CARDIFF (AU$162): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Wales) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Which popular attractions are close to The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff?
Nearby attractions include Wales Millennium Centre (0.3 km), Cardiff Bay (0.4 km), and Techniquest (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff?
Conveniently located restaurants include Culley's Kitchen & Bar, The Dock, and Yakitori1.
Does The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Polish, and Czech.
Are there any historical sites close to The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Insole Court (4.9 km), St Lythans Burial Chamber (7.2 km), and Mansion House (2.3 km).
Is The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.