We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

653 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 645: English reviews
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Friendly and efficient staff.Very dated but spotlessly clean.Booking was easy.Spa was good especially sauna.We did not eat in the restaurant but it looked very nice.Bar area limited variety of beer selection of wines reasonable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy D
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your kind review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, especially the spa and sauna. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment programme which incorporates all the standard bedrooms so these will be completed updated. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, possibly to one of newly refurbished bedrooms. Kind regards General...

Reviewed 4 August 2016

once you walk into reception it looks quite nice, do not be fooled! the rooms are dated from the 70's and everything is so old. there was 1 wafer thin pillow on the bed and a really awful bedcover. the room was boiling as it was above the pool and the thermostat in the room looked like it was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gemma W
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, I am sorry you were disappointed with your room, the hotel is currently in the process of a refurbishment programme and all standards rooms will be completed as part of this plan. In terms of breakfast, I am surprised at your comments as we usually have very good feedback in this area and...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

Visited with friends last Sunday July 31st We had an excellent lunch. The restaurant was easily accessible with plenty of space between the tables. The staff were very pleasant and obliging. The choice of foods was good and well presented , portions were generous. We will visit again soon .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mjj742016
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased to read you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch and will be visiting us again soon. Kind regards General Manager

Matlock Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016

The service at the hotel was brilliant, We got married there and Mark and his team made it a fabulous experience. Nothing was too much trouble. We had a lovely ground floor room with french windows that opened in to the garden. The children and indeed the whole family loved the pool. The breakfast each day was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caroldr2016
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased to read you enjoyed your wedding, loved the pool and your bedroom. I will pass your kind words onto Mark & the team who will be very pleased. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future or maybe for your first anniversary. Kind regards General Manager

Reviewed 2 August 2016

WE visited for one stay on the 31st July and was pleasantly surprised by the restaurant rooms, bar area and pool/spa facilities. The corridors and our room is where we were left a little disappointed. The room was tired, old fashioned and it was almost as if it wasn't part of the same hotel. Our bathroom was shocking, shower too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Enlee82
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased to read you were pleasantly surprised by our bedrooms, restaurant, bar area and pool / spa facilities. I will pass your comments onto maintenance to investigate and solve as required. I am sorry the seagulls and the train disturbed your sleep and would hope you will return in future...

Wadhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Sitting here in our lovely room at The Heronston Great Western Hotel after having a totally lush breakfast followed by a facial, sauna, steam room and a swim. Staff are friendly hardworking and attentive. Dinner last night was really really nice. Can't fault the place at all. Any negative reviews are obviously left by either extremely hard to please people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bevster2604
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay. I will pass your lovely comments onto the team. Thank you for highly recommending us and we will look forward to your return visit. Kind regards General Manager

Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed at best western this weekend receptionist very friendly & helpful very clean lush room lush service swimming pool steam an hot tube was awsome had a massage sent me to relaxation me & partner really enjoyed and will definely re visit soon don't know why there are bad reviews as we didn't have a bad word to say about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holls27
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review, I am very pleased you had enjoyable spa break and like your bedroom and spa facilities. I will pass your kind words on to the team who will be very pleased also. Kind regards General Manager

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Stayed a night for a wedding which I must say was fab,they know how to run a wedding. However the Hotel itself is over priced (100)per night and the bar prices well,£4.15 a pint was hard to swallow. I complained to the staff about my matras being knackered and feeling every spring,and the nice chap wrote it down! I stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave O
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased to read you found the staff very helpful and chatty and enjoyed the wedding. Our standard rooms are currently under refurbishment as part of a refurbishment programme. I would hope should you stay with us in the future we would have completed our refurbishment and you will find a...

Exeter, UK
Reviewed 30 July 2016

My wife and I stayed here for a spa break recently. The initial impression was good and check in was quick and easy. The room was OK, although a little dated. There was a double bed plus a single bed in the room which made it a bit more cramped than it needed to be. The bathroom was fine. My...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ExeTraveller
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased you have a pleasant stay and enjoyed your meals, especially your dinner. The feedback given is used to improve standards and service, plus highlight any further training needs, so is always welcomed. We look forward to your return visit in the near future. Kind regards General Manager

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2016

My friend and I came for a spa stay and was very impressed with the hotel, from the amazing three course evening meal and breakfast. The room was very good and clean and the pool and spa were excellent. Would definatlly go again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elaine t
Heronston01, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, your meals and the spa. I am please to read you will defiantly look to return and we will be happy to welcome you in the future. Kind regards General Manager

291 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (24)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (200)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Bridal Suite (28)
Viewed
Pool (2)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Standard Double and single (22)
Viewed
Standard Family Room (23)
Viewed
Superior Kingsize (26)
Viewed
Superior Queensize (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridgend hotels
1.5 km away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
342 reviews
4.2 km away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 9 in Bridgend
620 reviews
4.3 km away
Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bridgend
360 reviews
5.0 km away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
3.4 km away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bridgend
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa is the ideal location for both business and pleasure. The hotel is located in a semi rural area, but only half a mile from Bridgend town centre and minutes from Junction 35 of the M4. We are within easy reach of the dramatic Heritage Coastline and equidistant from our vibrant capital city of Cardiff & the cosmopolitan city of Swansea. The hotel boasts 75 well appointed non smoking bedrooms including Standard and Superior rooms and Suites. Ewennys Bar & Grill is the perfect place for pre dinner drinks or to order a light snack or bar meal. Our Crane Restaurant offers a Seasonal Menu and all food served is sourced locally and prepared and cooked freshly. We are able to offer a range of conference facilities from a small meeting for 2 up to a conference for 200 with all audio and visual requirements catered for. We have several banqueting suites which can cater for 8 up to 240 guests and our coordinators would be delighted to help assist you in organising your event. Our Herons Leisure Club offers an indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, spa pool and fully equipped gym. The pool area has been fitted with mood lighting, the ideal area to relax after a busy day. Our new Hotel Spa offers a range of male and female spa and beauty treatments at very competitive prices. Here at the BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa, we are always mindful that 'our aim is to welcome you back'. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa

Address: Ewenny Road, Bridgend CF35 5AW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Bridgend
Price Range: $92 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HRS, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Bridgend Best Western
Best Western Bridgend
BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa Bridgend, Wales
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bridgend
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Heronston Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“19 is a good twin bed room opposite the spa.”
 of 5 bubbles reddoggolfred, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 63 excellent, large suoerking bed and modern bathroom, quiet”
 of 5 bubbles vlloyd03, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Take ear plugs with you just in case you are booked into ground floor rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 796jaynen, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“take ear plugs if you are a light sleeper”
 of 5 bubbles Y4138JLlindag, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms numbers 41 to 45 and possibly more in that row have been refurbished”
 of 5 bubbles edwardsfamily5265, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5