We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel

Save
Share
Nearby the River Conwy, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AS Wales
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (252)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (124)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 7 hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The hotel is set in a much admired and envied position down a long private driveway on the banks of the River Conwy at the edge of Betws-y-Coed in Snowdonia. We have 16 acres of our own beautiful gardens and we are surrounded by uninterrupted and breathtaking views of the Conwy Valley with its wooded slopes forming the perfect atmosphere in which to relax in peaceful tranquillity. Privately owned, the traditional values of hospitality hold strong with the emphasis on courtesy and service.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Hiking
Canoeing offsite
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
508Reviews3Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 357
  • 93
  • 31
  • 16
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
rosemary h wrote a review 6 Jun
Rhos-on-Sea, United Kingdom98 contributions46 helpful votes
I visited the hotel with my elderly friend last week for tea and coffee I was so impressed I booked for lunch with my daughter and her fiancé and the hotel lived up to everything I had described. The staff are so lovely and the hotel is exquisite with the most amazing scenery I felt so happy and relaxed I brought my 9 month old puppy with me on both occasions who was made extremely welcome we had a lovely lunch very well presented and I cannot wait gor my next visit. I have told all my friends and family how highly recommended this place is and I just want to share this experience and thank the hotel and its staff for making us extremely welcome .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
724nick wrote a review May 2021
Leeds, United Kingdom14 contributions18 helpful votes
Great food and fantastic location. Conservatory style dining room and lovely decking area for drinks mean that you make the most of this superb location. The food is excellent although for the 3 nights we were there the kitchen were in sufficiently staffed (only the chef and 2 waiting staff) so there was quite a long wait at every point in the evening. The Standard bedroom that we had was a bit dated and sound proofing was not good. Suggest query what the room is like before booking. Generally the hotel seemed to have upgraded the common areas which are now excellent, but the rooms ( if ours was typical) are average. Quality of food compensates.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Go for a River view room.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
BigJohn1962 wrote a review May 2021
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom3 contributions
Great place to stay just, staff were very friendly and accommodating the room was nice and clean will definitely stay here again, breakfast was very nice and so was the afternoon tea just a shame about the British weather hopefully the weather improves for next time we visit
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Global636856611Lyn89 wrote a review Oct 2020
Stamford, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
We paid a deposit 1 year a go... Covid in March, on lockdown,,tried to get our deposit refunded,we were told NO we will relocate you to October..within a day we decided we didn't want that...i am disabled and felt we couldn't go....then we were told no refund until the date we should have arrived!!! So the had £180of our money for over a year we have just received it....not very friendly in the present circumstances,and no apology. , I
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Martin Carpenter, Other at Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Responded 4 Dec 2020
We do appreciate the customers point of view however we would like to explain. In 2019 they booked to stay with us for a week in September 2020 which to clarify we were fully open for and certified Covid-19 safe. They then requested in March 2020 a free Covid cancelation for their September holiday and although we were giving free cancellations to everyone who had a booking within the initial lockdown period, we were not doing that for bookings that far in advance, as we expected and in fact did open well before this date. We then on the customers request moved their booking free of charge to a week in October, unfortunately Wales then went back into a local lockdown. Once this had been confirmed by the Welsh government we offered free moves, vouchers or refunds to every customer who had a booking within this second period along with this customer. The customers money was refunded to their credit card in full, which of course costs us money and like all businesses though we held their deposit for many months we didn't receive any interest on it. These have been very difficult and unprecedented times but we do feel we have treated this and all of our customers as fairly as we could under the circumstances that were forced upon us. All new bookings since July 2020 have a free Covid-19 cancelation policy.
Read more
JenniferStar3000 wrote a review Oct 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom10 contributions13 helpful votes
Absolutely amazed by this hotel! We stayed in one of the hot tub rooms, and wow, what a treat! View of the river from the room balcony stunning, such a gorgeous location. One of the best places we've ever stayed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 171 - USD 207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
craig-y-dderwen hotel betws-y-coed, craig y dderwen riverside hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesNorth WalesSnowdonia National ParkBetws-y-Coed
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel?
Nearby attractions include St. Michael's Old Church (1.0 km), St. Mary's Church (1.0 km), and Conwy Valley Railway Museum & Model Shop (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hangin' Pizzeria, Olif, and Ty Gwyn Hotel Restaurant.
Are pets allowed at Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Michael's Old Church (1.0 km), Ty Mawr Wybrnant (4.9 km), and Gorsedd Stone Circle (6.3 km).
Does Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.