We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Witchingham Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Witchingham Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 80: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

what can i say the most unpleasant stay i have ever had thank goodness it was only one night the owner wasn't staying on the premises and i don't blame her she just handed the key over and left. the room we was given smelled damp and when i got into bed the bed was damp the breakfast was just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went there just before Christmas. The B&B was charming and lovely decorated. I felt really like at home, which was welcomed after a long journey. I spent the night there with my cat who felt good in the room too. The room is clean and well presented. Eating in the room is not allowed, you have to use the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FoodieOnTheRoads
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A beautiful good size room for two, at amazing location just round the corner from the local attractions. Breakfast available whole day in help "yourself style", fresh fruit, breakfast cereals, bread, jams, coffee and teas. The owners are very nice people who gave us loads of information about the area, recommended beautiful walks and where to eat. Lovely place and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gwjardim
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

Very close to the sea. Beautiful surroundings. Immaculate condition. After traveling for a month in UK and Europe this was the first host who actually welco m wd us personally. She was kind and considerate with a lively sense of humor. He cat was beautiful too. It came to visit us which we didn't mind at all. Highly recommend this.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gwenmh2611
Pulham Market, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Several issues which I have mentioned and had no response from the owner. Additional charge was taken from my credit card for my dog (wasn't advised this was happening) shared bathroom very untidy with towels/toiletries on floor, toilet not flushed. Unable to find host for additional blanket as room cold.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dustyollie
Claire R, Owner at Witchingham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thankyou for your candid comments. This is the first time that I have heard these complaints. We clean the shared bathroom every morning so I am very sorry that you found the bathroom in the state that you did. We don't usually have a problem with this as guests are usually considerate to other users. We are happy to accept...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend and I spent a few nights here in July. The room was great and had everything in we needed. There was nobody at the B&B when we arrived, however that evening one of the ladies visited us in the room and we had a nice chat. There isn't a lot in the area, there is a small town...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Queen137
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Got this b&b on booking.com last minute for £64! Got a room with a private bathroom as I'm not really keen on sharing even though I did have a peek in the shared bathroom and it was spotless! Room was so pretty and actually had quite a lot of the same accessories in my home! Bathroom was modern and clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tamsin W
Claire R, Owner at Witchingham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind comments! I apologise for the lack of teabags, these are usually filled every day when we clean the rooms so a mistake has been made. Thankyou for letting me know about the mirror light, there seems to be an ongoing problem with it unfortunately. I will ask the electrician to have another look at it. We...

Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

I booked into this hotel. I arrived late night, absolutely great service nice clean room. Very cosy and comfy. Most hotels normally make sure your out by check out time, I was probably half hr late checking out. No problems at all. As I left this morning to my left was the sea. Wat a beautiful view and lovely sunny...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Delboyhehe
Claire R, Owner at Witchingham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments, hope to see you again soon. Best regards Claire

Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel was very comfortable, clean with a great on suite and minutes from the port we were traveling from the next day. Because the hotel is normally self contained there is no one to meet you at reception. Due to a mix up the key to let us in the front door was not there and ourselves along with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allan W
Claire R, Owner at Witchingham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments. Unfortunately, I am not always available to greet guests as arrivals can be anything from 12 noon to midnight. I do rely on my cleaning staff to leave envelopes out for the guests when I am not available and on this occasion they forgot to. I can only apologise profusely for the huge inconvenience that...

County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

A nice clean room, with a view, unfortunately the weather was not the best when we went but the BnB is in a great neighbourhood and close to the city centre, and beside the beach, I would recommend it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniela M
Claire R, Owner at Witchingham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments Regards Claire

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holyhead hotels
8.6 km away
Hotel Cymyran
Hotel Cymyran
#2 of 2 in Holyhead
289 reviews
0.2 km away
Wavecrest
Wavecrest
#4 of 27 in Holyhead
115 reviews
0.5 km away
The Boathouse Hotel
The Boathouse Hotel
#6 of 27 in Holyhead
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Blackthorn Farm
Blackthorn Farm
#1 of 27 in Holyhead
252 reviews
0.2 km away
Crossroads Guest House
Crossroads Guest House
#2 of 27 in Holyhead
103 reviews
0.6 km away
Beach Hut Guest House
Beach Hut Guest House
#7 of 27 in Holyhead
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Witchingham is a clean, friendly and comfortable Guest House within walking distance of the Port of Holyhead, Holyhead train station, Holyhead Marina and Sailing Club, the town of Holyhead many local restaurants and café and the Anglesey Coastal Path. It can be easily found from the main A55 route into Holyhead. Facilities provided. The Witchingham provides clean and comfortable accommodation. All the rooms have Wireless Internet access on request and are en-suite (with the exception of one single room which has a shared bathroom), with tea and coffee making facilities, digital TV and towels in all rooms. There is a large dining area and a large off-road gated parking area for those who require it. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Witchingham Bed & Breakfast

Address: 20 Walthew Avenue, Holyhead LL65 1AF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Holyhead
Price Range: $80 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Witchingham Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Witchingham Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Witchingham Bed & Breakfast Holyhead, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Witchingham Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Single room very small with oversize wardrobe not necessary.”
 of 5 bubbles Dustyollie, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Do not book here!”
 of 5 bubbles quilt2016, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If you wish to shower, there is a string to pull "well before" you can actually shower.”
 of 5 bubbles bigpictureteam, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“It is a quiet neighborhood, so I think any room would be good.”
 of 5 bubbles 226julieannec, 1 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Top floor room is nice, but be aware is you have heavy luggage. There is no lift.”
 of 5 bubbles 37sharync, 16 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay