We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Angel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Angel
The Angel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

807 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Angel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 801: English reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

Beautiful place, rooms were spotless, with lovely big beds!! Bathrooms were clean and airy and was a freshness about the whole hotel!! Staff were incredibly friendly, down to the warm welcome at reception to the lovely cleaning lady who asked if was ok to continue hoovering while I had a very early morning coffee!!! We had a lovely meal in...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Thomasrhiannon
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review. Our Sunday Slumber break is very popular and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay as well as dinner in the Cellar. We hope to welcome you back to The Angel again in the near future. Kind regards, Charlotte Griffiths

Puerto de la Cruz, Spain
Reviewed 19 October 2015

We had a superior room which was very comfortable. Bathroom and fittings all of a very good quality. Breakfast very good, the atmosphere in the breakfast room a little stuffy and dull. Overall a lovely hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jane B
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to read you found your superior room very comfortable with good quality bathroom fittings. It is a shame you felt the breakfast room was stuffy and dull yet I am delighted you enjoyed your breakfast. We hope to welcome you back to The Angel in the future. Kind regards,...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night before heading to Cardiff for the RWC.. I wish we could have stayed for longer . All the staff in the hotel were so friendly and helpful , especially the 2 boys tending the bar . The room we had was beautiful and the bed divine . This is a 3 star...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank 6marcus
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with friendly staff, and you had a beautiful bedroom. We hope to welcome you back to The Angel again in the near future. Kind regards, Charlotte Griffiths

Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2015

We had a very pleasant stay at the Angel. Staff (without exception) were welcoming, friendly, and helpful. No trouble carrying our luggage in for us from the carpark, no trouble getting taxis for us, no trouble fixing the door handle when it wouldn't work. You can get breakfast up until lunchtime. Room was clean, spacious and with all the usual...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TheLesserMerlin
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to read you had a pleasant stay at The Angel, with welcoming, friendly, and helpful staff, good cooking and wines with excellent service. We hope to welcome you back to The Angel in the future. Kind regards, Charlotte Griffiths]

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2015

A one night stay, however as it more than lived up to expectations we will be back. The room was well furnished, spotless and comfortable. The day areas were well lit, even though it is an old building it had a modern feel. It was being used by business people and we were there for relaxation, there was plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank hakunamatatadragon
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted to read The Angel more than lived up to expectations and the staff were helpful and friendly. We hope to welcome you back to The Angel again in the future. Kind regards, Charlotte Griffiths

Letchworth Garden City
Reviewed 10 October 2015

The room we had, with lovely four-poster, sofa, two desks, was very comfortable. The restaurant served lovely food - grouse was good - and the waiters/waitresses were extremely pleasant, which I think is indicative of a good establishment with good values. Two or three of them went out of their way to make us comfortable. The bar felt like a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paul T
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed our deluxe four poster, the lovely food in our Oak Room restaurant, and our team of staff were extremely pleasant. We hope to welcome you back to The Angel again in the future. Kind regards, Charlotte Griffiths

somerset
Reviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile

I am not a fan of 'olde English' hotels, but the Angel has won me over. Immaculately kept, beautifully furnished, excellent staff and perfectly adequate rooms. We did not eat at the hotel other than for breakfast (which was excellent) as we had come to Abergavenny to visit the Walnut Tree. The bed was very comfortable and we expected the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank wildswimmer2010
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. What a pleasure to read The Angel has won you over with excellent staff, perfectly adequate rooms, beautifully furnished and immaculately kept. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Angel in 2016. Kind regards, Charlotte Griffiths

Reviewed 3 October 2015 via mobile

Very good hotel, bedroom was very nice & comfortable just a pity about small bathroom but apart from, we had food in restaurant with was very good with a good selection of sea food that a really relaxing evening goodnight sleep & a good breakfast in the morning to send you on your way , definitely be back again that...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Leslie D
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your bedroom, food in The Oak Room restaurant was good followed by breakfast in the morning. We hope to welcome you back to The Angel again in the near future. Kind regards, Charlotte Griffiths

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2015

An absolutely DELIGHTFUL hotel. We stayed in a tastefully decorated, quiet, well appointed, spacious deluxe room No:29). Very comfortable bed with luxuriously soft linen and clever flexible spot-lights built into the headboard, so if one person is reading, it doesn't disturb the other person trying to sleep. Both the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean ( but could have done...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Alex J
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review. It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed your bedroom, fast room service, great choice of food / beverages, and a good breakfast in the morning. I have noted your comments regarding the towels. It is a hotel standard to offer help with luggage, however I am...

Pontypridd
Reviewed 29 September 2015

We stayed for 1 night on a busy Saturday in a deluxe room. The accommodation was very spacious and of a high standard. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel had a calming atmosphere which made you feel relaxed. We even got a complimentary taxi to the excellent Walnut Tree restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Armagnac123
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted to read you had a very pleasant stay and you enjoyed your evening meal at our sister property; The Walnut Tree. We hope to welcome you back to The Angel again in the near future. Kind regards, Charlotte Griffiths

562 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (88)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (56)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (367)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Castle Cottage (110)
Viewed
Executive Room (59)
Viewed
News Room (90)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (107)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (38)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
6.9 km away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
465 reviews
9.8 km away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
15.0 km away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 km away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
835 reviews
0.3 km away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 31 in Abergavenny
143 reviews
0.2 km away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 31 in Abergavenny
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Afternoon Tea at the Angel
Afternoon Tea at the Angel
Cuisines: British, Welsh
The Oak Room
The Oak Room
Cuisines: British, Welsh
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stylish hotel and place to eat in the Brecon Beacons. Winner of The Tea Guild's prestigious Top City, Country Hotel Tea Award 2011 and AA Hotel of the Year Wales 2016/2017. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Angel

Address: 15 Cross Street, Abergavenny NP7 5EN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Price Range: $142 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Abergavenny
Angel Hotel Abergavenny
The Angel Abergavenny, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Angel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Caerleon, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Angel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go to another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Bottleofpils, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“When I booked the staff were really helpful about facilities and room location - we needed walk in shower and lift access.”
 of 5 bubbles R0sB, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“not near the staircase”
 of 5 bubbles C534, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are furnished to a good standard”
 of 5 bubbles UKfamilyWindsor, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 5 certainly met our expectations.”
 of 5 bubbles croesty, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5