We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Kings Head Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Kings Head Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 109: English reviews
United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Well what can I say? We turned up not expecting much at all after reading the reviews on here, however I am happy to say I was wrong. There are two entrances to the hotel, one is through the bar, the second one is further along, and the door leads into the restaurant where check in is. We turned up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DebsLynn
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Despite being above a pub this hotel is quite charming. The room wasn't huge but was very homely and comfortable and the bathroom was very clean and modern. As it was a friday there was entertainment in the bar and we had few drinks and watched which was fun. All the staff we encountered were lovely, especially the lady that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan D
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Upon arrival we entered via the pub section of the building, and waited for 5 minutes before being acknowledged. We were then directed into the restaurant next door to check in and then directed to our room. The room....was cold on arrival and extremely cramped, the bathroom was small and the shower had patches of mould. The bed was too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
Hawkhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Access to the hotel was through a very noisy and grubby pub on the ground floor, with no obvious reception and we discovered on arrival they had a band playing that night till 11.45pm so had to listen to the thump thump til midnight. The room was reasonable, but the matress was very uncomfortable, the bathroom was very poor. Plastic...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sarajaneclark
Caerwent, Wales
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Friends booked this for us a while ago as we were all meeting up for a night out together. The price was meant to be £79, but checking in it was explained that because there were two of us that the price was £95. But as our friends were not around to verify the figure of £79, we just went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhidian
Babu N, General Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rhidian, Thank you for finding time to review us. Just to remind you that your friend has paid full family room price which is £125 for three people if you know your friend truly. Your double room was booked as single occupancy rate which is £79, So for us to allow two people in double room we need to...

Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Stayed the 16 December booked 3 rooms very nice clean and the staff were very friendly and helpfull the full Welsh breakfast was lovely well presented will be staying again.the hotel is situated in the middle of town next to the theatre the hotel has a lovely restaurant ware we had dinner very good food

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Malstaff
Babu N, General Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to leave a review. We are pleased that you really enjoyed staying at Kings Head and had lovely breakfast and dinner. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Kings Head again in the future. Best Regards Babu

North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2016

We had an overnight stay. The location of this hotel is excellent. What a lovely town Abergavenny is. The reception is in the restaurant which seemed a bit odd but worked perfectly. The rooms were clean, bright and the beds very comfy indeed. We all had a good nights sleep before we carried on with our journey. We ate in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dirkjoy
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

This 'hotel' is basically a pub with rooms. Check in is awkward as you have to go into the adjacent restaurant and if people are eating it's not ideal. The communal hallways are clean enough but the room was not so good. Behind the bedside table I found biscuit wrappers, hair clips and a thick layer of dust. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bridlad
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

Had a very pleasant evening with Kelly at the Bar! Reasonably priced beer, food is available in the adjoining restaurant, I particularly enjoyed Kelly singing to the juke box. Tracey Chapman "Fast Car" a speciality!!!! Recommend a visit....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew M
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2016

Stayed at this very central hotel in Abergavenny for one night. Staff were all helpful and friendly. Rooms spotlessly clean. Had a snack in the bar on arrival which was tasty. We were tempted by the restaurant in the evening serving Indian and Nepalese cuisine and we were not disappointed, again service with a smile and superb food. Would certainly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sue12345678

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
0.1 km away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
807 reviews
7.0 km away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
466 reviews
9.8 km away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 31 in Abergavenny
275 reviews
0.4 km away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 31 in Abergavenny
143 reviews
5.0 km away
Llanwenarth Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kings Head Hotel is a 16th C coaching inn situated in the centre of Abergavenny. All rooms have en suite shower rooms, colour television and hostess trays. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Address: 59/60 Cross Street, Abergavenny NP7 5EU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Price Range: $106 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Head Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your The Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King`s Head Hotel Abergavenny
Kings Head Abergavenny
The Kings Head Hotel Abergavenny, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Kings Head Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Bradford, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Head Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Second floor over looking the back”
 of 5 bubbles DebsLynn, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you want peace and quiet don't stay on a Saturday night and take your own toiletries.”
 of 5 bubbles sarajaneclark, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't go through Booking.com or such like - e-mail the Manager direct for a good deal he is very helpful.”
 of 5 bubbles penndav09, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a room at the back if you're not into bar singers...”
 of 5 bubbles BUSTYBIRD, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“there is no good room i was moved 3 times”
 of 5 bubbles 829letitiap, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5