We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Menai Bank Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Menai Bank Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 180: English reviews
Start your review of Menai Bank Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with friends for our trip to Snowdon. What a wonderful little place! Yes the building is old but it's Victorian so we expected the rooms to be slightly dated etc but we loved our stay here! The rooms were a great size with lovely ensuites. We were told the old plumbing meant we may not...

Thank shelly2391
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

What can we say...you are giving us "swelled heads":-). Seriously though,- a great review which makes everyone's efforts here worthwhile.... doing their best to look after you all. Just waiting for a warm dry spell now to freshen up paintwork outside,- soon we hope :-)

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and partner booked this hotel with booking . Com big mistake. I requested a ground floor room for disabled because I have lung cancer when we arrived we were welcomed by The owner Pat to our horror we were told the hotel was not disability friendly and there was no ground floor rooms available . So we had to...

Thank brian h
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

You know you were told when checking in that this hotel is DDA exempt simply because of the steep slope from the Car Park to the entrance which is not suitable for disabled persons. This is clearly stated on our access statement on front page of our website. At that point I could see you were clearly struggling to cope...

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2016

My wife and I stayed here at the booking of a hostel that overbooked. We had a pleasant old room that was comfortable. In the morning we had breakfast served by the man who runs the inn. There was great coffee and a good selection of continental items. You have free parking as well.

Thank Vincent S
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and delighted you enjoyed our great choice of freshly ground coffee(Cappuccinos. Lattes etc.) to order as well as the selection from the Buffet. Many of the old rooms are "old" (Some c.1860!) but as you pointed out they are comfortable and all en-suite. Thanks again for reviewing us.

Accrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

We only Stayed for 1 night. Was disappointed that you had too pay for wifi. £2. Room was large with 2 single beds in. Bit dated though and very little parking. Good view from the front though. Would stay again just for the night.

Thank tjl80
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Wifi is now supplied by an Ofcom regulated operator that meets with legislative requirements for security and privacy. (Paid Access) £2 for 24hrs. or £9 for a week We no longer supply a free access code to an unregulated unsecured router. Read why not on North Wales Police website and many other sources. This is clearly stated on our own...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Was met with the very friendly hotelier who welcomed us warmly and gave us an update on Caernarfon and what things were there to visit. He was lovely. The room was nice. The decor was slightly tired but that's really not something to complain about. The bed was very comfortable and the amenities were really good. In such a good...

Thank Leachy141
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

We have consciously kept the room price down and we know we offer the most competitive room rates for this area. So we are delighted that you found the prices reasonable. Admittedly we would love to lavish out on the "tired room" for but then the price would have to go up!! Every year we re-decorate a few at a...

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Room at the front with a huge bed,en suite, tea making facilities but over and above others they supplied a jar of coffee, and such niceties as bottle of soap, shampoo,conditioner,cotton wool balls and cotton buds, but of the room the best is the settee where we sat and watched the tide rise or fall and the sunset was unforgettable....

Thank Mikey P
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Yes,- it's hard to beat the views from those rooms facing Anglesey and the sunsets over the Menai Strait. That's why we have the armchairs and couches in some of them. In the Summer you can sit out on the terrace off the bar and take advantage also of those lovely long Summer evenings. Thanks for taking the time to...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights in September. Would definitely recommend staying at the Menai Bank Hotel. The rooms at the front have stunning views towards Anglesey. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable and most of all, competitively priced. Patrick was friendly and welcoming, made our stay just that bit more special.

Thank keith j
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to give us a favourable review. We liked the fact you particularly thought we were competitively priced for this type of small licensed hotel. Thanks again.

Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Lovely bed and breakfast, clean, tidy and less than 10min walk to town centre. Felt breakfast was a bit pricey at £9 each so chose to eat ib town. Really enjoyed our stay tho and will definitely go back.

Thank janehammond
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We've priced the Breakfast to take into account the extensive menu we provide and there are no hidden extra charges if you have extra anything, e.g. extra Cappuccinos etc. The price also takes into account the new minimum labour cost increases recently announced by the Government. MENU: STARTERS: Apple or Orange Juice, Grapefruit Segments, Peaches, Prunes,...

Reviewed 21 August 2016

well positioned hotel, we upgraded to a front room over looking the bay, well worth it, large comry room king size bed and well stocked bar, ideal location for the town, free parking a bonus, would stay again

Thank Keith B
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your front room with the view. Yes that view is "different" every day...even spectacular with cloudy sunsets. That Bay is actually the Menai Strait which is a stretch of water between the island of Anglesey and the mainland. When you look to your left you can see the entrance to the Strait from the Irish Sea. Where...

Winsford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Patrick was very friendly and helpful. The view was only spoiled by the large supermarket entrance opposite the hotel, but not too bad. The room was great with a huge bed, but the only heating was a small electric heater. OK at this time of year but could be a problem in colder weather. The breakfast was OK, small cooked...

Thank Steve W
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this review

Interesting comment on the Breakfast! Our standard serving is two slices of Bacon, One or Two eggs,(done to your taste ,fried, scrambled, poached, etc.) Sausage, Tomato, Beans, Mushrooms. Added to this there is the option on the menu to have Black Pudding and Fried Bread. Now if anyone needs more we are only too glad to add more ...it's not...

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (23)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Room/Suite (7)
Bathroom (2)
Dining (1)
View from Room (1)
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (24)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Room/Suite (9)
Dining (2)
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caernarfon hotels
0.6 km away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,238 reviews
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
0.4 km away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
142 reviews
7.1 km away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
407 reviews
2.9 km away
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Menai Bank Hotel

Address: North Road | Gwynedd, Caernarfon LL55 1BD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Price Range: $102 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Menai Bank Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Menai Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menai Bank Hotel Caernarfon, Wales
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#5 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#6 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Menai Bank Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Menai Bank Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not telling as I don't want everyone getting our favourite room”
, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request a front room, stunning view.”
25keithj, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Only the front rooms have a sea view!”
346stevew, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms have sea view.”
steviedib, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We had a room at the front of the hotel which overlooked the sea, it was spacious and was a fantastic view”
emmahunt2015, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
* /night
View Deal
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates