We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Menai Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Menai Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 101: English reviews
Start your review of The Menai Hotel
 Click to rate
Worksop, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Having paid £150 for two rooms including full English Breakfast.I was slightly disappointed with our stay in The Menai. The rooms were OK if a little run down, but the main issue was sleep. Having turned in about 11.00pm for a good nights sleeps after a long days travel. We were kept up by the music and the noisy drunk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bruce946
Rachel M, Manager at The Menai Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Bruce i'm saddened to hear you were disappointed with your stay here at The Menai. But i think its only fair i highlight some points you made for future guests. We do not offer and have never offered a cooked breakfast as part of any of our tariffs across any of our booking platforms, so your claim you...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for new years night, the food was great, room was very comfortable and the pub is open plan but cozy at the sane time. Very welcoming, and great friendly staff. It is the place to be in Bangor now, with live bands on often, clean and fresh pool tables and ques, and there is even Obe of them...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dafz W
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Never fails to impress each and every time. Simple, well thought out menu executed with flair and good grace. Staff couldn't be friendlier, Declan and Rachel are excellent hosts. This is not just pub food, it is on point every time. Sampled just about everything on menu and I'm yet to be disappointed. Went for sirloin served rare with peppercorn...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Conor G
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

A group of at least 50 of us had our Christmas party here. The food was delicious, staff very friendly and helpful, overall impression was well organised clean and delightful. I will most definitely come back here, and highly recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank carys k
Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Tidy , clean friendly establishment. The food was 10/10 , good selection of food, perfectly cooked , great chef , that served us, will definitely visit again for food . And the bar staff was very polite , friendly and considerate. A+++

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mcwpropertymaint2016
London
Reviewed 18 November 2016

From the moment you walk in the door of the Menai hotel and bar in Bangor you feel welcomed. The very lovely couple who have taken it on, Declan and Rachel, are thoughtful, hard working, kind perfectionists. This is obvious as soon as you check into your room - atop a pile of snowy white towels sits a chocolate in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank badzelda
wales
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Stayed here overnight for a meeting at Bangor University. The hotel is really a large bar with rooms. It is very basic which would have been fine, had the price been basic too. Wifi did not work outside the bar, so had to work in the bar area. Owners are cheerful but the quality of the offer means it's not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank binnysays
Rachel M, Owner at The Menai Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Binnysays, I am disappointing to here your review, I am surprised you have written the WiFi doesn't work outside the bar as we supply WiFi across the hotel and all rooms receive it, perhaps you hadn't selected the correct router as there is one for the bar, and one for the residents both are open and there is no...

Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Came here with some friends for a late lunch. I went for the doubled up breakfast and after quite a lengthy waiting time (to say we were the only people waiting for food) it arrived. For what I paid and what I received I would say it is good value for money though some aspects are better than others. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HanIngham
Rachel M, Owner at The Menai Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for your positive feedback I have spoken with our kitchen team re: food waiting times and can promise you a speedier service next time! We have a new head chef starting with us who will be raising the standards even further to ensure a perfect service every time! We look forward to welcoming you back at...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Have stayed here a few times before - due to its great location in the middle of the city (well Upper Bangor). It's very good that it has reopened. Was a issue with our rooms upon check in - was given the keys to a room already occupied due to a mix up with a bookings. The bigger room we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dylan W
blackburn
Reviewed 22 October 2016

My husband, myself & our pooch ( yes dog friendly!) stayed here recently & thoroughly enjoyed it. Our room was very clean & spacious.Comfortable double bed with lovely fresh white bed linen. There was also a single bed. The room was well equipped & stocked with everything we needed for our stay.Plenty of clean towels were supplied also. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catkin61

109 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
4.2 km away
Premier Inn Bangor Hotel
1.1 km away
Eryl Mor Hotel
Eryl Mor Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bangor
257 reviews
0.7 km away
The Garden Hotel
The Garden Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bangor
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
875 reviews
2.2 km away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
394 reviews
1.6 km away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 3-star Menai Hotel is conveniently located in the centre of Bangor on the North Wales coast. All 9 rooms are en-suite with free continental breakfast, with fantastic views of both The Menai Strait & The Snowden Range. Vegetarian & Vegan cooked breakfasts available on request.There is a vibrant bar serving home-cooked meals with a focus on Welsh produce, extensive vegetarian, vegan & gluten free options, a range of beers, wines and spirits. Food is served every day 12-3 6-9pm. An entertainment schedule runs throughout the week including quiz nights, live bands & open mic sessions. Each well-equipped bedroom has its own private bathroom, TV, radio and Fairtrade Welsh tea and coffee making facilities with free parking and free WiFi. Our bar also boasts SKY keeping you up to date on all sporting events.We are a pet friendly hotel allowing up to two dogs at £10.00 per animal. We also have a meeting room available for hire for workshops,classes & functions. Being close to Bangor University, there are many pubs and bars contributing to the active nightlife just a 10 minute walk from the Menai. Transportation links are nearby with Bangor Rail Station and the Bus Station just 0.5 miles away. The mountains of Snowdonia can be reached within a 10 minute drive, where you can hike and enjoy the scenery the national park has to offer. The beaches of Anglesey and the rolling countryside are just a 15 minute drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Menai Hotel

Address: Craig Y Don Road, Bangor LL57 2BG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Bangor
Price Range: $108 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Menai Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Menai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Menai Hotel Bangor, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Menai Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Staff go out of their way to help you.”
 of 5 bubbles mcwpropertymaint2016, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front of the hotel have a lovely view over the Menai Strait.”
 of 5 bubbles badzelda, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try the Lasagne washed down with a Guiness ot two.”
 of 5 bubbles nigelbarryh, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't mind sharing? Book a family room - good value.”
 of 5 bubbles amcgrath49, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“My room faced westerly and had great view of distant mountains.”
  • Room 11
  • Bathroom room 11
  • Sunset view from room 11
 of 5 bubbles FL33, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5