We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Waverley Hotel Bangor

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Waverley Hotel Bangor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Waverley Hotel Bangor
See the most recent reviews
Showing 87: English reviews
South East England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016

my daughter and I stayed overnight on tues 23rd august. Room clean but we booked single beds and got a double very tired room the en suite backed on to another bathroom so you heard all and the water system was powering up all night. expensive for what it was and breakfast not included. Laraine England

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank laraine l
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewed 3 August 2016

One of the last things you'd like to hear after traveling for 8 hours is "I'm sorry, I don't have your reservation" followed by "We don't have a facebook-page" after you show them the actual reservation you've made through facebook. I've made the booking for 3 double rooms and 1 single room in the beginning of June - 6 weeks...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank aschetti
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2016

lovely surroundings and food was lush had a choice of meats and fresh vegetables even went up for more selection of lamb beef and turkey .i highly recommend the lamb and beef staff are polite and friendly and child friendly at a good price

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deemw68
Harlow
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I arrived at the Waverley to a completely empty reception and rather tired looking hotel. A friendly bar maid tried to help us by going to get someone and we waited until a grumpy and grubby man finally got us our key. No one welcomed us or even told us about any breakfast arrangements. The bath room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HN1988
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

The hotel is ok, clean and fresh bedding and located next to the train station. DO NOT book this hotel online , you will be. Ripped off. There is a 2 price structure, online (booking.com) price and locals/if you ring up price. For example a single room booked over the phone is £35.00 per night, use booking.com and its £55.00...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul D
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

The staff are friendly and polite however the chef drinks more of the wine that he adds to the cuisine. There is no shower facility in our room and it's smelt of cigarettes. It's not disabled friendly and the facilities are extremely basic and in need of modernisation. The location is good and the welcome tea and biscuits were gratefully...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah-Jane B
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Bathroom was dirty, not properly cleaned from the last guest. Room in desperate need of update. Bedroom itself was nicely decorated. Too cold. Couldn't feel our hands. Must ask to turn radiator on, which is fine, but staff nowhere to be found. When finaly found, they claim we can could call them but the note on the window said "call...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liankirry
Jonny G, Manager at The Waverley Hotel Bangor, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback could you tell me which room you stayed in we are looking to improve Regards

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

We are on holiday in Wales and having just arrived we were looking for somewhere to eat. We were so pleased to find this hotel/restaurant. We enjoyed a fine meal with generous portions. We had previously been told that the chef was good. We agree with this now!! Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrpeterjw
Jonny G, Manager at The Waverley Hotel Bangor, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words

North Wales
Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

Smashing time had at the waverly. The bar staff were a nice couple of lads even if they didn't know about rose wine😃. Breakfast was nice the next day but I do think the poor chef needs some waiting on staff to help him in the morning. He was greeting cooking and serving. 12 people from diffrent parties were down...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andymac2003
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2016

I've stayed here a few times before and to be honest it was looking a bit tired and the staff were not the best. What a difference! The whole place has has a make over, staff cannot do enough to help and being right by the train station and 5 mins max. walk to the middle of town this is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dewiparryuk

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
0.1 km away
The Garden Hotel
The Garden Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bangor
102 reviews
1.7 km away
Eryl Mor Hotel
Eryl Mor Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bangor
265 reviews
3.8 km away
Premier Inn Bangor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
341 reviews
2.1 km away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
411 reviews
0.6 km away
The Menai Hotel
The Menai Hotel
#16 of 24 in Bangor
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Waverley Hotel is now under new management as of July 2014. One of Bangor's largest hotels, situated directly opposite the Railway Station, we are ideal for commuters, couples, families and business and leisure trips. We cater for all your needs, with a fully stocked bar, a la Carte Restaurant and fully refurbished rooms. Come and give us a try! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Waverley Hotel Bangor

Address: Holyhead Road | Station Road, Bangor LL57 2HZ, Wales (Formerly The Regency Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Bangor
Price Range: $113 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Waverley Hotel Bangor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waverley Hotel Bangor Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Waverley Hotel Bangor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are a light sleeper, try bringing ear plugs”
DanielWood77, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Just don't go. Ever.”
gweirydda, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Only stayed in the apartment - avoid at all cost!!”
sharonj227, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“late /or delayed traveling by train .... let the friendly staff know what time you be arriving”
deemw68, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Quiet rooms at the back and if want setting sun then front ones are the best.”
dewiparryuk, 6 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5