We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Thames Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Thames Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

215 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Thames Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 212: English reviews
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

The reason we stayed was it was the most reasonable within the Heathrow/Windsor/Maidenhead corridor, so we couldn't be too fussy. The room (family room on the 3rd floor) was adequately sized for 2 adults and a child, workable TV with plenty of channels, decent shower room, kettle with various drink options, plenty of towels and bedding. Overall it just wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Goonerbeer
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Full disclosure. I booked here in a rush due to a short notice business meeting. When I stay in Maidenhead I typically book the Thames Riviera which is just up the road and I booked the similarly named Thames Hotel by mistake. So it's on me but you live and learn. Pro's: The location was OK for my needs. About...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pswilson77
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017

The Thames hotel is a stone's throw from the river in Maidenhead. Our family room had a lovely river view - it's an excellent setting. The hotel is small-ish (just over 30 rooms) and independent. It lacks some of the corporate lavishness of chain hotels - service is sincere, but not polished - and the decor would benefit from a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm H
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Malcolm, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you enjoyed the lovely River view from the second floor. Our family rooms are slightly different, the one which you stayed in has 2 separate rooms and the other has all the beds in one room. We usually use the other one for families with smaller...

Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

One of the good hotel i stayed in UK and the only one for which I am writing a review. First of all the location which is bang on the banks of Thames. The rooms are really cosy. Although don't take room 113 because nothing works properly there. Breakfast have quite a good option though same option every day. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VikrantRoy
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear VikrantRoy, Thank you for taking the time to write a review I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we provided you with a good breakfast which is always included in the room rate. I am pleased you found the staff helpful, we do try and go the extra mile for all our customers to ensure...

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Terrible. . From the start...- receptionist could not find our reservation. ...btw- it is a really a small hotel.. She told my friend- that he has to go to another hotel..across the road...With a similar name....oops.. Never mind. ..she eventually found reservation. . I got to the room later....to find out- that hot water comes out of the tap ...only...no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yelena22
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 December 2016

Great location, overlooking the Thames and good parking. Hotel is of the "old school" type, no lift and rather dated. Our room was fine and the bed very comfortable, once the obligatory incontinence sheet had been removed! Unfortunately we could not get the TV to work, despite following the instructions to the letter. We didn't call for assistance because I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RLG324
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

My first visit to the Thames hotel. Hotel needs some investment and refurbishment. Room would benefit from deep cleaning. Breakfast is served only between 7 am and 9 am. Coffee was not drinkable and bacon tasted like sated wood. On positive side, not very expensive place, staff was friendly, fantastic location, nice bar and restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WitSka
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Witska, Thank you for taking the time to write a review we always value guest feedback. We are currently in the process of refurbishing our rooms however as we are an independent Hotel this does take time. Our full English breakfast is served from 7am-9am Monday to Friday and then 8.30am -10am Saturday and Sunday. I'm glad our staff...

North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Stayed last. Friday (02/11/2016) and was delighted. It was 42-43 years ago since. I stayed here and. I still got the same thrill having a room with a balcony overlooking the. Thames. Waking up on Saturday morning to the sounds of the rowing teams in training was great. It was only a one night stay but. I enjoyed every minute.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shorty44
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shorty44 Thank you for your review Its amazing to know the Hotel has been here for soo many years. I'm so glad you were just as thrilled this time around. It is a lovely setting on the river watching the Boats, rowers, ducks and normal River life. You will have to come back in the summer when the Area...

Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

Lovely friendly staff, very helpful. Nice clean room with private balcony overlooking the Thames.didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment. Couldn't fault hotel at all really would recommend for sure

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wendy, Thank you for your lovely review. Although it is short we do value your feedback. I'm glad you found the Hotel clean and the staff were friendly. Hopefully we will see you again soon Kind Regards Emily

Carlton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Very conveniently located for trip to visit family. Staff very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Free private parking a big asset. Room was very clean and had tea/coffee making facilities, t.v. and wifi if required. En suite had both bath and shower and was a decent size. Poor quality toilet paper, though, and bath plug was unattached! Breakfast was included and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ColinandPauline

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (88)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidenhead
0.5 km away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#8 of 12 in Maidenhead
658 reviews
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
0.7 km away
Norfolk House Hotel
Norfolk House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Maidenhead
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
2.5 km away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
565 reviews
3.5 km away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Thames Hotel

Address: Ray Mead Road, Maidenhead SL6 8NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Price Range: $93 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thames Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Thames Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thames Hotel Maidenhead
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Thames Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Thames Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If it is a view you want ask for a room at the front of hotel some also had a balcony although the road is very busy”
carolineh373, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There is no lift so if you can't manage too many stairs take a 1st floor room”
LancsDuo, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room. TB1. This is the large room with a balcony overlooking the. Thames”
Shorty44, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at front are spacious and have a lovely river view.”
ColinandPauline, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Please note stairs no lift at the property,”
axeltramp, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5