We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Thames Riviera Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Thames Riviera Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

659 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 647: English reviews
Start your review of The Thames Riviera Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our room was number 401 outside behind the hotel in the lodges, oh lodges great with a river view how nice, nope how wrong could we be. The room was grim, limescale around taps and temp control for the shower. Shower screen dirty, plug in sink did not work and the mirror in the room looked like it had never...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz O
Shefford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for one night and the family room was fine- large and light with plenty of windows overlooking the Thames. The desk staff were helpful and efficient. On closer inspection some of the fittings look a little tired and in need of repainting or replacing but for price and convenience for one night it was ideal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emacdwilliams
gmthames2017, General Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Thames Riviera. Thank you.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night here. Next to the Thames is an ideal place for a relaxing stay. Some guests were advising not to use the restaurant as the food quality had subsided. Bar was good, room was OK but a little tired. Maybe due for a renovation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Purchased afternoon tea as a gift. Food was bland, poor quality and lacked any style. The general manager who I spoke to was rude and unhelpful. The hotel itself is tired looking. On the whole I wouldn't recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rachael18886
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very comfortable rooms. Bar meals fantastic (although a little pricey) Staff hopeless. In a 4 night stay, keycard to room wouldn't work 7 times - meaning a trip down to reception to get it re-programmed. Just what I needed after a long day at work up and down stairs all day! Bar staff overstretched and under experienced. After a 25...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
cheshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One night's stay. We were in the annexe, across the car park from the main building which is no bad thing because the main road that runs in front of the hotel is very busy. Our ensuite room, was good sized, nicely furnished, clean and contained all the usual items including free wi-fi, TV (not used), iron/ironing board and kettle/tea/coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank phils_dad
gmthames2017, General Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

The Lodge is extremely popular for many guests, delighted you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to welcoming you again when next in Maidenhead. Thank you.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Last week I enjoyed a very good afternoon tea, beautifully presented and served at the Riviera. The hotel has definitely seen better days, although there has been an attempt to modernise the old Victorian building. It has a great position right on the river, next to Maidenhead bridge, and has ample parking. The dining room isn't much to write home...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayne L
gmthames2017, General Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Blue River Café.

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic site for a great hotel. Unfortunately the whole site needs refurbishment. Everything about the hotel begs a great deal of T.L.C Peeling paint, cracked plaster, flooding rooms below when using bathroom, unanswered reception calls, unresponsive staff when dealing with problems,our bathroom radiator had no temp control, consequently radiator dangerously hot for our whole visit. On reporting our room safe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank castlecolchester
gmthames2017, General Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to read you were unhappy with your stay, unfortunately, as you did not speak to the Duty Manager we are unable to satisfactorily comment further on your review. Thank you.

Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2017

I stayed last Wednesday night, I have also written and haven't received a reply. I went down for breakfast and was grunted at by a waitress who told me I could have a full English, no menu was given and I was not sat down before I had to give my order. I asked if a small breakfast was available,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank anitamiller2017
gmthames2017, General Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

My apologies for not responding to your letter, to date I have not received. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly, should you wish to discuss your review. I have investigated and there does seem to have been a misunderstanding in communication. Thank you.

Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2017

We were booked into a premium room. Bed was very uncomfortable, who room needs an upgrade. Went down for breakfast and was greeted by a waitress who told us to sit anywhere and told us the continental breakfast was available along with a full English, no menu was given and we weren't even sat down before we had to give...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank torsfx
gmthames2017, General Manager at The Thames Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Should you wish to speak with me directly about your concerns please contact the Hotel. Thank you.

172 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (139)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidenhead
0.5 km away
The Thames Hotel
The Thames Hotel
#7 of 11 in Maidenhead
215 reviews
2.6 km away
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
2.1 km away
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,158 reviews
2.9 km away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
565 reviews
0.4 km away
Norfolk House Hotel
Norfolk House Hotel
#5 of 11 in Maidenhead
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the banks of the River Thames by Maidenhead Bridge, this splendid Edwardian building provides the gateway to Maidenhead, just half a mile away. Car parking for guests. Housing a total of 52 bedrooms, with 18 situated in the Waterside Lodge which is sited to the rear of the main building. Many of the well appointed bedrooms offer superb river views and others balconies, which overlook the terraces and River Thames. The Hotel has a renowned restaurant and bar in The Blue River Cafe which has been the place to be for over a decade with its fantastic food and lively atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Thames Riviera Hotel

Address: The Bridge Bridge Road, Maidenhead SL6 8DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Price Range: $70 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thames Riviera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Thames Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thames Riviera Maidenhead
Thames Riviera Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Thames Riviera Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Slough, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Thames Riviera Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I'd say rooms at front of hotel are likely to be noisy”
phils_dad, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Find another hotel”
anitamiller2017, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother”
Daisyandbella, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book the Premier Inn!”
hanniebr, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Second floor with the bay windows”
VPB_13, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5