We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

King's Head Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
King\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

663 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for King's Head Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 652: English reviews
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed in this room on a Friday night sharing. It had everything we needed and I want to commend them on their excellent service. I arrived first in the room, and saw that the bathroom had been used, so I called the front desk. Within moments there was a knock at my room, the bathroom was spotless after that... More 

Helpful?
Thank PippaT23
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear PippaT23, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! It’s always wonderful to hear positive feedback regarding our staff, especially in relation to the customer service we provide. Thank you for your kind words regarding how we dealt with the situation and we’re very glad to hear that you would stay with us again. We look... More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Access to the hotel is not as easy as I would have liked for disabled. I have a large mobility scooter, and needed a lot of help with doors to getting into the hotel, and in the lift. The reception area was small, and very cramped when there were a few guests and their luggage. It took a lot of... More 

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank sheilasscooter
Ovacik, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great place to stay, food good, service on table good but bar service left a lot to be desired. Staff worked really hard nut not enough of them. More staff would alleviate long queues. Single room no. 213 a bit pokey with low ceilings and very, very poor lighting. At times had to use mobile phone torch to see. Clothes... More 

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank Janet T
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Janet T, Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay, I'm sorry lighting was a bit of an issue for you, we will look into this. We will also pass on your dining comments to the downstairs management. Than you for taking the time to leave us feedback! Kind regards Liz Davies Hotel Team Leader More 

Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed at many Wetherspoons and rate this as one of the best This was our second visit and will most certainly be back.Just wish that they had there own parking facilities. But staff always ready to advise. And it is within walking distance.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank Teresa H
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Teresa H, Thank you for your review! It’s really wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be staying with us in the future. If you have any questions before or during your stay, please do contact us and one of our friendly and helpful reception staff will be more than happy to advise. Kind... More 

Turners Hill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good clean hotel in the centre of Salisbury. Great for shopping, eating and see the sights. Room was comfy and clean. Slightly worried as part of a pub but not noise problems as all. Friendly & helpful staff.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank Clare K
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Clare K, Thank you for your review! It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay. We would be happy to welcome you should you visit Salisbury again! Kind regards Liz Davies Hotel Team Leader More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Only stayed a couple of nights with the family, 2 separate rooms. Our room was small, with a nice bathroom. Friendly staff. We had 6 people with all the luggage that entails,which made the tiny lift a problem and having to drag suitcases up and down a few stairs. Parking was terrible. We had a hire car, and leaving it... More 

Helpful?
Thank GrandmaT930
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear GrandmaT930, Thank you leaving us a review! It’s great to hear you enjoyed your rooms and our wonderful location right in the heart of Salisbury. It is due to this central location in this historical city that we do not have any on-site parking, however the car park we recommend is only a 5 minute walk from the Hotel.... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A relaxing nights sleep except for the noise of and cold air from the heater(?) which was rather disturbing. Excellent reception staff, very efficient and friendly. Breakfast service needs improvement. I joined the queue but other people came into the bar and somehow managed to get served at other points of the bar without queuing; there should be one queue... More 

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank william_curtis2
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear William_curtis2, Thank you for your 5* review! We are sorry you didn't receive a more enjoyable service during breakfast, we shall pass these points on to the downstairs management. Please know that if you ever have any issues during your stay, no matter what hour, there is someone here to help! We look forward to welcoming you when you... More 

Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed for one night this week and we were thoroughly impressed. After reading quite a few negative reviews we hadn't set our expectations too high, but we were pleasantly surprised. The long stay city centre car park is a mere 5 minutes walk along the river and it doesn't charge you from 8pm-8am, so any money... More 

Helpful?
Thank laurensaidhello
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear laurensaidhello, Thank you for your 5* review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for your tips for future travellers! We hope to welcome you should you visit Salisbury again! Kind regards Liz Davies Hotel Team Leader More 

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room very nice and disabled access bathroom good. The air con was quite noisy. There was no disabled parking at the hotel, luckily we thought to take the electric scooter with us as we had to drive to a car park. The food we had was acceptable but only lukewarm on 4 occasions, we did mention this and were told... More 

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank Lesley W
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Lesley W, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your room and found the facilities to be of a good standard. Due to our wonderful central location we don’t have any on-site car parking, but the car park we recommend is only a 5 minute walk from the... More 

Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel itself was excellent with very helpful staff - good food (from the pub) which you are allowed, even encouraged to take up to your room. The review of the hotel itself would be excellent. But...the nearest car park is 1/4 mile away. I'm sure I am right about this because I spent a lot of the weekend looking... More 

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank A4758VZpaulm
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear A4758Vzpaulm, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be of excellent quality. We’re sorry that you did not enjoy our location, the car park we recommend is only a 5 minute walk along the river Avon and the hotel... More 

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.4 km away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
4.5 km away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.3 km away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 15 in Salisbury
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#5 of 15 in Salisbury
811 reviews
0.7 km away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 15 in Salisbury
689 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 15 in Salisbury
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The site of this Wetherspoon pub has been occupied by an inn since the 15th century. By c1520, it was known as the King's Head, and it retained that name until it was rebuilt in the 1880s. The County Hotel was, itself, a change of name some time during the 1880s or 1890s. Before then, it was the Kings Head and Brewery. We have 33 individual bedrooms. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea- and coffee-making facilities, air conditioning, a hair dryer, TV and free Wi-Fi, also available in the pub. Please be aware that we are a Lloyds No 1 bar so we will be playing music in the pub from Thursday to Saturday nights. Limited quiet rooms are available so please telephone in advance to request one. We have no onsite parking but there is a city centre car park we recommend that is only a 3-5 minute walk away. You are able to stop on the pub entrance to unload your luggage before you go and park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about King's Head Inn

Address: 1 Bridge Street, Salisbury SP1 2ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Price Range: $102 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your King's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Head Hotel Salisbury
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Salisbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from King's Head Inn staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
4 months ago
6 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from King's Head Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay in Salisbury.”
 of 5 bubbles calvino, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for room away for bar as it gets very noisy and if having breakfast dont have the eggs benedict as eggs are always hard”
 of 5 bubbles linda100660, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are quite spacious and are very nice, the room we stayed in was so nice we requested it from a previous stay.”
 of 5 bubbles kimpL6174GP, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“room 116 was very quite and had air con.”
 of 5 bubbles PhilH830, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I think that all rooms will be quiet but there are lots of stairs so make sure you discuss this on booking if you have walking difficulties.”
 of 5 bubbles BridgerSussex, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay