We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

King's Head Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
King\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

705 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 693: English reviews
Start your review of King's Head Inn
 Click to rate
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I would recommend not staying at this hotel, or any other Wetherspoons hotels. We had the worst night sleep imaginable - no exaggeration. The nearby night club (Truth?) was located what seemed to be less than a metre from our window. The noise was unbearable and seemed to continue until at least 2am. We were not warned. As if this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mjb333
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at the Kings Head Inn whilst on business, room 104. The first night we struggled to sleep with the sound of rats or mice scratching in the walls. On the following morning we advised the receptionist who asked what room number we were and with that just said "ok". On leaving the hotel (in a rush as running...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Remmie L
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked an overnight stay to break up the journey to Dorset. The Inn was situated next to the river Avon in a very nice setting. It was actually a Wetherspoons, which meant a good selection of ales and food very reasonably priced. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The room itself was very comfortable with all the usual amenities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danosan
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Danosan, Thank you for your lovely review! We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed our location on the river, we are very fortunate to be situated right in the heart of Salisbury and within walking distance to all that this great City has to offer. As a medieval City, Salisbury has a lot of history and amazing architecture spanning...

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed in Salisbury many times, but to have a central location for such a low rate (Sunday night special) was excellent value for money. we would definitely go back again. We did ask for a quiet room so the kitchen ventilation unit was a little noisy but finished just after 11pm so overall not too bad.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank AngelaKD_13
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear AngelaKD_13, Thank you for your wonderful review and 5* rating! It’s great to hear that you found our Stay with us on Sunday rate to be excellent value for money, as we believe a decrease in price shouldn’t mean a change in service or comfort. Due to our lovely central location we are unable to guarantee that our rooms...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice and cosy place to stay in for the night. Counter staff was very friendly. There is a pub and restaurant downstairs. Looks lively. Room isnt very big but very cosy. The bathroom is modern though and sort of differs from the design of the room.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steven C
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Steven C, Thank you for your lovely review and 5* rating! We’re glad to hear that you found our Reception team to be welcoming during your visit and that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Due to the age of our building, each room differs in size and layout; however guests are welcome to make requests for a...

windsor
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

loved this hotel - room was lovely, very clean and right in the centre of Salisbury. I found it quiet, the only thing I didn't really like was the bathroom, this is probably going to sound awful but I had a disabled wet room and whilst I think it is a good thing to have rooms available for disabled visitors...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debb99
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear debb99, Thank you for your wonderful review! It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of our gorgeous central location, as we are very fortunate to be based right in the heart of Salisbury. We’re glad that you loved the Hotel and that you found your room decorated and cleaned to a...

WIndsor, Berks, UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our stay at the Kings Head was very last minute as we had been to a funeral and changed our plans and decided not to drive home, we booked because it was in the city centre and very convenient. The hotel is clean, comfortable and the staff very friendly.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JanandMurray
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear JanandMurray, Thank you for your lovely review and 5* rating! While we are sorry to hear about the reason for your visit, we’re glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and found our wonderful central location to be convenient for you. We’re happy that our friendly Reception Team made you feel welcomed during your stay and we...

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The beer was great, the food was cold and disappointing. I was told I couldn't take a drink up to the rooms, but then the receptionist (on the first floor) said there is no room service but you can bring anything up from the bar. Excellent bathroom, uninspiring bedroom. I would go again, but it would be better if they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul U
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Paul U, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t fully satisfied with your stay, please be assured that we do allow food and beverages bought in the bar to be consumed in your room. We will discuss the issues you have raised with the Bar Management Team to...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is an old coaching inn now repurposed as a wetherspoons pub. The standards still apply with steak nights to Mexican mondays. Like all the pubs in the chain it's a standard formula that works. But there's little to mark it out as unique. But it's a place that is considerably cheaper than many others in pricey Salisbury.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Robert W, Thank you for your 5* review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again should you visit Salisbury! Kind regards Liz Davies Hotel Team Leader

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very impressed with the King's Head Inn at Salisbury. Large corner room with double aspect windows. Lovely decoration throughout the hotel, and nice to get some extra touches, such as biscuits / complimentary bottled water which have disappeared from other "budget" hotels. A great Sunday night price. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Good value food and drinks as always in...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue A
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sue A, Thank you for your review! It's great to see you enjoyed your stay, and we would love to welcome you should you visit Salisbury again! Kind regards Liz Davies Hotel Team Leader

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
4.5 km away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.4 km away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
837 reviews
0.3 km away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
365 reviews
2.0 km away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The site of this Wetherspoon pub has been occupied by an inn since the 15th century. By c1520, it was known as the King's Head, and it retained that name until it was rebuilt in the 1880s. The County Hotel was, itself, a change of name some time during the 1880s or 1890s. Before then, it was the Kings Head and Brewery. We have 33 individual bedrooms. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea- and coffee-making facilities, air conditioning, a hair dryer, TV and free Wi-Fi, also available in the pub. Please be aware that we are a Lloyds No 1 bar so we will be playing music in the pub from Thursday to Saturday nights. Limited quiet rooms are available so please telephone in advance to request one. We have no onsite parking but there is a city centre car park we recommend that is only a 3-5 minute walk away. You are able to stop on the pub entrance to unload your luggage before you go and park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about King's Head Inn

Address: 1 Bridge Street, Salisbury SP1 2ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Price Range: $63 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your King's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Head Hotel Salisbury
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Salisbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from King's Head Inn staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
normanton
11 days ago
26 days ago
7 months ago
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
8 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from King's Head Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not have room 118”
 of 5 bubbles mamabella48, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Worth giving a go”
 of 5 bubbles KarenT902, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try for a room on the highest floor you can if you want it more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Somerican, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't go there if you like to sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles ginger5London, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in Salisbury.”
 of 5 bubbles calvino, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5