We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

King's Head Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
King\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

693 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 682: English reviews
Start your review of King's Head Inn
 Click to rate
Thetford, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

As all weaterspoons we found it all very reasonable. First time we have stayed at a spoons and can't fault it. Our room was a bit on small side but very nice and clean and tidy. A very lovely barthroom and very clean. The hotel is very central to everything. Well worth a staying here . Parking is a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank s g
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Good price and Wetherspoons? Was not expecting such a spacious bathroom, and the small but pleasing touches like free shortbread and sparkling water that you just don't get at budget chains any more. Clean, modern, and always good to find a place that offers single rooms. Recommended, though bring earplugs as handy convenient location means some street noise.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaireadDw
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear MaireadDw, Thank you for your review! It's great to see you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your kind comments! Kind regards Liz Davies Hotel Team Leader

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had an absolutely lovely stay. The room was large and spotlessly clean. The bed was one of the comfiest I have ever slept in. We did stay on a Wednesday so weren't troubled with noise that other reviewers have commented on. The reception staff were really friendly and efficient. Overall for the price and location we could not fault...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea2978
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Andrea2978, Thank you for your review! It's great to see you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind words for the staff! Kind regards Liz Davies Hotel Team Leader

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

well worth a visit again.the room was immaculate and tastefully decorated.Salisbury is a historical city and the Kings Head is ideally situated alongside the river to explore the city.all staff were efficient and smart appearance.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank derekcfb999ww
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear derekcfb999ww, Thank you for your review! It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you should you visit Salisbury again! Kind regards Liz Davies Hotel Team Leader

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

A rather special Weatherspoons right on the river and close to the cathedral. We stayed in the hotel and ate in the pub. Room was very comfortable and clean. Reception staff very helpful and friendly. Food was good value. As with many Weatherspoons, the only niggle were a few guests who were clearly a few sheets to the wind, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angela K
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Angela K, Thank you for your wonderful review! It’s great to hear that you find our location rather special, we are very fortunate to be located right in the heart of Salisbury alongside the river Avon. We’re glad that you found our Reception Team to be approachable and helpful during your visit and we’re happy to hear that you...

Midhurst
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed her for one night in Feb 2017. The room was made up to a very nice standard. The service on arrival was most welcoming. The pub can get a bit noisy but the building is so old and solid stone that there was no noise at all in the room. Food and drink including a great breakfast can...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulc222017
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear paulc222017, Thank you for your lovely review and 5* rating! We’re glad to hear that your room was set up to your liking and that you received a warm welcome from of our friendly and approachable Reception Team. We will be sure to pass on your positive feedback regarding food and drink to the Bar Management Team and we’re...

Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were visiting Salisbury for a couple of days, primarily a theatre trip to see the excellent "Worst Wedding Ever". The Kings Head is ideally located, about a ten minute walk from all the important places -train station, cathedral, theatre and restaurants. All the staff were great, especially the receptionist who was very friendly and helpful. The room was fairly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CyclingDays
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear CyclingDays, Thank you for your fabulous review and 5* rating! We’re glad that you had a great stay with us and were able to explore Salisbury due to our wonderful central location, we are very fortunate to be located a short walk from all the city has to offer. It’s always great to receive positive feedback, especially regarding our...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We didn't go in with high expectations considering it was a wetherspoons but we were incredibly surprised! Room and bathroom were big and spacious! Couldn't hear a thing from the bar over the weekend. The room was a comfortable temperature and we could control this ourselves. Although we had to park a few minutes away, this wasn't an issue at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert Y
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Robert Y, Thank you for your wonderful review and 5* rating! We’re happy to hear that our friendly Reception Team made you feel warmly welcomed during your stay, as we pride ourselves on our approachable staff. We're glad that the quality of your room exceeded your expectations, as we do try to create a relaxing atmosphere within our rooms...

Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The parking was an inconvenience, but we knew this going in. I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the rooms were to be over a pub. Our room had very high ceilings with what I'm assuming were faux beams. We even had a view of the spire from our window. The bathroom was modern and clean. The beds weren't the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca B, Thank you for your lovely review and 5* rating! We’re very glad to hear that you were pleasantly surprised at the quality of our rooms, as we do strive to balance the historical charm of our 19th Century Hotel with modern touches that our guests expect. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us...

Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed in this hotel this Sunday night. The room was fabulous, modern, large, lovely bathroom, but freezing cold. In the end the receptionist gave us an electric heater and we had on all night. The bed was really comfortable and we slept well UNTIL about 5.30am when we realised we were right over the kitchen and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mamabella48

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
4.5 km away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
0.4 km away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 15 in Salisbury
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 15 in Salisbury
720 reviews
0.3 km away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#11 of 15 in Salisbury
361 reviews
1.0 km away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#6 of 15 in Salisbury
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The site of this Wetherspoon pub has been occupied by an inn since the 15th century. By c1520, it was known as the King's Head, and it retained that name until it was rebuilt in the 1880s. The County Hotel was, itself, a change of name some time during the 1880s or 1890s. Before then, it was the Kings Head and Brewery. We have 33 individual bedrooms. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea- and coffee-making facilities, air conditioning, a hair dryer, TV and free Wi-Fi, also available in the pub. Please be aware that we are a Lloyds No 1 bar so we will be playing music in the pub from Thursday to Saturday nights. Limited quiet rooms are available so please telephone in advance to request one. We have no onsite parking but there is a city centre car park we recommend that is only a 3-5 minute walk away. You are able to stop on the pub entrance to unload your luggage before you go and park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about King's Head Inn

Address: 1 Bridge Street, Salisbury SP1 2ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Price Range: $90 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your King's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Head Hotel Salisbury
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Salisbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from King's Head Inn staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
7 months ago
8 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from King's Head Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not have room 118”
 of 5 bubbles mamabella48, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Worth giving a go”
 of 5 bubbles KarenT902, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try for a room on the highest floor you can if you want it more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Somerican, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't go there if you like to sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles ginger5London, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in Salisbury.”
 of 5 bubbles calvino, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5