We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

876 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 841: English reviews
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed today NEW

This hotel has a wonderful location. Loved the character of this building. The staff cannot do enough for you. There is plentiful breakfast, even they organized a gluten-free bread for my partner. Rooms are clean, comfortable and very well equipped. Really worth to recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mia_McGoldrick
Hampshire
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Checking in was very good and efficient,even upgraded us to a room with a bath.Spent a pleasant lunchtime drinking with friends in the bar area but the service was awful,waiting for ages for a pint of bitter, admittedly there was a wedding about to start but 15 minutes was too long. The room was clean and tidy but suffered from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bugsy1955
Management response:

Dear Bugsy1955 I am very disappointed to hear your stay with us has not been up to the standard we pride ourselves on. I have discussed with the manager of the bar as to why it took so long to sever you and a full investigation will now be carried out. As to the noise outside the hotel we will...

Totton, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here at the Red Lion over the weekend of 2nd December 2016 for 2 nights and was not disappointed. We requested a room on the top floor of 2 floors, and we had a very quiet and peaceful room, away from the hustle of the evenings events (5 Christmas parties on Friday night), and no noise. Room 62. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry Y
Management response:

Dear Barry Y Thank you for taking the time to feedback on Trip Advisor I am delighted to hear that your stay with The Red Lion was everything you had expected from us. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit us.

Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had our works Christmas party on Saturday 3rd December which we really enjoyed (again) fabulous night! The party was well organised and the food - even for 35 of us- was delicious. The staff are also professional and happy which I loved and we will definitely be back next year. I've stayed in most hotels in Salisbury on business...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher W
Management response:

Dear Christopher W Thank you for taking the time to feedback on Trip Advisor I am delighted to hear that your Christmas party was such a success. I shall pass your feedback to all the staff concerned. We look forward to welcoming your back to The Red Lion in the future

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We visit the hotel on the 3rd Tuesday of every month with our carers support group and always have our Christmas lunch here. We all sat down at 12.30pm and our starters were served to us straight away. i had the sweet potato and carrot soup which was very tasty followed by the turkey which came out lovely and hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C_Burnett1963
Management response:

Dear C_Burnett1963 Thank you for taking the time to feedback on Trip Advisor I am delighted to hear that your Christmas party was such a success. I shall pass your feedback to all the staff concerned. We look forward to welcoming your back to The Red Lion in the future

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The worst Xmas party EVER.THE STARTER all salad.no shrimps ,O I forgo (1 )and 4 pieces of melon ,the turkey arrived 2 tiny pieces of turkey a two pence piece of stuffing,1 tiny carrot,2 tiny pieces of broccoli,2 very small aunt Bessie roast potatoes,all cold I even asked it to be reheated,omg when my Xmas pud arrived haha,blink and u...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank June H
Management response:

Dear June H Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us on Trip Advisor. May I first take this opportunity to say how disappointed I was to hear your comments and let me assure you that a full investigation will be carried out with all key members of staff who looked after you on your Christmas party night....

Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Quite possibly the least festive, "Christmas do" (in very inverted commas), I have ever attended. Brightly lit room, no Christmas music/atmosphere. Miserable staff (except for the two youngest waiter & waitress who were very polite). Then there was the food (Oh where to start?!). The starters were appalling! Soup, average, "prawn and melon" starter had 3, (yes 3) whole prawns...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Laineylou6
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Despite The Red Lion's positive reputation, we were extremely disappointed with the service we received today. The Afternoon Tea was delicious and included a huge variety of goodies. However this was sadly overshadowed by the unfriendly, inattentive and abrupt staff. In addition to their attutude, they would also not accommodate our request for a gluten-free tea because we hadn't mentioned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A C
Liss, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel is located very close to the centre, and only a few minutes walk from the Cathedral. Lovely old hotel, with open fire in large lounge. Buffet style breakfast with good choice of food. Parking is a big problem, as hotel only has 6 spaces. We stayed in room 22 in the oldest part of the hotel, and found that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is probably the worst food I have ever eaten at a Christmas party,I ordered prawn cocktail ,the plate was full of lettuce and three of the smallest shrimps the rest was subsidised with melon ,the turkey meal was cold , the soup tasteless the Christmas pudding when I eventually got it was the size of a 50p the creme...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sharon R

436 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (206)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (110)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (230)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Other (116)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.2 km away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.0 km away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 15 in Salisbury
347 reviews
0.3 km away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 15 in Salisbury
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 15 in Salisbury
689 reviews
1.0 km away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#5 of 15 in Salisbury
811 reviews
6.7 km away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#7 of 15 in Salisbury
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel

Address: 4 Milford Street, Salisbury SP1 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Price Range: $133 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salisbury
Best Western Salisbury
Salisbury Best Western
Salisbury Red Lion
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor rooms at the rear are quieter. 61-65 I would recommend.”
 of 5 bubbles 886barryy, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Luckily I didn't stay but if the rooms are the quality of our annual Christmas party don't go”
 of 5 bubbles 453sharonr, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not in the annexe”
 of 5 bubbles sburstow, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“great location for Salisbury town , very central and 10mns walk to the cathedral for the fanatic :)”
 of 5 bubbles labonne2016, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Quieter rooms overlook inner courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles Sooperstar100, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay