We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

880 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 816: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed with a friend for a weekend break. This place is clean and central but pretty bland and basic. The receptionist asked us the same question about our luggage 3 times! She clearly didn't actually listen to our response and came across as just "going through the motions". Room was hot and didn't have the best nights sleep. Toilet roll...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Binny67
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Binny67 Thank you for choosing the White Hart Hotel for your weekend break in the historic city of Salisbury. The hotel is well located in the heart of city close as you mentioned to the many shops in the city centre as well as the many historic attractions that are in easy reach of the hotel, including the famous...

nottingham
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

......the decor in the hotel generally and in our room in particular was very tired and in need of an overhaul as was the furniture, although the bed was very comfortable. The duty receptionist was excellent in handling a couple of problems we had with the room. A great location though which was a real bonus on a short stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wanderingbees
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear wanderingbees Thank you for taking the time in letting us know of your experience following your recent stay with us in Salisbury. We appreciate your kind words for the Reception team and I was pleased that the accommodation provided was comfortable. We have taken on board your additional comments regarding the décor and I will share this with the...

York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 nights, staff were friendly. Breakfast was very good . Room was very tired, the curtains were badly damaged, but the bed was comfy enough. Was not expecting car parking charges, as seemed to be free on street at night. Nice view of the Cathedral. Communal areas all seemed nice, but could do with a bit of TLC....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David J
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David J Thank you for sharing your review following your most recent short break with us. And although I was pleased to note that the team came in for praise as did the quality of breakfast it will be the concerns that you raised that we will concentrate our efforts on to improve the quality of service we provide....

Hythe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having used The Mercure chain often we found this one to be well below their normal standard. The reception staff could not have been more helpful and were well informed and polite. The room was poor. badly lit making reading virtually impossible. The bathroom was very very small, dirty and tired. The shower was not possible to use as the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anthony B
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anthony B Thank you for choosing the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel. I was pleased to read that the Reception team came in for praise and that they were helpful, polite and well informed, rest assured that I will share your kind words with them. However I disappointed to read your concerns regarding the bathroom and quality of coffee,...

langport
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed one night. Our room was plain. The carpet was past its best, but the bed was good. The bathroom was very clean although the toilet seat was broken. We chose the hotel because I have difficulty walking any great distances, and it had its own car park. We were unaware that there was an additional fee of £6.50...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wilson r
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear wilson r I appreciate you taking the time in posting your review. The hotel is ideally located for those wanting to explore the city with an on site car park which is charged at a reasonable rate for a city centre hotel. Thank you for informing me of the concerns regarding the accommodation which will be dealt with by...

Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I travel with my kid and just stay inWhite Hart for a night, and visit Stonehenge next morning. This hotel is traditional UK small to mid size hotel but room is big enough for two adults. Everything is petty in place just the carpet is not clean. This hire has come with a parking which is convenience for car travelers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raymond_DELAYNOMORE
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Raymond_DELAYNOMORE Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience at the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel. The hotel is situated in the heart of the historic city with an on site and convenient car park for those wanting to explore the city's attractions as well as the World Heritage site at Stonehenge. I have shared your comments...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We decided on this Hotel after previously staying at the Rose & Crown. A big plus point was the buffet style full English breakfast, served in a very clean room with a garden view. I really must compliment the breakfast team for an excellent service. The check in/out was smooth and efficient. Our second floor room overlooked the main road,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Colin D
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Colin D We appreciate you taking the time in letting us know of your most recent stay with us at the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel. Both the team and I were really pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay especially the breakfast buffet and the team that looked after you. As we approach those colder winter...

Chichester
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Good, better than middle of the road hotel with very helpful staff. But watch out for the dangerous step in the lounge bar floor. We saw one lady fall and injure herself today and know of several other people who've tripped over the same step. It's been a hazard for at least a couple of years and the management apparently...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin D
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robin D Thank you for taking the opportunity in letting us know of your experience. I was pleased that the team ensured you had an enjoyable stay with us at the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel. We take seriously any concerns raised over the health and safety of our guests and appreciate your feedback regarding the bar access and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

A night at the White Hart was a comfortable and relaxing experience. Located a few minutes' walk from the Cathedral Close, it is ideally situated for tourists or business travellers alike. The staff were helpful and friendly, and the room quiet and comfortable. However, the dim lighting was such that it was almost impossible to read in bed. The bathroom,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amaryllis65
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear amaryllis65 Thank you for your recommendation. You are quite right the hotel is ideally situated for both those travelling for relaxation and leisure as well as those looking for a convenient business stay in the heart of the city of Salisbury. We appreciate all of the feedback given, rest assured the appropriate measures will be taken and your kind...

Reviewed 30 October 2016

We had our wedding at the hotel which was organised by Sarah. It was prefect, Sarah took care of everything. And the day was run superbly. Cannot speak highly enough of Sarah and her team. Although we don't plan to get married again, we would definitely stay at the hotel again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ian S Firstly congratulations! We really appreciate you taking the time in letting us know of your experience at the hotel and that Sarah came in for such praise in ensuring that all the planning was delivered on your big day. We look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind Regards Mark Postlethwaite General...

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 15 in Salisbury
879 reviews
0.9 km away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 15 in Salisbury
689 reviews
0.8 km away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#5 of 15 in Salisbury
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 15 in Salisbury
666 reviews
0.2 km away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#11 of 15 in Salisbury
347 reviews
4.9 km away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Squires Restaurant
Squires Restaurant
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This 17th century 3 star hotel with 68 en suite rooms stands in the centre of Salisbury overlooking the famous Cathedral. Ideal base to visit Stonehenge and the New Forest. 25 miles from Southampton Airport, 1 mile from Salisbury railway and coach station. The hotel features the award winning Squires Restaurant and Bar, a lounge, 3 conference suites and a free car park. Nearby local leisure facilities just a short walk away include swimming, sauna, squash, tennis, snooker, horse riding and golf. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Address: St. Johns Street | Wiltshire, Salisbury SP1 2SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Price Range: $113 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure White Hart Salisbury Hotel Salisbury
Accor White Hart Salisbury
Mercure Salisbury
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Addlestone, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Sequim, WA
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had 129 which was overlooking a side street and very quiet. Was a bit dark.”
 of 5 bubbles val292014, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the older part of the hotel have been modanisied”
 of 5 bubbles iansD5928OE, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I booked through Le Club Accor for the best rate.”
 of 5 bubbles ABCCCR, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms over extraction fans”
 of 5 bubbles eigbob, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No lift !no restaurant menu ,no water in room .....”
 of 5 bubbles 777MartinD, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay