We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

874 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 810: English reviews
Dorking, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed today NEW

Lovely old building and the Christmas atmosphere was wonderful and the staff very helpful and friendly. We had a premier room which was very comfortable with all the extras...coffee machine, tea-making, facilities, dressing gowns, slippers, hairdryer, shampoo etc. etc. The bed was very cosy due to a really thick duvet, but we could not get the room warm. It had... More 

Helpful?
Thank val292014
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Excellent for short or long stay in Salisbury, parking the car in the car park everything within walking distance, not driving again until departure. Hotel was satisfactory and value for money. Couple of minor issues, bar closed early on a Saturday night and had to wait for breakfast one morning-no tables available.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank V5822QJmartind
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear V5822QJmartind We appreciate you taking the time in letting us know of your recent enjoyable stay at the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel. Rest assured I will share you positive and kind words with the entire team as I am sure this will act as great motivation as we enter the busy festive period. I will also review the... More 

Devon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for one night in business. The hotel was seemingly very empty so why they felt the need to put me in a shabby room on the second floor, miles away from the stairs goodness only knows. Room faced the road so was very noisy meaning I had a poor night's sleep. Carpet was worn and threadbare in parts and... More 

Helpful?
Thank LarkrisetoCandleford
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LarkrisetoCandleford Firstly we appreciate you choosing the White Hart Hotel for your most recent business trip to Salisbury. I was disappointed to read of your concerns, and will share your comments with the team so that all the necessary actions can be taken. Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel prior to your next stay so that we... More 

Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed just one night to visit the town and cathedral and this hotel is perfectly located for both. We booked a privilege room which seemed good value, being reasonably sized with a table and seats plus tea/coffee and a free soft drinks mini bar. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The hotel is a bit worn as commented... More 

Helpful?
Thank John C
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John C Thank you for taking the opportunity in choosing one of the privilege rooms at the hotel with all the added extras to enable you to relax and enjoy your stay. I will share your comments with the team who will be as pleased as I am that you had an enjoyable one night stay. As you mentioned... More 

Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed with a friend for a weekend break. This place is clean and central but pretty bland and basic. The receptionist asked us the same question about our luggage 3 times! She clearly didn't actually listen to our response and came across as just "going through the motions". Room was hot and didn't have the best nights sleep. Toilet roll... More 

Helpful?
Thank Binny67
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Binny67 Thank you for choosing the White Hart Hotel for your weekend break in the historic city of Salisbury. The hotel is well located in the heart of city close as you mentioned to the many shops in the city centre as well as the many historic attractions that are in easy reach of the hotel, including the famous... More 

nottingham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

......the decor in the hotel generally and in our room in particular was very tired and in need of an overhaul as was the furniture, although the bed was very comfortable. The duty receptionist was excellent in handling a couple of problems we had with the room. A great location though which was a real bonus on a short stay.

Helpful?
Thank wanderingbees
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear wanderingbees Thank you for taking the time in letting us know of your experience following your recent stay with us in Salisbury. We appreciate your kind words for the Reception team and I was pleased that the accommodation provided was comfortable. We have taken on board your additional comments regarding the décor and I will share this with the... More 

York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 nights, staff were friendly. Breakfast was very good . Room was very tired, the curtains were badly damaged, but the bed was comfy enough. Was not expecting car parking charges, as seemed to be free on street at night. Nice view of the Cathedral. Communal areas all seemed nice, but could do with a bit of TLC.... More 

Helpful?
Thank David J
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David J Thank you for sharing your review following your most recent short break with us. And although I was pleased to note that the team came in for praise as did the quality of breakfast it will be the concerns that you raised that we will concentrate our efforts on to improve the quality of service we provide.... More 

Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having used The Mercure chain often we found this one to be well below their normal standard. The reception staff could not have been more helpful and were well informed and polite. The room was poor. badly lit making reading virtually impossible. The bathroom was very very small, dirty and tired. The shower was not possible to use as the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony B
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anthony B Thank you for choosing the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel. I was pleased to read that the Reception team came in for praise and that they were helpful, polite and well informed, rest assured that I will share your kind words with them. However I disappointed to read your concerns regarding the bathroom and quality of coffee,... More 

langport
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night. Our room was plain. The carpet was past its best, but the bed was good. The bathroom was very clean although the toilet seat was broken. We chose the hotel because I have difficulty walking any great distances, and it had its own car park. We were unaware that there was an additional fee of £6.50... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank wilson r
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear wilson r I appreciate you taking the time in posting your review. The hotel is ideally located for those wanting to explore the city with an on site car park which is charged at a reasonable rate for a city centre hotel. Thank you for informing me of the concerns regarding the accommodation which will be dealt with by... More 

Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I travel with my kid and just stay inWhite Hart for a night, and visit Stonehenge next morning. This hotel is traditional UK small to mid size hotel but room is big enough for two adults. Everything is petty in place just the carpet is not clean. This hire has come with a parking which is convenience for car travelers... More 

Helpful?
Thank Raymond_DELAYNOMORE
WhiteHartManager, General Manager at Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Raymond_DELAYNOMORE Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience at the Mercure Salisbury, White Hart Hotel. The hotel is situated in the heart of the historic city with an on site and convenient car park for those wanting to explore the city's attractions as well as the World Heritage site at Stonehenge. I have shared your comments... More 

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 15 in Salisbury
869 reviews
0.9 km away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 15 in Salisbury
689 reviews
0.8 km away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#5 of 15 in Salisbury
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 15 in Salisbury
664 reviews
0.2 km away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 15 in Salisbury
346 reviews
4.9 km away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Squires Restaurant
Squires Restaurant
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This 17th century 3 star hotel with 68 en suite rooms stands in the centre of Salisbury overlooking the famous Cathedral. Ideal base to visit Stonehenge and the New Forest. 25 miles from Southampton Airport, 1 mile from Salisbury railway and coach station. The hotel features the award winning Squires Restaurant and Bar, a lounge, 3 conference suites and a free car park. Nearby local leisure facilities just a short walk away include swimming, sauna, squash, tennis, snooker, horse riding and golf. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Address: St. Johns Street | Wiltshire, Salisbury SP1 2SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Price Range: $116 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure White Hart Salisbury Hotel Salisbury
Accor White Hart Salisbury
Mercure Salisbury
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Addlestone, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Sequim, WA
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had 129 which was overlooking a side street and very quiet. Was a bit dark.”
 of 5 bubbles val292014, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the older part of the hotel have been modanisied”
 of 5 bubbles iansD5928OE, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I booked through Le Club Accor for the best rate.”
 of 5 bubbles ABCCCR, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms over extraction fans”
 of 5 bubbles eigbob, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No lift !no restaurant menu ,no water in room .....”
 of 5 bubbles 777MartinD, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay