We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Swan Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Swan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

502 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 494: English reviews
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

I have been before because for such a lovely pub with beautiful rooms and stunning food it's also dog friendly. This time I came with my partner for our anniversary and absolutely nothing disappoints! Despite both of us being rather on the goth alternative side (!), everyone was as lovely as previous visits and we're having a truly wonderful time.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline D
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jacqueline D, Thank you for your kind words! I'm delighted that you had a wonderful time for your anniversary with us and hope you enjoyed your dinner, too! We hope you would come and stay again in future. Beata Slapikaite General Manager More 

Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Visited this hotel whilst staying in Littlehampton as have enjoyed their breakfasts before, I have to say the food was once again exceptional and the only reason I have not graded them excellent is because the staff seemed a little unorganized this time which was a shame. I'm not sure what had happened but it was just a bit hap... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adele72
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Adele72, Thank you for reviewing us. I am very pleased that you felt the food to be 'exceptional' but can only apologise if you felt things were a little unorganised on the morning you joined us. I will discuss this with my staff to ensure that we are providing a more streamlined service. I hope you will come back... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights and have no complaints. The room was comfortable,clean and nicely decorated. We Stayed in room 9 (whic is an executive double) and were pleased with it. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. My Brother was in room 3 (also an exective double) but he had a bit more... More 

Helpful?
Thank ghayet-patino
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ghayet-patino, Thank you for reviewing us! I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that you were comfortable. I am sorry to hear that the breakfast on the second day did not measure up to that on the first - I have a small but highly trained kitchen and front of house team and they... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2016

We decided to stay after recommendations and it did not disappoint. We stayed in an executive room, which had a bath and a large walk in shower Great room with added touches, particularly liked the fresh milk in a flask. All the bar staff were very friendly and had a great rapport with the locals. We were rang a few... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ken P
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ken P, Thank you for your extensive review. I'm thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you found the food excellent and the staff attentive. We look forward to seeing you again! Beata Slapikaite General Manager More 

kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Nice place to set base when going to Goodwood Festival of Speed. Clean rooms, with lovely little touches. Bathrooms could do with an upgrade, but otherwise clean. Pleasant bar, and restaurant, with a yummy breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank luca12
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear luca12, Thank you for reviewins us - I hope you had a great time at Goodwood. We're happy to hear that you thought the rooms were lovely and clean - will pass your comments on about the bathrooms and the breakfast! Beata Slapikaite General Manager More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Lovely rooms, they're up quite a steep staircase though so if you're not good with stairs be warned. Great breakfasts in the lovely dining room, the staff were all very friendly and it's perfectly situated near the entrance to the castle.

Helpful?
Thank Haddonhall
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Haddonhall, Thank you for reviewing us. I'm very glad that you thought the rooms lovely and staff friendly! We are quite lucky to be so close to the castle. I hope you would stay with us again. Beata Slapikaite General Manager More 

Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Stayed for two nights in a superior room. Although small it was well appointed, even included a fan for the hot days of summer! Staff were very friendly and efficient and the food was great. Enjoyed the champagne and oyster offer in the bar too. Would happily stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank linda f
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear linda f, Thank you for your comments. I am very pleased that you had such a comfortable stay and hope to see you again in future! Beata Slapikaite General Manager More 

Bath
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2016

A perfectly good choice for a single night stay. My bedroom wasn’t huge but was very comfortable and the bathroom was clean and modern. There was no view from the room other than rooftops and it was a little noisy from the kitchen equipment. There was an enormous fan in the room, which was magnificent at cooling but also made... More 

Helpful?
Thank milkyway01
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear milkyway01, Thank you for reviewing. I am pleased that you were very comfortable in your room. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the food, but grateful that you left feedback when checking out as giving verbal feedback is a really efficient way to inform us when we are doing something that is not up... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

We booked a superior room, which cost £135 a night. The room ( no. 11 ) was not superior in anyway and did not look like the standard in their website photos. I didn't mind that the room was small, but it had stained carpet and marks over the walls. The bathroom starting to look shabby too. For the money... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank rachel b
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rachel b, Thank you for your balanced review. I am sorry if you felt that the room was not of the standard you were expecting - I will ask my housekeeping team to look into these stains and the standard of the room as the room was refurbished a couple of years ago so should still be in good... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We didn't stay here but went for a meal. Appearances are deceptive - everything looks good - wooden floors and tables - but they seemed to over reach themselves with what was quite a simple menu. Stodgy risotto and a very average quiche.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris M, Thank you for reviewing us. I am sorry to hear that you found our food to be disappointing. Our risottos usually receive a good response so I am unsure if the chefs overcooked yours, and if so I can only apologise. I will pass your comments on to the kitchen team. Beata Slapikaite General Manager More 

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.1 km away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
727 reviews
4.4 km away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#4 of 7 in Arundel
1,726 reviews
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Arundel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
194 reviews
18.2 km away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chichester
735 reviews
6.3 km away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Swan Pub
The Swan Pub
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Grade Two listed building in the heart of the West Sussex market town of Arundel, The Swan Hotel is a traditional country pub with rooms, affording those enjoying the peaceful surroundings of the South Downs to stay a little longer and sample our fine food, too. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 27-29 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AG, England (Formerly Arundel Swan Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Price Range: $141 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Arundel, West Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Swan Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Roseville, California
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago
2 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Visit The Cathedral Church of Our Lady and St Philip Howard Catholic cathedral.”
 of 5 bubbles HerbertBaumann, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Travel light”
 of 5 bubbles fisherman251, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Check directly with the hotel if you want to make sure that you get a room with enough space.”
 of 5 bubbles Jo1Surrey, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front are quite noisey.”
 of 5 bubbles corrinas371, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 6, double aspect, first floor front corner, bath with integral shower.”
 of 5 bubbles 939richardl939, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay