We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Swan Hotel

Booking.comUSD 100*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 100*
USD 100*
USD 100*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Swan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

591 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 583: English reviews
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

We have spent quite a few weekends over the last few years in Arundel and have always had excellent service and looked forward to visiting this pub. Last weekend we went in on Friday night as a family group of five adults. One over 60, two over 40, one 25 and one 18. We had the usual great experience. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LB7575
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LB7575, Firstly, I am pleased to hear that you have visited previously on several occasions and enjoyed your time with us. I am sorry if you felt that there was some inconsistency in the way that you were treated over the few days that you were with us, however we have been training some newer staff members and reminding...

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Overnight (public) car parking proved NOT to be a problem. We enjoyed our stay -dinner + B&B. We'd book again.We liked the sensitive way in which the bedroom area of this old building had been modernised.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian B, Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is lovely to know that you liked the way the boutique bedrooms have been modernised and that you were pleased with your stay and dinner. We look forward to seeing you again some time. Beata Slapikaite General Manager

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

I arranged a short midweek break for my wife and I to have a bit of time to ourselves away, and couldn't be happier with the Swan. The staff were excellent, even keeping the kitchen open for us as we arrived later than expected. The food and drink were all of a high standard and the cocktails were particularly good....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark S, Thank you for your comments. It is great to hear that you "couldn't be happier" with us! My team have been working particularly hard on researching and creating quality cocktails lately so I'm pleased to know that you enjoyed them. I am a big believer in fresh milk for teas and coffees - I think it makes...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Thoroughly enjoyable stay in a very comfortable room. Facilities in the rooms are very good considering the affordable room prices. Beds are modern and very comfortable. Very kind staff and excellent food. Highly recommended!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank romek28
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear romek28, Thank you for reviewing us. I'm delighted that you found the stay thoroughly enjoyable and that you would highly recommend us. I hope you would consider staying again in future. Beata Slapikaite General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We arrived at midday yesterday (Remembrance Sunday) and the place was very busy with people quaffing wine and having lunch. The 2 chaps behind the bar were really nice, smiling, friendly. We asked if they had a table, (we weren't hopeful) they didn't make a fuss or say the usual 'have you booked?' (when we obviously hadn't or we wouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KP4362
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KP4362, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm pleased that we were able to accomodate you on a busy Sunday and that you found the food to be excellent and the staff nice. I'm lucky to have people in my team that genuinely do enjoy their job! Thank you for the constructive comment about the banquette...

Midhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

If you like black mould, cramped rooms and terrible coffee this is the place to stay. The location in centre of Arundel was brilliant. Stayed for our daughters wedding so luckily didn't have to spend too much time in room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan103172323
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan103172323, Thank you for reviewing us. I hope your daughter had a lovely wedding and I'm glad that the location was convenient for you. I will be speaking to my housekeeping team with regard to the cleanliness as I take this very seriously. Thank you for drawing this to my attention. The boutique rooms all vary in size and...

Coulsdon
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Staff very good food excellent room small bathroom poor They need to review there bathrooms to visit again I would need to now that they have updated their bathrooms was not made aware that is was rover the bath shower not sutable for to older people

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank V6320GOcp
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear V6320GOcp, Thank you for reviewing us. It is good to know that you felt the staff and food were good. Each boutique room is individual in the sense that they are uniquely decorated, different shapes and sizes due to the old building, and also with differing facilities. I apologise if you did not realise that the shower would be...

Yapton
Reviewed 11 November 2016

Overall had a good stay, the rooms are lovely and clean with all the facilities you need. In a great location with a car park just behind. However I would not have dinner there again, poor service with limited menu and not great food.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 706tylera
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 706tylera, Thank you for your review. Firstly I am pleased that you approved of our rooms and location. Secondly, we usually get quite postive feedback with regard to our food but I am always keen to know specific feedback on what we can do to improve, and would appreciate it if you took the time to email me any...

Horsham
Reviewed 11 November 2016

Spontaneous booking, stayed at Norfolk Arms last time but loved the Swan. The room was very cute, loved the decor, seaside theme. Very clean and smart. Staff very friendly, good atmosphere. Breakfast, good choice and tasty

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lyndap266
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lyndap266, Thank you for taking the time to review us - we're pleased that you spontaneously chose us! I hope you had a lovely birthday and perhaps we'll see you again in future. Beata Slapikaite General Manager

Wigborough
Reviewed 10 November 2016

Highly recommended a great place to stay, always very welcoming and great food. We have stayed on many occasions. Great choice of food for evening meal and always an excellent breakfast. Staff very professional and ready to help

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 336justineb
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 336justineb, Thank you for your comments. I'm delighted to hear that you have stayed many times and enjoy our food and hospitality. We will no doubt see you in future! Beata Slapikaite General Manager

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.1 km away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
908 reviews
4.4 km away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
1,907 reviews
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Arundel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
209 reviews
0.8 km away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
81 reviews
6.5 km away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Swan Pub
The Swan Pub
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Grade Two listed building in the heart of the West Sussex market town of Arundel, The Swan Hotel is a traditional country pub with rooms, affording those enjoying the peaceful surroundings of the South Downs to stay a little longer and sample our fine food, too. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 27-29 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AG, England (Formerly Arundel Swan Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Price Range: $133 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Arundel, West Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Swan Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Roseville, California
over a year ago
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago
7 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get a room on the back of hotel if you want some peace.”
maureenjulia, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 9,10 and 11 are not directly above the bar, and do not overlook the main road, so may be the quietest”
zensilence, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Visit The Cathedral Church of Our Lady and St Philip Howard Catholic cathedral.”
HerbertBaumann, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Travel light”
fisherman251, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Check directly with the hotel if you want to make sure that you get a room with enough space.”
Jo1Surrey, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 100* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 100
PricelineUSD 100
TravelocityUSD 100
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates