We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Macdonald Ansty Hall

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Macdonald Ansty Hall
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Ansty Hall
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,178: English reviews
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2016

Nice hotel,lovely rooms comfy bed,but one price for breakfast £17.50 even if it's only toast and coffee,,,,didn't realise till we paid our bill,eat all you can to get your money's worth,I don't even pay this in London

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina K
Gordon H, Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review

Dear Tina K I am very sorry that you feel our pricing is for breakfast is expensive. The price for our full English breakfast and unlimited buffet is in line with other hotels in this area of the same four-star standard and we feel that we offer good value given our location and facilities. However in your case it appears...

Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2016

Just under a half hour from Birmingham Airport. Reception in the main Georgian building, with most of the accommodation in a separate block a short walk away...fine if the weather isn't being too British! Highlights for me were the food in the restaurant and the service that went with it. Enjoyed a fine a la carte dinner and a top-notch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CheshireJon
Gordon H, Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review

Dear CheshireJon I am delighted that you enjoyed our AA rosette restaurant experience and will pass your comments across directly to both the Kitchen and Restaurant teams. I am naturally disappointed that your room wasn't up to our usual high standards and will address the points highlighted with our head housekeeper directly to ensure that there is no recurrence of...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2016

Lovely feature king room in main house, superb food and service at dinner, excellent value, especially with £10 credit for booking direct. Very relaxing stay, would definitely recommend and will visit agsin.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
Gordon H, Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review

Richard R Our Feature rooms I have to agree are spectacular and I am please you thought so too. We have some great booking offers on our website that you can book direct with ourselves that run throughout the year and I look forward to welcoming you back to Ansty Hall if you take one up. Regards Gordon Harby Operations...

Rugby
Reviewed 2 February 2016

Food was average, service was okay and around half 10 (according to the CCTV) 2 of the cars from the party had their cars stolen. The most frustrating part was that as the theft was discovered and the police were called, the barman (who was also looking after every other role) became difficult to pin down for a drink. In...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B8149SKclaired
Gordon H, Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review

Dear B8149SKclaired I am sorry your visit didn't live up to our usual high standard. I will speak to the bar and kitchen teams regarding your comments. The car theft although not a pleasant experience for those involved is I'm pleased to say an extremely very rare occurrence in the area. Our security and electronic gates provide a safe parking...

Dortmund
Reviewed 1 February 2016

I very much appreciated the spacious room and the service - particular the friendly and attentive breakfast service. I also had a drink a the bar - to be recommended. I very much liked the location and the grand house.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank desireeb483
Gordon H, Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review

Desireeb483 Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your stay .I will pass your comments over to all the teams especially the breakfast team. I look forward to seeing you here again at Ansty Hall. Regards Gordon Harby Operations Manager

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2016

Excellent hotel, Resturant , breakfast , rooms, stayed at this hotel for over 10 years and perfect for visiting the Coventry or Midlands area gray rooms , great food, fab staff and 5 star service great traditional English hotel,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlastairWheeler
Gordon H, Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review

Alastair I am so happy that even after 10 years you continue to support Macdonald Hotels by staying here at Ansty Hall. We proud ourselves on offering the very best service, food and location and find it a pleasure when we see guests come back to us time and time again. We look forward to seeing you on your next...

DONCASTER - UK
Reviewed 30 January 2016

Stayed two nights midweek. Room was quiet, clean and fully equipped Staff were welcoming and friendly Dinner menu is limited in choice. The food is well prepared, tasty. Breakfast from 7am, not a minute earlier! Dopnt turn up early as the dining room doors are locked (and bolted) Beware the cooked breakfast plates, they are dangerously HOT.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KThewanderer
Gordon H, Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review

Dear Tripadvisor user KThewanderer I am pleased that you enjoyed your dinner in our rosette winning restaurant. Our menus constantly change to provide the use of fresh in season ingredients so hopefully you shall find a more diverse menu on your next visit. We do offer an early breakfast option in your room or takeaway should you wish to eat...

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2016

Welcome, grounds, staff, dining in library , dinner, room, bed , breakfast all first class- nothing to fault and great base location well worth the stay for somewhere offering a slightly different offer first class

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mabdad1
Gordon H, Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review

Mabdad1 Many thanks for your great review. The library is the perfect place for dinner whether it be with family or business with great views across our lawns. Regards Gordon Harby Operations Manager

Ruislip
Reviewed 29 January 2016

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. Had breakfast, lunch and dinner here and the food was lovely. Room was very spacious. TV did not work when I got to my room but called reception and it was sorted within half hour. The room was very hot and the shower was not marvellous but as it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christinerE3212VZ
Gordon H, Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review

ChristinerE3212VZ I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and will pass your comments over the Kitchen team regarding your lovely food. I have to agree our grounds are fantastic and even more so in the summer. I'm glad we were quickly able to sort the issue with your TV and look forward to welcoming you back to Ansty Hall soon....

Bury st Edmunds
Reviewed 26 January 2016

On 20th January I booked a table for 3 in the Main Dining Room for 1 pm. We arrived at the hotel at 12.45 and spoke to main receptionist who agreed our booking. On entering the dining room we were "Accosted" by a woman (not a staff member) who stated "This is a private function. Please leave" The staff (waitresses)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geoffrey c
Gordon H, Manager at Macdonald Ansty Hall, responded to this review

Dear Geoffrey c Please accept my apologies for the confusion regarding your recent visit to us here at Ansty Hall. We did indeed have a private booking for lunch in the restaurant that day until 1pm and as you point out we where aware and ready for your booking at 1pm. I am sorry that I didn't get chance to...

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (149)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
4.0 km away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#2 of 39 in Coventry
2,495 reviews
9.1 km away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
11.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
10.5 km away
Village Hotel Coventry
Village Hotel Coventry
#8 of 39 in Coventry
1,637 reviews
11.4 km away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#19 of 39 in Coventry
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Macdonald Ansty Hall is a grade II listed Georgian mansion dating back to 1678 and set in 8 acres of grounds in the rolling Warwickshire countryside. 62 bedrooms, restaurant, meetings and conferences for up to 140 delegates, corporate activities, weddings, family events, banquets, festive events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Ansty Hall

Address: Main Road, Coventry CV7 9HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Price Range: $118 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Ansty Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald Ansty Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Ansty Hall Coventry
Macdonald Ansty Hall Hotel Coventry
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coventry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#5 Family Hotel in Coventry
#6 Business Hotel in Coventry
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Ansty Hall staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Dartford, United Kingdom
7 months ago
norfolk uk
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Ansty Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms in the annexe are larger”
 of 5 bubbles Z2886GPscottt, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the old hall have more character”
 of 5 bubbles , 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The annex rooms are very big.”
 of 5 bubbles DRG54, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The two main feature rooms are fantastic”
 of 5 bubbles Katyrh13, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 4 has a fantastic view of the extremely well kept gardens”
 of 5 bubbles JC7671, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay