We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

409 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 403: English reviews
London
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Marooned in a post industrial wasteland surrounded by dual carriageways and rather dirty looking canals this is not a hotel for a romantic getaway or for views of the rolling hills and dales. However for a clean, reasonably priced short stay with convenient motorway access and a decent breakfast and wi-fi in the price it was fine. Clean room, decent...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hungerfordbee
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2016

This hotel is at the very bottom of the IHG Brand standard. Check in is a bit shambolic, the restaurant is tired and the food is basic to say the least. The real issue is the noise in the rooms, my window would not shut which led to some road noise, but the sound insulation between rooms is so poor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 929ScottB929
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Room was nice, although they have a separate area for smokers the door was left open at the front and I think staff were smoking out there too, and the smoke was coming into the bar and lounge area, which started to get a bit pungent so we decided to go upstairs to our room and finish our drinks in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taciamemory
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

I have stayed here twice now and cannot fault this property. Free carpark to begin with and breakfast included as its a holiday inn express. Rooms are spacious and comfy. Nice and clean too. Iron provided in my room this time so i did not have to go and collect it from the reception. Water also provided to drink in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Billyexperiences
Malta
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

As a frequent HIE guest I can frankly say that compared to recent stays, the Star City was quite a disappointment. The place is old and feels old. Tired furniture at the front desk; stained filthy carpeting throughout and one heck of a noisy elevator. Numerous splattted insects on walls and ceiling, cobwebs and spiders. Cracked groutwork on bathroom tiles,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GOH77
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this review

Dear GOH77, Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a review during your recent business travel. We appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and we apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort caused by the overall cleanliness, the dining experience that prevented you from fully enjoying your time at...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Stayed here with 2 children for 1 night for visiting Cadbury World and Drayton Manor The room was nice but needs modernising I think the hotel is old and I had to remove 2 big spiders from the room, with 2 young kids, this did not go as bad as it could have I thought it was a quite area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank muhammad7832016
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this review

Dear muhammad7832016, Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for taking the time to share your comments. We appreciate the high rating you gave to our location and staff service. However, it is disheartening to know that you did not entirely enjoy your stay with us due to the issues you had with the room. I would...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2016

This hotel is easy to find and in a good location, it offers good value for money,the bedrooms are quiet clean and spacious and the bathrooms have a good shower The free breakfast is very good and all of the staff are really helpfull and friendly I will definately stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ViaggioVista
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Hairs on the bed, sheets and in the bed as well as stains and hairs in the bathroom in first room. In the second room still hairs in the bathroom, what standards they have here is completely unacceptable. At breakfast there was at least 1 alive bug walking around the toast machine throughout the duration of breakfast, nobody restocked the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dj800
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this review

Dear Dj800, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience, however, it appears we fell short of our goal on your visit. We would like to apologize for failing to meet your expectations regarding the condition of the rooms you were...

nottingham
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Was due to stay here on the 20/8 had a "confirmed" internet booking for a room then whilst in transit to the hotel was left a voicemail to tell me my booking was canceled as they didn't have room! on ringing back no offer to help find alternatives no apology just a resolute we don't have room so we have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KD_notts
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this review

Dear KD_notts, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the experience you had with your reservation and for inconvenience it may have caused you. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon. Sincerely,...

Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Nice and quiet hotel within easy reach of star city. Had everything you needed in an express, and the staff that I spoke to are very friendly. Nice big rooms with massive showers, and breakfast was the usual express start. The only downside I have is finding the entrance to the the hotel. Not very well signed but I believe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil P

136 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 141 in Birmingham
3,064 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#24 of 141 in Birmingham
861 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Address: Cuckoo Road, Heartlands Parkway Nechells, Birmingham B7 5SB, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Star City)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: $82 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Birmingham Star City Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Blueberry Hotel
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont stay on the second floor”
 of 5 bubbles JaneD252, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles stumpysbird, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book Early for good room rates”
 of 5 bubbles grendall69, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back would be quieter but did not notice much noise at the front”
 of 5 bubbles hungerfordbee, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles 929ScottB929, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay