We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Briar Rose Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Briar Rose Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

952 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 939: English reviews
Start your review of The Briar Rose Hotel
 Click to rate
Tockwith
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Staff were fantastic, helping me print off some documents i required, however the WiFi in my room was fairly terrible, and when i needed to go to sleep, there was a terrible sound from the pipes from the floor above. Combined with an early wake up time, i only managed about 4 hours sleep.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrismattstephenson
Longford, Ireland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed for 3 nights while at the first 2 days of the Cheltenham Festival races. Great location, Friendly staff, good sized, clean room, comfortable bed nothing to complain about at all until 6:00 am when the noisiest beer delivery i've ever heard arrived. The drayman seemed intent on making as much of a racket as possible with the beer kegs...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jim1886
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jim1886, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff helpful and friendly. Please accept our apologies for the noise disturbance you encountered during you stay. We shall pass this feedback along to our management team so the appropriate action...

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

location - perfect (5 mins from new st and right in main part of city) staff - friendly rooms - comfortable & clean and a wetherspoons so a pub underneath for cheap drink and food what can possibly be not too like, will use again when in area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thechelskiranger
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review

Dear thechelskiranger, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff helpful and friendly. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Many thanks, The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went on the way to the quiz at the Crown wanted a quick cheap tea was there at 5.45 and could get served at the bar but struggled with tables. Drinks cold and cheap, food hot and quick did exactly what we wanted. have stayed here the rooms are ok for the price as you would expect fixtures dated but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley W
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lesley W, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to see that you have enjoyed your visit to our pub. Kind Regards, The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Stourbridge
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I ordered breakfast after spending the night in the hotel. He ordered the full English whilst I ordered a bowl of porridge. We expected to be served at approximately the same time so that we could eat together. My husband's breakfast arrived and we waited, expecting my bowl of porridge to arrive within a few minutes. After...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolmid
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carolmid, Please accept our apologies for the disappointing breakfast you had in the pub. Hear at the Briar Rose we set ourselves with the highest of standards, unfortunately sometimes we may fall short of these standard, and for this we apologies. We shall pass this feedback along to the Bar Management team and if you would like to discuses...

Oakham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Reception on arrival was friendly and no hassle. Room was big enough for both of us to move about in with no problem. Room was clean and tidy. Shower was brill. We went out 14.00 till 22.00(to a concert) the mrs went to bed while I tested another brew from the bar. She had the key. But reception sorted it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Burgy60
BriarRosehotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Burgy60, Thank You for taking the time to leave us a lovely 5* review. The Team at the Briar really appreciate all the feedback we get from our guests and we hope to see you returning in the near future. Kind Regards, The Briar Rose Hotel Team

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really great value for money. We paid £65 for a night and really pleased with what we got. Rooms are clean and spacious with good tea, coffee and water. Shower is excellent for a hotel. Only issue was bed a bit hard. Would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ace28065
BriarRosehotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ace28065, Thank You for taking the time to leave a review from your stay with us. All the staff are delighted to hear you enjoyed you stay, We do hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Briar Rose Hotel Team

Charlton
Reviewed 1 week ago

Have stayed here several times with friends and also family. Will stay again without any hesitation. Have recommended this hotel to friends. Easy to get to from Birmingham Central Station. Breakfast is very good value and a good choice on menu. Staff are very friendly and helpful from reception staff and across the board.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tinkerwintersw
BriarRosehotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tinkerwintersw, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely 5* review. The Team at the Briar Rose are delighted to hear that you enjoyed another stay with us. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind Regards, The Briar Rose Hotel Team

County Meath, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here recently travelling as a family of 7 with 2 children under 5. we were here for 2 nights in order to visit cadbury world and Thomas land. The hotel is extremely central, its above a wetherspoons which is very reasonable for food and drink, staff are friendly and chatty and we had no problems with our stay....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kims2rey
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kims3rey, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff helpful. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Compared to colleagues staying in Brum for the same event, I was paying less than half. Staff were very friendly, and the room was surprisingly spacious and very clean. I had worried that the pub would be noisy, but I had no difficulty getting to sleep. However, I was woken up before 6am by what sounded like barrels being thrown...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Unclutt3r3d
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Unclutt3r3d, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff helpful. Please accept our apologies for any noise disturbance you encountered during your stay, we shall pass these comments along to our management team. We hope to see you again in...

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
#35 of 117 in Birmingham
2,890 reviews
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#93 of 117 in Birmingham
492 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#58 of 117 in Birmingham
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally located right in the centre of the vibrant city of Birmingham, The Briar Rose welcomes business and tourist visitors alike. We have 40 individual bedrooms, many with high, vaulted ceilings. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea and coffee-making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. FREE Wi-Fi is available in the bar area. Irons and ironing boards are available upon request. Dental hygiene and shaving kits are available to purchase from reception. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Briar Rose Hotel

Address: 25 Bennetts Hill, Birmingham B2 5RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Price Range: $63 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Briar Rose Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Briar Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briar Rose Birmingham
Briar Rose Hotel Birmingham
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#35 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Briar Rose Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
7 months ago
London, United Kingdom
10 months ago
Newcastle, United Kingdom

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The Briar Rose Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Those at the rear of the holiday are quieter. Ours certainly was - room 401”
 of 5 bubbles Tuccillo, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the front although maybe a little noisy from the street would have more natural light”
 of 5 bubbles SullyLancs44, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors maybe a bit quieter”
 of 5 bubbles little5xt, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles LadyJuliaB, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Dont have a room in the front of the hotel if you are a light sleeper due to road noise first thing in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles 647Mark, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5