We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Paragon Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Paragon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,115: English reviews
Start your review of Paragon Hotel
 Click to rate
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our hearts sank on arrival - the area not particularly good, the car park a bit of a mess but free and welcome. We were going to a wedding until late but were told that all was well and that we could book in any time up to 2am by a very pleasant receptionist. (All staff most friendly). Having read...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay K
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed here before. It was about 2 years ago, then it was sturdy old fashion, a bit shabby, but functioning, clean, friendly and it had history and character. Now, it's been "refurbed".......interesting interpretation. It's been painted, new tacky furniture install. You can feel every spring in the mattress. The shower fell apart when you turned in on, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bubblesanne2014
Management response:

Thank you for your review which is somewhat disappointing, and I do apologise that you had cause to complain as so many of our guests are very pleased with the tasteful modern new décor, and with the very reasonable charge for a clean comfortable room with free continental breakfast and free parking all so close to the town centre.

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night in Feb 17. Ideal location for local bars/nightlife. Parking was in secure locked area so no issues with parking. Was welcomed by staff on arrival who were polite and helpful. The room was basic but clean and tidy and a good size for two people (we were in a twin room). Bathroom was also clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grifflee
Management response:

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. As regards the ironing facility, while we regret that you burnt a hole in a piece of your clothing, the irons are all steam irons with individual temperature controls for you to adjust yourself to suit the instructions on the garment you are ironing. The Paragon provides...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortunately, I can’t say this was the best Hotel experience I have had. On arrival, the Hotel seemed nice, but that quickly changed. My primary compliant was the cold room temperature. It took around three quarters of an hour for me to fall asleep, Staring at the damp, sodden celling. I woke up repeatedly in the night shivering. The bed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jamwall7
Management response:

Thank you for your review and while I sincerely apologise for any lapses in our services that may have caused such dissatisfaction, I would like to assure you that the rooms are checked daily to ensure that all fittings are in correct working order, and on further inspection, and also from your personal details I am not able to identify...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good price, stayed for one night. Not far from town centre. Looks like work is being done, rooms recently pained, new carpet, bathroom really clean and bed really clean. Bit noisy when other guests came in. That's not the hotels fault, silly drunk people.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sekenefick
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your recent stay at the Paragon. Its great to learn that you enjoyed your stay so thank you and we hope you'll stay with us again soon. P.S. sorry about the silly drunk people...I'm hoping they had a good evening and a really enjoyable stay too.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On arrival saw its a fabulous old building. The car park is packed with mattresses and looks like where you'd have your weekly meet-up up with your crack dealer. The room had 3 broken light bulbs and the sink was blocked. The bed was two single beds pushed together and disguised with the bed sheets as a double bed. You...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mass_confusion27
Management response:

Thank you for your review and I'm sorry to learn of the problems you encountered, for which I apologise and would appreciate it if you could let me know directly the room number and date of your stay so that I can track down the room checks prior to your stay to establish how you were allocated that room. The...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Rooms are comfy. Seems to have had a re fresh. Bathrooms big but very cold. Walls are quite thin and you can hear everything from the corridor. Bedding was nice and so was the quilt. Wouldn't stay again. Although it was good value for money so if your on a budget it's worth looking into. Car park how ever next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mancsman2012
Management response:

Thank you for your review and I'm pleased that you had a comfortable stay but I do apologise for the poor soundproofing to the corridor. The lower unused portion of the car park is being used as a temporary storage for old mattresses following room refurbishments prior to disposal, they will all be removed very soon. I will also pass...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

staff were rude and had issues with remote which took all night to fix. rooms where tiny almost like prison cells. ( we saw a ghost in the middle of the night) and in the morning we heard chain sores. please never stay here worst mistake of my life. never going back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank demicameronxx
Management response:

I was sorry and somewhat surprised to read your review, and would appreciate it if you could let me know which staff were rude as we certainly do not tolerate such behaviour and you have clearly identified the need for additional customer service training, so thank you for that. You saw a ghost in the middle of the night ?...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Worst hotel I've ever stayed in tiny freezing cold rooms very dated boiling shower can't change temperature hot water comes out of cold tap cold water out of hot tap. Heater does not work terrible area. Car park a slum.i would be better off sleeping in my works van

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vincent E
Management response:

I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. All rooms are provided with modern wall fixed electric heaters for you to control the temperature in your room while additional heaters are available from Reception on request. Please let me know the number of the room you occupied so that your complaint about the taps can be...

Paris, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked single room with breakfast. The price was best as compared to other hotels in the area and i booked through booking.com . The staff and reception were very friendly and welcoming. My room for 1 person was fairly ok considering its not a 5 star hotel and had everything. I had a very pleasant and calm stay and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kbukhari
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your stay at the Paragon Hotel. We understand that pricing is important and are pleased that with us you had the best price offered. We are also pleased that you felt the staff were friendly and welcoming, your room had everything considering it is not a five star hotel, breakfast...

790 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (770)
Viewed
Room/Suite (111)
Viewed
Bathroom (72)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (135)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (434)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#56 of 115 in Birmingham
1,032 reviews
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
#71 of 115 in Birmingham
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#28 of 115 in Birmingham
894 reviews
Campanile Birmingham
#96 of 115 in Birmingham
481 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 115 in Birmingham
2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Paragon Hotel

Address: 145 Alcester Street, Birmingham B12 0PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: $46 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paragon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Paragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paragon Hotel Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Paragon Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Paragon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Are you sober now?”
 of 5 bubbles Jamwall7, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't! book it”
 of 5 bubbles 589derrick1961, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“you had better not stay in room 412”
 of 5 bubbles Pablos690_1, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Another hotel”
  • Mould on wall beside bed
 of 5 bubbles Caswell19, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles ChristineM507, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5