We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Malmaison Birmingham

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Malmaison Birmingham
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

2,060 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Malmaison Birmingham
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,046: English reviews
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have used this hotel a lot over the years and really appreciated the refurbed look. However I think I will give it a Miss next time I need a hotel in Birmingham. Why? Well no big disasters but... The room was cold and thermostat stuck on 16 degrees so no heat was coming out of the ventilator. How long...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Christopher M
Damian G, Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Christopher, I'm sorry for your poor recent experience at Mal Birmingham, I don't think that this represents our regular offering but equally will use your feedback to address your concerns and help improve our service levels. Very best regards, Damian

Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wanted a hotel that was close to the Barclaycard arena that had a quirky feel to it. This hotel fits the bill. It's not the closest or the cheapest to the venue but it was perfect for us. It was only 6mins walk from New street station and less than 15mins walk to the arena/Brindley place. The hotel itself has...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Natalie B
Damian G, Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Natalie, I'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay at Malmaison Birmingham; it certainly is an exciting hotel to work in. I hope to welcome you back again soon. Very best regards, Damian

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked the breakfast, dinner deal for a 2 nights stay and can not fault the great quality of the food, similar to a previous review there was a £2 surcharge for a cooked breakfast but I didn't use its as the quality and quantity available as continental was great. The 3 course set menu for dinner was superb, a highlight...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SaraTravels22
Damian G, Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Sara, Thanks for your review of your stay at Malmaison Birmingham. I will be sure to pass on your kind words about our restaurant to the team. Very best regards, Damian

Droitwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here just before Xmas, and found it to be a very nice hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the rooms are clean and well presented. The location was ideal, and there is an adjacent car park. Highlights for me were the shower, and the excellent breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TysonRolo
Damian G, Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear TysonRolo, I'm glad to see you enjoyed your recent stay and that you decided to share this via TripAdvisor. I hope to welcome you back again soon. Very best regards, Damian

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here on xmas eve. It was part of a £99 deal with dinner. It was such great value. A fantastic room and the quality of the food was also very good at dinnerware . Breakfast was continental with a small surcharge for cooked, quality was again very good. I would defiantly book again on another deal.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jason E
Damian G, Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Jason, Thanks for the great review. The dbb package you booked really does represent great value! I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Very best regards, Damian

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was expecting great things, and was very disappointed No corkscrew in room (to open half-bottle of wine from mini-bar), so rang reception. Half-an-hour later, it hadn't arrived and I rang again. Receptionist said she'd personally bring up the corkscrew. Half-an-hour later, receptionist rang me to ask if the corkscrew had been delivered. I said it hadn't; she said she'd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RafatheGaffer
Damian G, Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Rafathegaffer, Thank you for your feedback, which I will go back to the team with. Please accept my apologies that things weren't as either of us would have expected. Very best regards, Damian

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place needs to have an injection of energy. The place just seems a little dirty around the edges. The phone chargers in the room didn't work and the basin didn't drain very well which was pretty annoying. A a pet hate of mine - the maids start knocking on your door early and wake you.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Matthew B
Damian G, Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Matthew, I'm sorry we only provided an ok experience - I will certainly pass your feedback onto the team. I hope you allow us an opportunity to show we are better than your previous stay. Very best regards, Damian

Cannock
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here at the weekend, fantastic hotel! The room was massive with a big double bed and even the bathroom was a good size with a big bath! As we were celebrating our anniversary they gave us a free glass of champagne, nice touch! Perfect location to the mailbox obviously which we wanted it for! Cannot rave about this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Claireodonnell1989
Damian G, Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Claire, Thank you for your lovely review; it's always pleasing to know when our guests have had a great stay. I hope to welcome you back again soon. Very best regards, Damian

Northampton
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed the first weekend in January for my mum's birthday and loved it. The hotel is very modern and clean, and the rooms very spacious with comfy beds. We were surprised with a complimentary prosecco in the bar which was also lovely! Next to The Mailbox, the location is great, just a 5-10 minute walk into the centre and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kelly_0412
Damian G, Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Kelly, Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you again soon. Very best regards, Tom

Eccleshall
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here with a friend as a present for Christmas. We stayed over on New Years Eve in room 212. At check in the staff were helpful with complimentary Mince pies and Prosecco, which was a thoughtful touch. The room was fine although a little dark with quirky comic prints decorating the walls of the room. The three small criticisms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bartonsmpson
Damian G, Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Bartonsmpson, Thanks for the review and I'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay. I'll pass your feedback regarding the sink and AC onto our maintenance team to sort out but I'm sorry it wasn't addressed prior to your arrival. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Very best regards, Damian

458 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (447)
Viewed
Room/Suite (111)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (261)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 115 in Birmingham
868 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 115 in Birmingham
2,630 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 115 in Birmingham
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#39 of 115 in Birmingham
1,383 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#30 of 115 in Birmingham
890 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#11 of 115 in Birmingham
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Malmaison Birmingham

Address: The Mailbox 1 Wharfside Street, Birmingham B1 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Price Range: $154 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Malmaison Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Malmaison Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Malmaison Hotel
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#33 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Malmaison Birmingham staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Malmaison Birmingham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There was no need for an upgrade to a superior room, My tip? Relax and enjoy.”
 of 5 bubbles adeandsylv, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go for the deals they have on their website”
 of 5 bubbles Deano150, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't get a room by the lifts.”
 of 5 bubbles , 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you leave plenty of time for breakfast (service slow)”
 of 5 bubbles jandmtennant, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't pay extra for the Havana Suite.”
 of 5 bubbles , 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay