We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

Booking.comUSD 73*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

988 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
See the most recent reviews
Showing 968: English reviews
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Nice hotel in NEC. found it cheaper as compared to other hotels in the area. Rooms were very clean & spacious. Breakfast was good. Has a ample of parking place but its chargeable to the customers who stay in hotel. Staff was cooperative. Room service was not good. We had mentioned to change the towels, but they forgot to do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darshit B
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Darshit B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We appreciate all feedback and I can see overall you enjoyed your stay. I will feedback your comments to our housekeeping team as we do believe in keeping promises to our guest. We hope you continue to use Holiday Inn Express in the...

south east
Reviewed 29 February 2016

booked a double room on check in only twin room available duty manager and female receptionist were rude and couldn't care less about problem of room type and said if didn't like it tough as they couldn't do nothing about it . Room was cold and when turned wall heater on it was so dusty the room stank of burning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank highly_displeased
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review we value all feedback both good and bad so that we are able to improve the overall service that we offer our guests. I can appreciate that when your required room type is not available it is frustrating. We honour all room types when they are booked on...

Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2016

When I'm on an intensive few days of budget business travel I don't pay too much attention to the hotel and don't expect much back either. However, this Holiday Inn Express stood out despite its location and inevitably transient guests. I assume that the building is brand new - or at least appears so - so everything is in great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Nick P, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I will be sure to share the lovely comments with the team. We hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back again soon Regards Fiona General Manager

boston spa
Reviewed 18 February 2016

Stayed on a Sunday night, usually a quiet night for hotels and reflected in the room rate. price for previous Sunday when nothing on at NEC £65, price when we stayed £165 because there was a trade fair on! Having ramped the room rate up as much as they dare, bearing in mind it's still not within walking distance of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yorkwhite21
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Yorkwhite21, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you found the hotel poor value over the period that you stayed. Please be assured our prices are always priced to be of good value when compared with other hotels in the area. Over event periods when demand is high prices do vary which...

Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed here in November 15 whilst attending conference nearby, hotel is modern, rooms are well equipped but bathroom was a bit naff, breakfast was not good, I think you get a much better one in premier inn. The only eggs were scrambled and I'm not convinced they weren't powdered eggs, yuk. Parking is extra but the little pub next door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcus I
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Marcus, Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay. We do offer the buffet breakfast which is included in all room rates which is a buffet breakfast which includes three hot items. This is included in all room rates which is different to other hotel chains which charge breakfast at an...

Skegness
Reviewed 12 February 2016

Just stayed for one night with my wife after attending trade show at NEC. Firstly location is just off jn 4of M6.It is then a 3min drive from NEC car parks There is a large car park with a £7 charge per night, which is fairly normal for hotels in this locale probably because of the adjacent airport and cars...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SkegnessBiggerry
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear SkegnessBiggerry, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's so nice to hear when we have exceeded a guests expectations and I have already shared your comments with the team. We hope you return soon! Regards Fiona General Manager

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2016

The reception and bar are next to each other this is I'm is to save labour when we arrived he never looked over to say be with you shortly nothing he kept serving the bar.Then someone came from back office and asked him did he need help to book us in he then came over.Room its a place to sleep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank matthew308
JCH1709, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, firstly please allow me to apologise that your stay was not to the high standard we aim to deliver to all our guests. We are currently undergoing refurbishment in many areas of the hotel from new carpets to new air conditioning units, unfortunalety we may not look...

Reviewed 30 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights whilst at a conference at the nec - excellent staff on reception - good sized, well equipped rooms - free, well performing wifi - decent breakfast - well located - we chose to eat at the pub next door - that wasn't a great experience!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cwh562
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear CWH562, Thank you for your review I am pleased to see the hotel was a great experience. I am sorry that the pub next door let you down. I am sure that they will value the feedback if you share it with them. I do hope this will not stop you using ourselves in the future as we have...

Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2016 via mobile

Wow! Staff are awesome. Lovely welcome, so happy to help. Very basic but it is what you pay for. Rooms tiny almost couldn't work out where toilet was but clean and functional. Asked for ironing board and it was put in my room straight away. Staff so happy and friendly. Organised cab and recommended restaurant for night. Breakfast lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Alison W Thank you for your lovely review and your great comments about the team. I will be sure to share it with them all. We hope you will be back to visit again soon. Regards Fiona General Manager

Derrygonnelly, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2016

Nothing spectacular,but the simple done very well.Room was lovely and clean,comfortable bed,good sized shower and room temperature perfect for mild day but cold night. Breakfast was buffet style with everything you could need.Staff very attentive and friendly.All considered, for price and location this is a very good option that I will use again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevekennedy2015
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Stevekennedy2015, Thank you for your review its lovely to hear when we have met a guests expectations. We hope you will return soon to visit us again. Regards Fiona General Manager

140 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (116)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
1.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
1.3 km away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
1.7 km away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
2,269 reviews
1.7 km away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC is a modern hotel located in the grounds of the UK's largest exhibition centre, the National Exhibition Centre, 10 minutes from Birmingham International Airport and Train Station. Our modern rooms feature comfy beds, en-suites with power showers and air-conditioning. The rooms are kitted out with everything you need for a relaxing stay including free Wi-Fi, 32-inch TVs with Freeview and a choice of pillows. Tasty evening meals such as pastas, curries and burgers are served in the Great Room daily and you can grab a pint or glass of wine from the bar after a busy day. Our Express Start breakfast is included for every guest. Help yourself to toast, pastries, cereals, porridge, bacon bap or a helping of scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans. The hotel has ample parking and is charged at £8 per night for residents. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

Address: Bickenhill Parkway, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: $77 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are no "best" rooms. Think they are all the same.”
S4954LTdavidm, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“You will need to get a taxi if visiting the NEC or airport.”
VeryWhiteBrit, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“add in the cost of the taxi to your stay £ 13.00”
yaeman, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book in advance”
6papahotel, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Probably all the same rooms. No views to speak of.”
stevelU427MH, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 73* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 73
AMOMAUSD 89
Hotels.comUSD 73
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates