We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

982 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 962: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
 Click to rate
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Friendly & helpful receptionists, nothing was to much trouble. Breakfast was nice and again the people working in the restaurant were very friendly. Close enough to walk to the NEC. Room very clean and tidy on arrival and the bed was comfortable. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank evilc72
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Evilc72, Many thanks for reviewing your stay here with us at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC. We are thrilled to see you was welcomed into the hotel and that you enjoyed breakfast with us in the morning, We look forward to seeing you again soon Many Thanks Jamie-Jordan Guest service Manager

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

57 minute wait for chorizo pasta alfredo (with non-existent chorizo) and what turned out to be chicken fillets covered in BBQ sauce and cheese (Chicken New Yorker!) with wilted salad, cold chips on a cold plate. We will certainly not be having dinner here again. There was hardly anyone in the restaurant and apparently the chef didn't realise that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lozzat66
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Lozzat66, Many thanks for reviewing your stay here with us at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC. We apologise that you was firstly not informed of any wait on food whilst dining in our restaurant, we also apologise that you had to wait up to an hour for your meal. We will investigate this further to see what happening...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed over for Crufts as nice and easy access to the show. We have stayed at the hotel before but we were very disappointed with the food served at the bar in the Sunday evening, this was actually noted as the gentleman saw how much food was left on the plates. I did actually email the hotel but no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy D
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Dorothy D, Many thanks for reviewing your stay here with us at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC. We are thrilled to see you stayed with us again over the crufts period, however we apologise that you feel your evening meal was not to standards. We will investigate this further to see what happened on that evening. We also...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here last night whilst seeing Russell Howard at the Genting Arena. We went into Birmingham in the afternoon, taxi to Birmingham International train station was £5 and the train into the city was less than £10 for two of us. Taxi back from Genting Arena to hotel after the show was about £5 again. Good standard and what you'd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty F
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Kirsty F, Many thanks for reviewing your stay here with us at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay here with us, and that you found your stay a good standards. We apologise you feel disappointed when paying for car parking, however due to the location of the hotel; we do...

Galashiels, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just like to thank Liam for his exceptional service tonight. Having spend a day working at the Photography show we were tired and hungry. We had left a nearby restaurant after too long a wait and no food. Liam went beyond what we would have expected to make the rest of our evening worthwhile. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hazelmason39
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Hazelmason39, Many thanks for reviewing your stay here with us at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC. We are thrilled to see staff members made your stay here with us memorable and you feel they went above and beyond for you. We will pass these comments onto the staff, We look forward to seeing you again soon Many Thanks...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Liam was excellent. Having waited an hour before walking out of the Little Owl Restaurant, Liam made us feel special and provided a faultless, personal service. I would recommend this restaurant over the impersonal, inefficient Little Owl next door.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamesfrost11
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Jamesfost11, Many thanks for reviewing your stay here with us at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC. We are thrilled to see staff members made you feel welcome and that we delivered exceptional service to you on your stay here with us, also we are delighted to see you would recommend our restaurant to your peers. We look forward...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked in to the hotel for Crufts...the room was dirty. The pull cord in the access room had turned brown and was greasy. The bathroom still had hair in the toilet and sink area. We changed rooms and found the coffee cups and spoons were still dirty from the previous guests. We requested our money back, because we suspected...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sachastella
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Sachastella, Many thanks for reviewing your stay here with us at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC. We apologise that you feel the room was not to standards when you checked in, we will investigate this further with housekeeping to see why the room was not to company standards. We also apologise that you had to transfer to a...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived on the saturday for our visit to crufts on the Sunday. Check in was very efficient, room was clean and adequate and staff were very friendly. On the saturday we had booked to eat in the restaurant next door. This unfortunately was a big let down. On Sunday we were late back but still managed to get a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Angela M, Many thanks for reviewing your stay here with us at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC. We are delighted to see you had a stress free check in experience and that it was efficient for you, and that staff members made you feel welcome in the hotel. We apologise that you had a bad experience next door...

Market Weighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here in previous years, due to the connivence for the NEC, The staff were very friendly and very helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable, its is great been able to get more tea/ coffee when you needed it it from reception. The bar was not over priced for a hotel either. The breakfast can be a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pollyBSS
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Good Afternoon PollyBSS Many thanks for reviewing your stay here with us at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC. We are thrilled to see you was welcomed by the staff and that you found the extra tea's/coffees available reassuring. We apologise that you feel the breakfast items on the menu was not cooked enough, we will investigate this further to improve...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed a couple of nights whilst visiting Crufts. Friendly helpful staff on reception. Lovely comfortable room. Enjoyed meals in the restaurant both evenings. Excellent quality and value for money. Despite being quite busy did not wait long for food. Good to see dogs welcome. Breakfast very fresh and varied. Would recommend anyone staying if visiting NEC as only stones throw...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eddie C
JCH1709, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Eddie Thank you so much for taking time to review the Express Birmingham NEC. Its lovely to hear you found your stay good value that you enjoyed the breakfast and evening meals and the staff were friendly and able to help you. We really enjoy the crufts event and being able to welcome all the dogs too. We really...

140 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (116)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
1.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
1.3 km away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
1.7 km away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
2,228 reviews
1.5 km away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC is a modern hotel located in the grounds of the UK's largest exhibition centre, the National Exhibition Centre, 10 minutes from Birmingham International Airport and Train Station. In addition to free Wi-Fi, facilities at the hotel include evening meals, parking, meeting rooms, licensed bar and prices which always include breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

Address: Bickenhill Parkway, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: $76 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are no "best" rooms. Think they are all the same.”
 of 5 bubbles S4954LTdavidm, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“You will need to get a taxi if visiting the NEC or airport.”
 of 5 bubbles VeryWhiteBrit, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“add in the cost of the taxi to your stay £ 13.00”
 of 5 bubbles yaeman, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book in advance”
 of 5 bubbles 6papahotel, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Probably all the same rooms. No views to speak of.”
 of 5 bubbles stevelU427MH, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5