We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

AC Hotel Birmingham

Hotwire.comUSD 128*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 239*
USD 128*
Great Deal
USD 161*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
AC Hotel Birmingham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 220: English reviews
Start your review of AC Hotel Birmingham
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

What a great welcome by Peter at reception! he was a total gem! our room was beautiful the service was great! the location is soo good! I loved it so much that I stayed again within a week!! Thank you AC!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zee28
JThomlinson, Manager at AC Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear zee28, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stays with us at AC Hotel Birmingham. We are all so pleased that you loved your room, our location and the service that you received so much so that you chose to book with us again within one week! We pride ourselves on...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in room 516 3 as going to see micky flanagan at the barclaycard arena so was convenienly placed. Hotel looked great, upgraded to a superior room as the deluxe double wasn't what we thought we'd booked. Anyway, there was no mini bar in the room, apparently they've stopped doing that although it was advertised...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey R
JThomlinson, Manager at AC Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Lindsey R, Thank for your review following your stay at AC Hotel Birmingham. Please accept my apologies for the issues you experienced during your stay, I will personally follow up on each of your points. We take on board all guests feedback in order to improve our hotel operations going forward. I am pleased to see that you did...

Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel located next to the canal and The Mailbox shopping Mall. Comfy room with large screen TV with all the channels. Bar in the dining area - expensive. Good breakfast plenty of choices. Only 5 minute walk to city centre and New Street station. Lots of restaurants nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaveBooth
JThomlinson, Manager at AC Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear DaveBooth, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the AC Hotel Birmingham and for mentioning our great location in the heart of the City. It's fantastic to see that you particular enjoyed your room and breakfast in our AC Lounge. We continuously monitor our offerings to remain competitive with local bars and restaurants...

Burntwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked 3 rooms by mistake, called to cancel 1 as only needed 2, they said this could not be done, also very rude & unhelpful reception staff. Now one room is going to be empty & I still have to pay full price for it. Disgraceful, will never be going back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amylouise19111
JThomlinson, Manager at AC Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear amylouise19111, Thank you for your feedback on the AC Hotel Birmingham although I was disappointed with your comments and do not believe them to be accurate or a fair description of the situation. From my understanding and the conversation you had with the hotel team your reservations were made for later in the month and two weeks ago on...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a very quite and pleasant stay. The minibar was included and had a really nice bar by the lobby. The location is perfect as it's close to some very nice restaurants, the Mailbox and is just a few minutes walk from Broad St.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ij212
JThomlinson, General Manager at AC Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear ij212, Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review following your recent stay here at the AC Hotel Birmingham. I was delighted to read you has such an enjoyable experience and liked the hotels central location to all the shops and bars. Thank you once again and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me & my twin stayed over Monday 13th when we went to see The Weeknd at the barclaycard arena. The staff were so accommodating & lovely, but the room.... is UNREAL!!! The BED. The comfiest bed I've ever slept in... the price a night is worth it just for the bed alone!!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kellbh
JThomlinson, General Manager at AC Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear kellbh, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay here at the AC Hotel Birmingham and I was delighted to read you had such an enjoyable stay. Your comments and feedback are much appreciated and it was lovely to see that you found the bed so comfortable and the team so...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in room 408 last week , 412 this time around . Clean place but the noise is u real . Sun morning its doors slamming and hoovers banging the door . Monday morning (bank hol) it was kegs or heavy goods being tossed around at 8:15 am ! Sound proofing is poor ! Lifts are slow and confusing ....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Malek L
JThomlinson, General Manager at AC Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Malek L, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor following your most recent stay here at the AC Hotel Birmingham and I was sorry to see from your comments that you were not fully satisfied with your stay. We take great pride in delivering a memorable experience for all our guests and please accept...

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly I have stayed here before and I really rated it! However it was so noisy this time and the room I was in was right next to the street and the windows either had gaps or the walls paper thin. So my rating is purely based on the noise factor. Very clean, and good basic requirements. Central to everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charshe84
JThomlinson, General Manager at AC Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Charshe84, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor following your most recent stay here at the AC Hotel Birmingham. I was sorry to read that having stayed with us previously and having enjoyed the hotel that on the occasion your stay was impacted by external noise in your room. Please be assured that we...

Bath
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed one night whilst in Birmingham to watch Richard Ashcroft. Ideal hotel for the Arena and shops and restaurants around the mailbox and bullring. Hotel very clean with friendly reception staff. Room was a good size and had all mod cons. Will definitely stay here again the next time we visit Birmingham

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BathGarry
JThomlinson, General Manager at AC Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear BathGarry, Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive TripAdvisor review following your recent stay here at the AC Hotel Birmingham whilst attending the Richard Ashcroft concert. Your comments and feedback are very important to us and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotels location and found the team to be so friendly...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed here a few times now. The location is great, plenty of choice around you for restaurants and bars. Rooms are nice, comfortable and clean. The staff are brilliant and could not do more for you. Will be returning again in the near future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulaLMSMT
JThomlinson, General Manager at AC Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear PaulaLMSMT, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor following your most recent stay here at the AC Hotel Birmingham and I was delighted to see that you have stayed with us on several occasion and enjoy the hotel. Your kind comments regarding the team are much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you...

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
2,890 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
901 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 118 in Birmingham
2,355 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
3,584 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#12 of 118 in Birmingham
2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about AC Hotel Birmingham

Address: 160 Wharfside Street | The Mail Box, Birmingham B1 1RL, England (Formerly Ramada Birmingham City)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: $118 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Marriott and HRS so you can book your AC Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Birmingham
Birmingham Ramada
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from AC Hotel Birmingham staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from AC Hotel Birmingham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The higher you go the quieter it will be.”
johncX7900LJ, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The back of the hotel is quieter but it depends what you want”
janniepee, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't get placed on the waterfront side, sacrifice the view (which is fantastic by the way) for a quiet night especially over the weekend.”
_cjh1000, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room when booking in if you want to sleep before 2am”
agiusgeorge53, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Expect some noise from Canalside view rooms”
roslyn2dd, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
USD 128* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Booking.comUSD 161
AMOMAUSD 239
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates