We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Macdonald Burlington Hotel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,871 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Burlington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,837: English reviews
Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2016

My husband and I stayed for a night after seeing a show. The hotel has real old world charm with modernisation where it counts. Great central location in town walking distance to the Mailbox and Bullring. We had an executive King room. The room was clean and had all amenities. The breakfast was ok. No idea what the potato scone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Acacia M
James B, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Acacia M Thank you for your review following your stay. Your feedback is appreciated and I will be sure to share it with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it. We hope to welcome you back soon! Kindest regards James James Bee Hotel Manager

Santa Monica, California
Reviewed 2 May 2016

The room is just too old fashioned. Cramped with old stained furniture and NO SHOWER. This isn't 1906 guys. I asked for an additional blanket and some ancient piece of fabric was delivered to me. One elevator AND plenty of steps on the floor so you had no choice but to carry your luggage up the stairs.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank I3478KRjasonl
Rugeley
Reviewed 2 May 2016

we would normally us the best western hotels when we plan short breaks, this hotel was ideal being on new street. All bars and restuarants were all close by and only a short walk to the Barclay card arena so just what we needed. We did book with breakfast included but we did not take the breakfast so cannot comment...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank peterbX5820DY
James B, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear peterbX5820DY Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your kind comments are really appreciated and I will be sure to pass them on to my team! Kindest regards James James Bee Hotel Manager

Swadlincote
Reviewed 1 May 2016

The central location next to New Street station was ideal for us, and the (upgraded) room was clean, well equipped and not overpoweringly hot, which was appreciated. I was very pleased that the period features and feel of the building have been carefully preserved - we actively seek out hotels with more character than the soulless "chains". We didn't dine...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank crh360
James B, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear crh360 Thank you for your review following your stay. Your feedback is appreciated and I will be sure to share it with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it! Kindest regards James James Bee Hotel Manager

Santa Monica, California
Reviewed 1 May 2016

The staff were very nice. Courteous at the front desk, helpful in the dining room. The hotel was VERY shabby. Worn carpeting, the room crowded with old, useless, stained furniture, a water heater for tea with a 2 foot cord so it was almost impossible to use. I asked for an extra blanket and the most horrible piece of used...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jasonfromla2016
James B, Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jasonfromla2016 I am pleased that you received good service from the team, however I am sorry to learn of your disappointment with your room. We are committed to investing in and improving our product for the future and have a refurbishment programme taking place in 2016. On this particular occasion it appears you were allocated one of our older...

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 April 2016

The hotel is a 4 star establishment and although it's a little shabby in places, it is comfortable and the staff were good. The check-in process was good and the reception staff were very welcoming. My room was large and warm, the view wasn't all that, I had a delightful view of the establishment's air conditioning ducts. The king size...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ade_D66
James B, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ade_D66 Thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us overall and appreciate your constructive feedback. I will share your comments with the team as I know they will be motivated by it. I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel. Kind regards James James Bee Hotel Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2016

Was very impressed with the room and facilities and was very pleased to be so near the station and in the city centre. The staff were helpful and friendly and offered me a room upgrade because the hotel wasn't full. You can't get better than that!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Birdwocha2014
James B, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Birdwocha2014 Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your kind comments are really appreciated and I will be sure to pass them on to my team! Kindest regards James James Bee Hotel Manager

NANTWICH
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Good, very pleased with the room and the meals, felt the wait at the reception too long and not happy our taxi wasn't sorted well. Polite staff and pleasant Hotel. Getting a little tired in the dining room, tables wobbly etc.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JUDITH B
James B, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JUDITH B Thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall and appreciate your constructive feedback. I will share your comments with the team as I know they will be motivated by it. I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel. Kind regards James James Bee Hotel Manager

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Hotel is OK. Good breakfast except for the hair. The room was drafty, particularly the bathroom. Room size wasn't great and in general parts of the room were very dusty and hadn't been cleaned. The bed was OK but certainly wouldn't class the room as executive.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank J9859AXjamesh
James B, Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear J9859AXjamesh Thanks for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay, however I would like to apologise for the shortfalls you experienced. Your comments will be the subject of a remedial training review with the team so that your disappointment could not be repeated. I sincerely hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you...

Nottingham
Reviewed 27 April 2016

It's our 5th time there, same room, and it won't be the last. We've just re booked . .. Thank you Jonathan, Richard, and Chuck, you are always making our stay amazing and memorable! Oh and the steal house is a : must go !

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandynvm
James B, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sandynvm I am really pleased you have enjoyed your stays with us and in particular your room and the service you received from Jonathan, Richard and Chuck. Thank you so much for sharing your experience and writing such a positive review! We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back! Warmest regards James James Bee Hotel Manager

452 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (436)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (113)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Other (197)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 116 in Birmingham
2,247 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 116 in Birmingham
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 116 in Birmingham
2,096 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 116 in Birmingham
2,697 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 116 in Birmingham
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Macdonald Burlington Hotel

Address: Burlington Arcade, Birmingham B2 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Price Range: $120 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Burlington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Macdonald Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Burlington Birmingham
Hotel Macdonald Burlington
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#15 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Burlington Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
newcastle staffordshire
2 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Burlington Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure the bed size is what you paid for”
 of 5 bubbles EddleCanard, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“dont go here”
 of 5 bubbles samc71usm, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a room facing the street which might be too noisy for some but did not disturb us.”
 of 5 bubbles 184PatriciaB184, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Executive King is a very good sized, comfortable room.”
 of 5 bubbles DUpstone90, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get an inward room so avoid the tram and high street noise”
 of 5 bubbles MartinS127, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5