We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,656 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 4,567: English reviews
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

2-night stay with friends attending an event at NEC. Comfortable room, cleanest hotel bathroom ever, good breakfast, good bar food and excellent service. And all at a very competitive price and easy walking distance to NEC and new shopping outlet. We will be back next year.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Denise H
Patrick S, General Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Denise Thank you for your review. I'm delighted that you had such a great stay with us and you were particularly impressed with the cleanliness of your bathroom. It's great to see you enjoyed your dining experiences too and felt everything was good value for money. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future....

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2015 via mobile

Booked a room for one night to visit the motorhome show.At a cost of £391 for one night,we were expecting a decent room,and a good nights sleep! We were wrong on both those expectations!!! The hotel is ,in my opinion,very dated and tired. The reception looked like it was designed in the 1970's. The corridor ,and our room had peeling...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paulphilips
Patrick S, General Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paulphilips Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. It was rather disappointing to read about your experience. Your experience does not truly reflect that standard of service that we aim to offer our guests at Hilton Birmingham Metropole. Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings encountered on this occasion and I do hope you accept...

Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2015

Food was good, I had buffet. TV in bar was small, and took a while to get served, although there was a convention going on so that could've been any hotel. Clean, tidy. Not bad at all. But not the luxuriousness you'd expect really. Slightly underwhelmed compared to others for the price, but not a bad hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank franny733
Patrick S, General Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Franny733 Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent stay. Your comments have been shared with our Executive team for review and I hope you will accept my apology for any delay you experienced in the Lounge due to heavy numbers of convention guests. I do hope you visit us again at some point in the future. Kind...

Birmingham
Reviewed 6 November 2015

Having just come back from 4 fabulous nights at the Hilton Molino Stucky in Venice, My wife, myself and our 7 and 13 year old children booked a night at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole. The Metropole is near to where we live, we were only staying there as a treat for our 7 year old who has his swimming lessons...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lee E
Patrick S, General Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lee Thank you for your review. Further to our letter of apology and offer of compensation to you following your complimentary stay, I do hope you will again accept our apologies for any disappointment experienced on this occasion. Your experience is not reflective of the normal standards that prevail at Hilton Birmingham Metropole and we hope you reconsider visiting...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2015

we stay here around 2 - 3 times a year for conventions, great location, hotel lovely and clean, price is quite high for food and drink so we head off to the airport or the NEC staff friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ArdleyWeddings
Patrick S, General Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ardley Weddings Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're delighted to see that you find the hotel lovely and clean and it's location ideal for your purposes. We do offer a number of dining outlets which cater for most tastes and budgets and we have also introduced street food stalls when we have fan based...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2015

Being a Hilton hotel, I thought there would be some kind of Halloween themed party going on in the restaurants. In fact it was so quite, you could hear a pin drop. There was a very modest section in the middle of the hotel that was slightly decorated for Halloween. The staff were nice & polite enough, our original room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MAhmad2015
Patrick S, General Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MAhmad2015 Thank you for your review. I'm pleased you found our team friendly and polite - we always aim to make our guests feel welcome throughout their stay. Unfortunately, there were no themed parties at the hotel at the time of your visit and I regret any disappointment this caused. Thank you again for your comments and may be...

Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2015

Staff very Helpful Child/Family friendly Pool and Jaccuzzi Great Fun Food was fantastic - Buffet Breadfast had everything you could wish for and hot food was hot! Coffee good quality. Al La Carte 3 course evening meal outstanding and boys 2 course dinner (plenty of choices) - burger was fab and a big portion. Stayed overnight as went to Lego...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beanyt
Patrick S, General Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Beanyt Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm delighted you found your family stay great value for money and particularly pleased you all enjoyed your dining experience. Your comments regarding the bathroom have been shared with our management team for review and I apologise for any disappointment in this regard. We hope to have the...

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2015

The hotel is your average Hilton, clean, fresh and good sized rooms. I feel like it is slightly over priced for what you get but then the demand is obviously very high given its perfect location. There is a little path to walk through to get to the NEC which only takes 5 minutes

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gemma M
Patrick S, General Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gemma Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. I was glad that you found everything clean and fresh and pleased we were a perfect location for your purposes. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Patrick Stapleton General Manager

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2015

Hilton Hotel Metropole gone way down hill within the last five years since I last stayed. It has become cheap and tacky due to the type of conferences and delegates it is attracting, attention to detail gone and volume seems more important. Rooms average and not well kept, even at so call executive level, dusty, toilet didn't flush, windows had...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank VET06
Patrick S, General Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear VET06 Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and I am very sorry you were unhappy with our guest rooms. Our Executive Team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience. Thank you again for your feedback and...

Reviewed 3 November 2015 via mobile

If you're looking for a way to waste time and petrol. Attend this hotels car park as you won't be disappointed. However if you're looking for a place to park your car without walking a mile in gravel - don't bother. Ever wondered what it be like to live in the dark ages with candles for lights and beds made...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Abbie H
Patrick S, General Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Abbie Thank you for taking the trouble to post your review following your recent stay. I was disappointed to learn of your experience and can assure you that it is not typical of the usual standards that prevail at this hotel. I regret that you were unable to use the hotel’s car park facilities. The hotel does have some...

780 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (723)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (205)
Viewed
Bathroom (90)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Other (321)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.7 km away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
0.3 km away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#4 of 141 in Birmingham
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#19 of 141 in Birmingham
2,087 reviews
0.9 km away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: $159 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question
Coventry, United Kingdom
3 months ago
London, United Kingdom
north wales
9 days ago

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms very spacious”
 of 5 bubbles susieb130, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go to a travel Lodge or the Arden Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles RachelS45, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room facing the lake”
 of 5 bubbles Pablo17, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check the Hilton site before booking elsewhere.... as hidden cost on the booking via Trip Advisor were an oncost of 42%”
 of 5 bubbles k8tio, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher room, away from lift would be best.”
  • Sticky labels on towels.
  • Missing light switch on desk lamp.
  • Duct tape over draughty windows!
  • Poorly maintained table.
 of 5 bubbles owend569, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay