We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,312 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,272: English reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

Top tip...request a room on a high floor. I was on the first floor, which was still pretty high up as there are mezzanine floors, and it was loud. You could very easily hear the traffic outside all night. The rooms are dated and look and feel old. Also no phone charger by the bedside table, so to charge your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TripMember01282016
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Scouse23, Thank you for writing a review on our hotel. Our goal is to deliver exceptional service and comfortable accommodations. However, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience the noise challenges and the condition of the room amenities may have caused you. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued guests, but to instead provide good value, comfortable,...

Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Visited the hotel with my wife on a Friday night in December 2015. It was a real mixed bag. The location is good if you want to explore the centre of the city and it is right next door to the re vamped New street station. Like many of these older Holiday Inns it is in need of some serious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 929ScottB929
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear 929ScottB929, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations when it comes to providing comfortable room accommodations. It is regrettable though that we have fallen short of desirable food and drinks. Rest assured that your comments are duly noted. I am confident that...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for one night visit to Birmingham. Good central location , couple of minutes walk from Station and BullRing. Hotel and rooms were cleaned a dwell equipped. Nice bar for a relaxing drink. Buffet breakfast was very good quality and selection. Only downside was noisy location at night. We were on 8th floor but sleep was distributed by noises...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul106
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Paul106, Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate that you have highlighted aspects that you liked at our hotel, specifically our room accommodations, breakfast selections, and our location. However, it is disheartening to know that you did not entirely enjoy your stay with us due to the noise challenges...

Reviewed 14 December 2015 via mobile

Used this hotel as was having a christmas work do here. Staff on arriving was very welcoming. Lifts to your left took me straight up to the Albany suite. On arrival was given a ice cold drink and shown into a room. We waited a while before being allowed into dinning room. Food was very bland. Over cooked and under...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Susan G, We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay. I am very sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Please note that your cconcerns have been passed onto our management team. We hope you give us another chance so we can make it...

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2015

This place is really looking its age and is a bit tired looking these days. However it remains one of my favourite Holiday Inns as the staff are uniformly excellent, the service is always great; and they always always always recognise your loyalty status with an upgrade, free drink etc. Their Exec rooms are some of the nicest I've stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Dave W, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Joanna Marketing Executive

Craigavon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2015

Arrived in Birmingham New Street train station from the airport (£3.50) & follow Southside signs. Exit station down the steps & then right & left & the hotel is a couple of minutes walk away. The room was clean & spacious & the bed comfortable. Tea/coffee making facilities available. Free safety deposit box, iron & ironing board, mini-bar, hair-dryer. Toiletries...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tigertribal
Joanna O, MarketingExecutive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Tigertribal, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Joanna Marketing Executive

England
Reviewed 10 December 2015

There are quite a few good things about this hotel. It is very close to New Street Station. However, the double glazing is quite inadequate to keep out traffic noise and the sound of drunken yobs at night. Good blackout curtains do not compensate for this. The heating in my quite large room worked well, and there is free wifi....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sussex1955
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear sussex1955, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you found our location to be convenient. However, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the level of noise during your visit and for falling short of your standards regarding...

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2015

Chose this hotel to visit the Christmas Market, so location was the priority. The adjacent NCP is fine as long as you own a mini - a real one pre 1999 NOT a BMW - its the worst car park in the world. So its extra refreshing when you get into the bright, squeaky clean, warm and welcoming hotel. Beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikeALake
Joanna O, Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear MikeALake, Thank you for your kind review! We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff and service. It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this. We will be sure to let our staff know that they made an impact during your stay. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel...

Stone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2015

I wasn't expecting much from the hotel but was still disappointed. On the positive it is exceptionally close to New Street and it's new shopping centre (<2minutes). It feels very worn and slightly stuck in the 70s. Decent functional room, big bed, ok bathroom but rather thin walls. There was free wifi across the hotel that worked well. I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnty39
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear johnty39, Thank you for posting a candid feedback from your recent stay with us. It is nice to know that you were able to appreciate the convenience of our location, our WiFi connection, and the friendliness of our staff. However, I was concerned to see that you were not impressed with the general condition of our property and our...

Reviewed 8 December 2015 via mobile

I've stayed in this hotel many many times on business. If it wasn't for the fact it is very convenient for my work I would have stayed somewhere else. It's a bit of a lottery on which room you get. First and ninth floor rooms are generally to be avoided. But rooms vary widely even on the same floor. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil P
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Neil P, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. I am pleased to know that you found our hotel staff helpful. On the other hand, allow me to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to our bathroom shower. Please be assured that this concern will be looked into. I...

286 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (239)
Viewed
Room/Suite (98)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#101 of 141 in Birmingham
465 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#11 of 141 in Birmingham
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A modern 3-star Hotel located in the Smallbrook Queensway area of Birmingham. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

Address: Smallbrook Queensway | Birmingham City Centre, Birmingham B5 4EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Price Range: $98 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rooms on floor S.”
 of 5 bubbles rmnettleton, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor is a bit quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles toots347, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Well we had what was explained was NEW ROOMS well I think until they are all finished others may have less problems.”
 of 5 bubbles G3973SBjamesl, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“8th floor have nice rooms”
 of 5 bubbles jadeb15, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for a room on a higher floor further away from the noise from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles t0rtuga15, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay