We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Great Barr Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Great Barr Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

331 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Great Barr Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 326: English reviews
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for the bank holiday weekend wiv my partner it was a good hotel she booked it off group on . It was a bit far out from town like 15 mins taxi but used the taxi service they had at the hotel was cheap only 12 pounds was good the hotel bar was expensive for a pint and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mikedr93
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting your review and bringing these issues to my attention. I am disappointed that you felt the bed was uncomfortable as this is not something that has been mentioned previously. I will get the maintenance team to look at the thermostats on the water as I can only apologise that you experienced these difficulties when trying to...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

Went on a Motown party night for a work retirement and decided to stay over. The hotel room was ok. A bit small and in need of a revamp but it was clean and tidy. Breakfast was buffet style full English plus various other options and was satisfactory. My main criticism is of the party night, the food and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SHancock2301
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

I am disappointed that you did not feel that you received value for money when you attended a party night here at the Great Barr Hotel. The complimentary supper that you get with the price of your Tribute ticket on a Friday evening, usually receives very good feedback, I must apologise that on this occasion the chicken was not up...

Stoke
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed in a single room which was compact and bijou to say the least. However, it was clean, well presented and and relatively quiet. The only down sides were that the room was quite warm (central heating radiator pipe runs beneath radiator) and walls are plasterboard, meaning you can hear your neighbors.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mattblack000
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

The hotel public areas were in better condition than our room which was located below the main floor in what we referred to as 'the dungeon'. The hotel is non-smoking but our room stank of stale smoke - we were assaulted by a wall of it as we entered, poorly masked by cheap air freshener. Fortunately the windows opened. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janette59
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

Myself & my husband stayed here instead of our usual Premier Inn/Travelodge stay. This hotel was cheaper by far & included breakfast for us both. We would stay here again - but wouldn't pay more than the £65 we paid this time. The breakfast was great - helpful staff & nice hot/cold self service selection. The reception area is smart...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GEF205
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and for highlighting some of the issues that I am trying to address throughout, I will agree that the hotel is in need of a little facelift in some of the areas of the hotel, or maintence team are in the process of trying to address what they can and for owner to authorise any...

West bromwich
Reviewed 5 April 2016

My husband paid for us to see the George Michael/Wham tribute night on the 19th march 2016 with a Champagne stay package for my birthday and he upgraded us to one of the gorgeous club rooms and we had a wonderful night. The three course meal was very nice as was the buffet style breakfast the following morning. We have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrswherton2013
Mark A, General Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting your kind words, both myself and the staff are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you enjoyed the tribute night. I will pass on you comments to all of the relevant parties concerned, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Kind Regards, Mark.

Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel at an unreasonable time in the morning inebriated stumbling from my taxi, the staff were more than helpful in guiding (carrying) me to my room despite my lack of check in details. Regained consciousness the next morning for my first glance at the room which looked more than respectable for the price. Ounce I had showered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toby L
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Many thanks for posting your review and both myself and the staff are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and felt that the staff were helpful when needed. We shall look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, should you need to stay in the area again. Kind Regards, Mark.

united kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2016

went with a large group for a tribute night and came away unhappy The rooms do not match the web site photos and could not see were the refurbishment had taken place The room was average with bulbs not working and handles missing on furniture no mirror at dressing table . I filled in the questionnaire at end of stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank familyunitedkingdom
Mark A, General Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam, Firstly let me apologise that you did not enjoy your stay here at The Great Barr Hotel as we would have anticipated. We do make every effort to ensure the rooms are up to standard prior to guests checking in, however I this instance it would appear that certain items had not been reported to our...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2016 via mobile

Just about to leave this hotel and can honestly say it's been perfect whilst we visited family. The rooms were a bit smaller than expected but perfectly adequate as we were out most of the day anyway. Everything was lovely,tidy and clean. The breakfast was brilliant and best of all included in the very reasonable price. Will definitely choose to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hiya_love
Mark A, General Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Both myself and the staff are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are visiting family. Kind Regards, Mark

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2016

My daughter treated me to a mothers day gift of tribute evening and meal. on arrival was told the room was not open although was told to get there for 7 pm so we decided to have a coffee it was cold my daughter took them back thinking they would make fresh oh no put them in the microwave as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank deborah g
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and bringing your concerns to my attention, firstly let me apologise that you did not enjoy your evening and your Mother's Day treat. I can only apologise again for the delay to get into the room, I have spoken to the sales team with reference to the time they state when the evenings are booked,...

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
1:21
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Park Hotel
#95 of 117 in Birmingham
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westmead Hotel
#39 of 117 in Birmingham
611 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#58 of 117 in Birmingham
1,041 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#34 of 117 in Birmingham
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Great Barr Hotel

Address: Newton Road Pear Tree Drive, Birmingham B43 6HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: $90 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Barr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Great Barr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Barr Birmingham
Hotel Great Barr
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Great Barr Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
cardiff
8 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Great Barr Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You get which one they give you..ours was in the basement”
 of 5 bubbles 565leslie, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“club rooms worth the extra.”
 of 5 bubbles knab1234, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“WIFI in all rooms - the code is on your checking in slip!”
 of 5 bubbles JennyT775, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Accessibility if you can't do stairs”
 of 5 bubbles bevandjasper, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“avoid the single rooms if possible”
 of 5 bubbles stevenrM2256MP, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5