We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Great Barr Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Great Barr Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

331 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 326: English reviews
Start your review of Great Barr Hotel
 Click to rate
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice evening and meal. Room clean. Receptionist friendly.booking out was 11.30. I was poorly and intending lying in til leaving time. Cleaner knocked on door at 09.30. Then at 10.30. We asked what her problem was, she then gave a mouthful to my partner to leave a do not disturb sign on door. Err no, room is ours until booking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 565leslie
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for highlighting your concerns and let me apologise for this matter and how it impacted on your stay. As I am sure you can appreciate we have a lot of guests using the hotel and in order for the housekeeping staff getting round to the rooms they do start early in the morning and finish in the early...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a premier room but i would hardly call it that, it was very small, the bed was uncomfortable and the traffic noise was audible too. The whole place looks shabby and dated but the staff were helpful and friendly and there are a number of good nearby restaurants. All in all overpriced for what it is.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Geoff H
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for sharing your thoughts. Hopefully you noticed whilst stopping with us that we are in the process of refurbishing most of the areas within the hotel , with a number of the rooms and public areas having been done already. I am pleased that you found the staff to be helpful and friendly and I shall pass on...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We held our mothers wake on Friday at the hotel and we were disappointed with the buffet, and also could I point out that it should have had my mothers name on the board in the foyer who,s wake it was and not the name of the person who booked it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christine m
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks you for making me aware of your concerns, I am disappointed that you found the buffet to be substandard as most of our clients that have wakes here at the hotel are more than satisfied, obviously we have a number of buffet options that you will have chosen from when you booked the event, if you want to contact...

Sydney
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this hotel via Booking . Com. We chose the Premium room. The images on the website showed a nice room. The reduced Sunday rate of £112.00 seemed a good deal. When we arrived, the carp ark was empty, but there were empty cider bottles dotted around. Upon entering the lady on reception was Luke warm, in terms of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yannythegreek
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and hilighting your concerns, I can assume that you were originally booked into one of the doubles with the platform beds which are low to the ground, it is a bed frame and a mattress however, not two mattresses as you suggest, whilst these beds are not to everyone's liking we do have a number...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It is a great hotel, with good teamwork and accommodation. We booked for the Dirty Dancing tribute show, which was excellent, as was the 3 course meals. This is the 3rd time I have stayed for the stopover shows. John Pym.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John P
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting your kind comments and both myself and all of the staff concerned will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again, hopefully in the near future. Mark.

Clanfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rather better than I was expecting. Not the most attractive or newest of hotels but the room was comfortable and newly refurbished. Good buffet style breakfast and palatable dinner menu too. Not a lot to get excited about but nothing to criticise either. Worth considering it you have to stay in this part of Birmingham

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for leaving your comments both myself and all of the staff are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we shall look forward to welcoming you back the next time you need a hotel in the area. Mark.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friends and i had a fantastic night. Club rooms definitely worth upgrading for, bed comfort is truly amazing. Lovely rooms. Great food and fantastic singer. Lovely venue. I would definately recommend, and we will be returning for sure. Thank you to all that contributed to a wonderful night and overnight stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank knab1234
Mark A, General Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting your comments, both myself and all of the staff here at the hotel are delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us and we shall look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Many thanks, Mark.

West Midlands
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Booked the Motown Tribute night and attended with family. A great night, tribute act was good and DJ afterwards was good too. We had the three course meal, which we pre-ordered. Food was good too and plenty of it, the only complaint would be the veg could do with being cooked for a few minutes longer (but that's a personal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leeanne R
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments, both myself and all of the staff concerned are delighted that you enjoyed your evening, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Mark.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2017

We were most disappointed with the service provided. We had booked party planners to decorate the room and provide chair covers and sashes. We arrived on the morning of the event to dress the room to it being laid out completely different to how we had agreed. The chairs provided were like armchairs and far too heavy for an 80th...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank julshayes
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments and both myself and the staff are disappointed that on this occasion there were a number of failings with regards to the execution of your event. In hindsight I feel there were issues with how your requirements were noted with regards to chair covers etc as we would have used the banqueting chairs if the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Please do make the effort to stay at this hotel it's really lovely I'm a business traveller, mostly travelling alone and, as a woman, I need to feel safe. This hotel makes me feel just that. The car park is well lit as is reception and check in is fast and friendly. Rooms are very reasonable indeed, you get a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny T
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting your kind comments, both myself and all of the staff here look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Obviously I will pass on all of your comments to the staff concerned. Many thanks, Mark.

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
1:21
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Westmead Hotel
#40 of 117 in Birmingham
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#74 of 117 in Birmingham
70 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#64 of 117 in Birmingham
1,044 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Great Barr Hotel

Address: Newton Road Pear Tree Drive, Birmingham B43 6HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: $91 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Barr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Great Barr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Barr Birmingham
Hotel Great Barr
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Great Barr Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
cardiff
8 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Great Barr Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You get which one they give you..ours was in the basement”
 of 5 bubbles 565leslie, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“club rooms worth the extra.”
 of 5 bubbles knab1234, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“WIFI in all rooms - the code is on your checking in slip!”
 of 5 bubbles JennyT775, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Accessibility if you can't do stairs”
 of 5 bubbles bevandjasper, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“avoid the single rooms if possible”
 of 5 bubbles stevenrM2256MP, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5