We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Great Barr Hotel

PricelineUSD 74*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 105*
USD 74*
Great Deal
USD 98*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Great Barr Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

337 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 332: English reviews
Start your review of Great Barr Hotel
 Click to rate
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here overnight for a local 2 day training course in Wednesbury which is a 15 minute drive away. I stayed in a single superior room which had a larger bed, not single, more a small double. Room clean, but carpet could do with a good clean. It states many rooms offer views of the stunning gardens, my view was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharon P
Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We held my mother-in-law's wake here on Monday 10th April 2017, I was very disappointed in the quality of the buffet it was very very basic for price that was charged ...would not recommend to any of my friends or family

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roseluke03
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for raising your concerns and I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the buffet that was served. Obviously we offer a range of buffets that are offered to all of the relevant parties. The kitchen staff along with the front of house staff check these details prior to service as well as at point of...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean hotel, helpful staff, nice food & a very reasonable price. After staying at other budget hotels, this is bar far the best one I have stayed at. The staff are pleasant & always helpful, the cooked breakfast is amazing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ianadsafes
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for sharing your comments, I hope that we can continue to make you feel welcome at the hotel. Mark.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel should be visited by health& safety... I had a door handle to my room that was poorly fitted, oil marks on lamps, plug sockets that were dangerous and holes in my bed sheets no kettle or any thing to make my own drinks in my own room the smell was aweful in the hall and damp was on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for sharing your comments and highlighting your concerns. I am very alarmed at your comments as no one else has made similar comments, obviously we will investigate these allegations very thoroughly. We have so far not found any sheets with holes in or stained lamps, although with the lamps on they can appear stained with shadowing. If you...

Devon
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

i have tried several times to review this total dump - apparently because I have been too honest for tripadvisor , who keep asking me to amend the comments I have written , I will just say again this mould ridden semi derelict hovel is without doubt the worst hotel I have ever stayed in . if you fancy staying...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank bon88888
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

We are looking into the very strong allegations that you have made in your 'review' if we find them to be true we will take this matter very seriously indeed. You will see from other reviews that the description in your review is somewhat different to what we are used to receiving as there have been a large number of...

Staffordshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It is many years since I last visited the Great Barr Hotel ( locally known as the GBH!) but I stayed there overnight recently, as I had an appointment nearby. The GBH is largely as I remember it - rather shabby and out of date, with basic facilities but reasonably priced for a hotel quite close to the city centre....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nottoooldtotravel_10
Mark A, General Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting your comments, I take on board what you have said with regards to the hotel, however as I hoped you noticed during your time with us we are currently in the process of refurbishing the hotel hotel section by section, so that it is brought up to a higher standard. I will apologise profusely for the...

Bridlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Nice evening and meal. Room clean. Receptionist friendly.booking out was 11.30. I was poorly and intending lying in til leaving time. Cleaner knocked on door at 09.30. Then at 10.30. We asked what her problem was, she then gave a mouthful to my partner to leave a do not disturb sign on door. Err no, room is ours until booking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 565leslie
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for highlighting your concerns and let me apologise for this matter and how it impacted on your stay. As I am sure you can appreciate we have a lot of guests using the hotel and in order for the housekeeping staff getting round to the rooms they do start early in the morning and finish in the early...

Reviewed 15 March 2017

Booked a premier room but i would hardly call it that, it was very small, the bed was uncomfortable and the traffic noise was audible too. The whole place looks shabby and dated but the staff were helpful and friendly and there are a number of good nearby restaurants. All in all overpriced for what it is.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Geoff H
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for sharing your thoughts. Hopefully you noticed whilst stopping with us that we are in the process of refurbishing most of the areas within the hotel , with a number of the rooms and public areas having been done already. I am pleased that you found the staff to be helpful and friendly and I shall pass on...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We held our mothers wake on Friday at the hotel and we were disappointed with the buffet, and also could I point out that it should have had my mothers name on the board in the foyer who,s wake it was and not the name of the person who booked it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christine m
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks you for making me aware of your concerns, I am disappointed that you found the buffet to be substandard as most of our clients that have wakes here at the hotel are more than satisfied, obviously we have a number of buffet options that you will have chosen from when you booked the event, if you want to contact...

Sydney
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We booked this hotel via Booking . Com. We chose the Premium room. The images on the website showed a nice room. The reduced Sunday rate of £112.00 seemed a good deal. When we arrived, the carp ark was empty, but there were empty cider bottles dotted around. Upon entering the lady on reception was Luke warm, in terms of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yannythegreek
Mark A, Manager at Great Barr Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and hilighting your concerns, I can assume that you were originally booked into one of the doubles with the platform beds which are low to the ground, it is a bed frame and a mattress however, not two mattresses as you suggest, whilst these beds are not to everyone's liking we do have a number...

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
1:21
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Westmead Hotel
#44 of 118 in Birmingham
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#75 of 118 in Birmingham
71 reviews
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Park Hotel
#95 of 118 in Birmingham
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Great Barr Hotel

Address: Newton Road Pear Tree Drive, Birmingham B43 6HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: $95 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Barr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Barr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Barr Birmingham
Hotel Great Barr
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Great Barr Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
cardiff
9 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Great Barr Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You get which one they give you..ours was in the basement”
565leslie, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“club rooms worth the extra.”
knab1234, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“WIFI in all rooms - the code is on your checking in slip!”
JennyT775, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Accessibility if you can't do stairs”
bevandjasper, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“avoid the single rooms if possible”
stevenrM2256MP, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
USD 74* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 98
Expedia.com
Hotwire.comUSD 105
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates