We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Britannia Hotel Birmingham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Britannia Hotel Birmingham
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,327: English reviews
Alicante, Spain
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were looking for a room in Birmingham after being caught up in the French Traffic controllers strike which meant we could not get back to Spain for a few days, all hotels in Birmingham did not have room owing to the Crufts Dog show so we ended up here. The hotel is dreadful , since returning I have emailed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David T
Leicestershire
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What an awful hotel. Dirty, noisy and overpriced. Breakfast in particular was terrible and at £10.50 an insult. Staff try their best but the people who own this should be ashamed. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank taraohARA
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Arrived in Birmingham for a 3 day/3night stay to attend a course. I arrived at 9pm and walked from the train station up to the hotel, it was dark and I was a female travelling alone. In the 5 minutes it took me to walk I had to avoid several homeless men, shouting and approaching me asking for money, a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Janeshort999
Birmbritannia, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept our most sincere apologies that the hotel did not meet with your expectations. The area around the hotel is a public highway and therefore we cannot control who frequents the area, however I can assure you that it is a perfectly safe and well lit area and we have never had the safety of our guests...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had accident in our room because middle of the room was left extension lead, that management was aware of. Every hotel manager should know that it is hotels obligation to make sure the premises is safe for customer. No one apologised what happened or advised where I could see doctor in Birmingham and the situation was dealt poorly. Now...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank minlisvir
Birmbritannia, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am sorry for the problem you encountered whilst staying with us recently. I can assure you that the hotel goes above and beyond in complying with all current health and safety legislation to ensure the safety of our guests at all times. We have procedures in place for the reporting of any accidents which occur on the...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here for a night before a conference in Birmingham centre. The location of the hotel is great if you want to explore the city centre, however this location does have many downsides, the town centre is full of homeless people late at night who sleep in any available doorways. As the entrance to this hotel is up a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank welltravelled1979
Birmbritannia, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept our most sincere apologies that the hotel did not meet with your expectations at this time, as we would advise any guests, we have staff on duty 24 hours per day and therefore had you brought it to our attention that you were unhappy with your accommodation, we would have been able to do our upmost...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is a disgrace to hotels. The walls are paper thin could here conversations in other rooms very clearly. The hallways stink like rotten feet and sweat and the entrance stinks as homeless people urinate there as it's down a side road. In our room only 2 out of 7 plug sockets actually worked, very hard to use as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Araminta H
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept our most sincere apologies that the hotel did not meet with your expectations at this time, as we would advise any guests, we have staff on duty 24 hours per day and therefore had you brought it to our attention that you were unhappy with your accommodation, we would have been able to do our upmost...

Nicosia, Cyprus
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is by far one of the worst hotels we have stayed into. We chose it because of the location (very central, close to the main train station) and it served the purpose of our trip. Also, it was quite cheap comparing to other hotels in the area. The hotel needs emergency refurbishment, its dirty, the breakfast was awfull and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elena2909
Birmbritannia, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept our most sincere apologies that the hotel did not meet with your expectations at this time, as we would advise any guests, we have staff on duty 24 hours per day and therefore had you brought it to our attention that you were unhappy with your accommodation, we would have been able to do our upmost...

Manchester
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel has a great location, right on New Street and was the cheapest option so we decided to take a chance on it. The hotel is tired, dated and shabby. The room itself was clean but multiple power sockets did not work and it could probably have benefitted from some double glazing to keep out some of the noise...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 123cdon
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept our most sincere apologies that the hotel did not meet with your expectations at this time, as we would advise any guests, we have staff on duty 24 hours per day and therefore had you brought it to our attention that you were unhappy with your accommodation, we would have been able to do our upmost...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If it taking 25 minutes to check in because they only had one member of staff on reception wasn't bad enough, the 20 minute wait for the lift because one was broken made it even better. The corridors are outdated, shabby and they stunk to high heaven of paint fumes. To then get in to the room to find the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Saraward1983
Birmbritannia, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept our most sincere apologies that the hotel did not meet with your expectations at this time, as we would advise any guests, we have staff on duty 24 hours per day and therefore had you brought it to our attention that you were unhappy with your accommodation, we would have been able to do our upmost...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The hotel smells, is in major need of refurbishment and redecoration in order to make it habitual, a truly awful experience and the hotel management need to take drastic steps to improve this.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank af19852015
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am sorry to read that the hotel did not meet with your expectations All comments, both good and bad are discussed with the relevant departmental managers as it is only through receiving feedback from guests that we are able to monitor the level of service we provide thus enabling us to make improvements where necessary. Regards

702 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (678)
Viewed
Room/Suite (198)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (53)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
1:42
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (349)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#96 of 117 in Birmingham
492 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#58 of 117 in Birmingham
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
The Briar Rose Hotel
The Briar Rose Hotel
#26 of 117 in Birmingham
952 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Britannia Hotel Birmingham is situated in the very heart of Birmingham city centre. The famous Bullring shopping mall is within walking distance and Primark and other high street stores are right next door to the hotel. The hotel's 214 en-suite bedrooms are tastefully furnished, all with tea and coffee making facilities, ideal for cost effective city centre accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Address: New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Price Range: $49 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Britannia Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Britannia Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Britannia Hotel Birmingham staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
London, United Kingdom
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Birmingham
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Britannia Hotel Birmingham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I was on the 5th floor which was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles catherineh736, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you like a quiet room make sure to ask for one.”
 of 5 bubbles SusanM, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Just don't go here!!”
 of 5 bubbles M6813OUamyj, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Very Noisy from street all night, Walls paper thin between rooms, hear people having sex. Ladies of the night in the hall at times”
 of 5 bubbles S1031MGdavidt, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't run away this hotel is disgusting”
 of 5 bubbles TheWildcolonial, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5